We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Relaxing Days”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #61 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 Relaxing Days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Overall had a wonderful experience in Mexico. Wasn't sure if I would enjoy it. The Hacienda Tres Rios staff was very friendly and helpful. They bring you drinks to the pool area and the beach. Luved the beds by the beach. Jose was always asking if we wanted another drink or pizza. The breakfast was awesome. It included almost everything you could want for breakfast including a couple mexican dishes. The Italian restaurant had great lasagna and I luved the pizza too.
We left our laptop and pesos out in the room and nothing was ever stolen. They do have a safe for valueables too. A cab ride to Playa del Carmen was $20 and a ferry ride will take you to Cozmel. A great trip. Great experience. The people were friendly everywhere we went.

Mike from Arizona

Room Tip: A good room? I slept in the hammock on the beach. The bed on the beach and of course in my room! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelDChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,961
    1,193
    463
    216
    248
See reviews for
2,467
1,550
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you like being in luxury and also like nature, this is your place. It was my place for 4 nights and i will definitely go back! The nature park is where one can snorkel, bike ride, kayak, etc.
Then you come back to a first class property, in my opinion. I appreciated the adults only pool area very much. Plenty of space, also. The staff keeps the property beautifully landscaped and meticulous. Go on the bike tour with "Corina". She is a wonderful guide, very professional and took time to stop along the way so that we didn't get too tired. Go on the nursery tour with "Motega". He is very knowledgeable! The whole staff was fantastic, all over the property. Excellent food for the most part. Skip the cheesburger at the grill, however.
The Italian restuarant and the Mexican restaurant are excellent. The breakfast buffet, fantastic. Very nice rooms also. I had a mangrove view which was okay i guess, but they wanted $35 a night extra for an ocean view. I decided to save my money. The time share sales session was a pain, but that's part of the deal, i guess. The beach area is very, very tanquil, however. If you're looking for big waves, this is not for you. I took advantage of the "cenotes", however, and they are crystal clear water, and very deep, and very refreshing in which to swim. Skip the hotel zone (in Cancun) this one time and stay here. Take advantage of all the natural things to do in the huge nature park.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GuyTraveler324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Sinai, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Just spent two weeks at Tres Rios. Had breakfast everyday and some dinners at their Casa Islas restaurant. Food and service were excellent. The staff led by Captain Claudia Aiellano could not do enough to satisfy us. Our coffee cups and juice glasses were never empty. The food was fresh and presented beautifully. The word no did not exist at this facility.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The resort itself is beautiful inside and out. The hotel and all of its rooms are marbled floored with nice artwork. All rooms have good views of the river, pools and ocean. Rooms are larger than most other hotels rooms and since they opened in 2010 are all newly appointed. The pools separate the hotel from the ocean. The kid's pool is freshwater while the three other pools are saltwater. You have two outdoor facilities to eat. The outdoor pizza oven makes thin and crispy delicious individual pizzas. The outdoor Grill serves lunch and dinner with the dinner meals being very very good. The indoor restaurants are Mexican, Asian or Italian. Long pants and a collared shirt are the dress codes. The meals are beautifully set with equaling taste. The service from all staff is excellent as they are fast and everywhere. There is a coffee/dessert room open most any daylight hour until late in the night. Small venues of entertainment alternates between Karaoke, Singers with accompanying keyboard for dancing, Mexican singers and dancers, Brazilian drummers and dancers and other small groups in different parts of the complex. Larger entertainment on the big stage consisted of a circus performance group, a Michael Jackson dance group, a Mariachi band, all doing fine jobs on a professional local level. The beach is not as large as beaches closer to Playa del Carmen and the ocean is clouded by the rivers emptying into the ocean. Yet One of the greatest attributes of this resort is the rivers. You can snorkel down to the river or kayak up and down them. You can simply let the fairly strong current glide you into the ocean allowing you to walk ankle deep back to do it all over again. They have added more beach accessing a second river since 2010. Improvements will continue as they have the first of 20 towers for their future Zip line along with another complex of rooms. Eventually the resort beach will be just under one mile long when they add the yacht basin. Our friends who have been to 114 countries said they put Hacienda Tres Rios in their top five resorts. If you want nicer beaches and water take their van to their sister resort "Fisherman's Village". It is just South of Playa del Carmen.
Try their cream corned soup, mixed seafood grill and Riviera Mayan drink made in layers of Melon liquor, orange juice, and topped by a frozen mixture of vodka and strawberries. I loved anything with tomato sauce and all of their pepper dishes.
Other things to do: Shop Playa del Carmen. Take a tour of CHICHEN ITZA but use a guide as they explain the ruins. Without the guide you would loose the flavor of the entire culture. The guided bus trip is too long as it goes first back to Cancun and then Westward to the ruins. It takes 3.5 hours one way. Along the way you have lunch and are treated to authentic Mexican dancers. As top to artisans making tourist items will be another short stop. Quality is assured but if you don't care about quality or authentic items you can buy them much cheaper inside Chitzen Itza. Vendors are said to have to support the Mexican Mafia but believe what you wish. Relatives have told us not to miss XEL-HA and XCARET. We will catch them next time. We visited sister resorts of Sunset Lagoon and the Royal Sunset in Cancun. The rooms and hotels were handsomely designed. Both have been totally redone since 2010. We also visited the Isla Mujeres. The Northern beach was nice as was traveling the entire island in a self driven golf cart. Expect rows of tourist shops in town and a Cuba like 1950's residential ghetto everywhere else. While an experience to see it is not our first choice of a place to visit. Although we didn't do it the snorkeling boats looked like they were having a very good time.
In summary the Sunset group of resorts do things the right way with quality and great service. I hope I helped. I did buy a unit in 2010 and am happy I did so.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as they are new, are large and all have good views of the river and pools. I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chachadancer_gp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Hacienda Tres Rios is an all inclusive resort approximately 15 minutes north of Playa Del Carmen.
A large beautiful resort inside and out which was originally an eco park. The eco park was nearly destroyed by hurricane Wilma. Unable to get a loan to rebuild Tres Rios stepped up financially to build on the 300 plus acres and provide the necessary funds to rebuild the eco park.
There are many beautiful marble filled all inclusive resorts within the riviera Maya but what distinguishes this is it's ties with nature. There are three rivers on the property that empty into the ocean that you are able to explore. You can swim , snorkel , or kayak these beautiful
waters. Be sure to bring an underwater camera so you can capture the beauty that lies beneath the waters surface. Many people pay to go on an exursion to partake in these activities which are complimentary at this resort. This sprawling eco park also is home to I believe 6 cenotes that you are also able to explore. You can bicycle on the resort property with the assistance of a wonderful guide to see all that it has to offer. It is an easy bike ride that all ages can partake in. One of the stops on the bike tour is to the nursery they operate to maintain all of the plants at the resort.
The interior of the resort is beautiful, clean, and well maintained. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. I highly suggest you ask for a room that is overlooking the outdoor pools on the ocean side of the complex. They host 3 large pools that again are clean and I always felt the water was maintained at a comfortable temperature.
During my visit at the end January I found the resort to have a low occupancy level. There was never a need to get up early to play the towel game on a pool chair. It was also an easy task to go to a restaurant of your choice. The culinary choices offered gave a good variety for all to choose from. From the mexican, italian , asian , steak house , international buffet , pizza , coffee shop all the food was good but not great. It was what you can and should expect at an all inclusive resort. But what was impressive was the quality of the service that you received wherever you went. All of the staff was friendly and professional. They go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied.
Hacienda Tres Rios is a tranquil resort that has a lot to offer. It is a beautiful pristine resort at one with nature. If you enjoy sitting pool side and soaking up the sun this is the place. If you enjoy frolicking in the water this is the place. If you want a crowded and loud complex it won't be found here. Playa Del Carmen is a short taxi ride away that has the shops , bars , music that some will be looking for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DAVIDKOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
6.4 km away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
2.7 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
9.7 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#43 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
5.3 km away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#54 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,765 reviews
5.2 km away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#13 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,597 - ₹ 41,307
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing