We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Tres Rios
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Maya Royale(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,314)
Filter reviews
6,314 results
Traveller rating
3,673
1,516
555
272
298
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,673
1,516
555
272
298
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssegway tournature parkthe grillsense adventurethree riverssports barthe mexican restaurantchef's tablelobster dinnerfamily pooltime sharebeach bedskids clubadult poolcasino nightsales presentationbeautiful resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,548 - 3,553 of 6,314 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you like being in luxury and also like nature, this is your place. It was my place for 4 nights and i will definitely go back! The nature park is where one can snorkel, bike ride, kayak, etc.
Then you come back to a first class property, in my opinion. I appreciated the adults only pool area very much. Plenty of space, also. The staff keeps the property beautifully landscaped and meticulous. Go on the bike tour with "Corina". She is a wonderful guide, very professional and took time to stop along the way so that we didn't get too tired. Go on the nursery tour with "Motega". He is very knowledgeable! The whole staff was fantastic, all over the property. Excellent food for the most part. Skip the cheesburger at the grill, however.
The Italian restuarant and the Mexican restaurant are excellent. The breakfast buffet, fantastic. Very nice rooms also. I had a mangrove view which was okay i guess, but they wanted $35 a night extra for an ocean view. I decided to save my money. The time share sales session was a pain, but that's part of the deal, i guess. The beach area is very, very tanquil, however. If you're looking for big waves, this is not for you. I took advantage of the "cenotes", however, and they are crystal clear water, and very deep, and very refreshing in which to swim. Skip the hotel zone (in Cancun) this one time and stay here. Take advantage of all the natural things to do in the huge nature park.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GuyTraveler324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Just spent two weeks at Tres Rios. Had breakfast everyday and some dinners at their Casa Islas restaurant. Food and service were excellent. The staff led by Captain Claudia Aiellano could not do enough to satisfy us. Our coffee cups and juice glasses were never empty. The food was fresh and presented beautifully. The word no did not exist at this facility.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The resort itself is beautiful inside and out. The hotel and all of its rooms are marbled floored with nice artwork. All rooms have good views of the river, pools and ocean. Rooms are larger than most other hotels rooms and since they opened in 2010 are all newly appointed. The pools separate the hotel from the ocean. The kid's pool is freshwater while the three other pools are saltwater. You have two outdoor facilities to eat. The outdoor pizza oven makes thin and crispy delicious individual pizzas. The outdoor Grill serves lunch and dinner with the dinner meals being very very good. The indoor restaurants are Mexican, Asian or Italian. Long pants and a collared shirt are the dress codes. The meals are beautifully set with equaling taste. The service from all staff is excellent as they are fast and everywhere. There is a coffee/dessert room open most any daylight hour until late in the night. Small venues of entertainment alternates between Karaoke, Singers with accompanying keyboard for dancing, Mexican singers and dancers, Brazilian drummers and dancers and other small groups in different parts of the complex. Larger entertainment on the big stage consisted of a circus performance group, a Michael Jackson dance group, a Mariachi band, all doing fine jobs on a professional local level. The beach is not as large as beaches closer to Playa del Carmen and the ocean is clouded by the rivers emptying into the ocean. Yet One of the greatest attributes of this resort is the rivers. You can snorkel down to the river or kayak up and down them. You can simply let the fairly strong current glide you into the ocean allowing you to walk ankle deep back to do it all over again. They have added more beach accessing a second river since 2010. Improvements will continue as they have the first of 20 towers for their future Zip line along with another complex of rooms. Eventually the resort beach will be just under one mile long when they add the yacht basin. Our friends who have been to 114 countries said they put Hacienda Tres Rios in their top five resorts. If you want nicer beaches and water take their van to their sister resort "Fisherman's Village". It is just South of Playa del Carmen.
Try their cream corned soup, mixed seafood grill and Riviera Mayan drink made in layers of Melon liquor, orange juice, and topped by a frozen mixture of vodka and strawberries. I loved anything with tomato sauce and all of their pepper dishes.
Other things to do: Shop Playa del Carmen. Take a tour of CHICHEN ITZA but use a guide as they explain the ruins. Without the guide you would loose the flavor of the entire culture. The guided bus trip is too long as it goes first back to Cancun and then Westward to the ruins. It takes 3.5 hours one way. Along the way you have lunch and are treated to authentic Mexican dancers. As top to artisans making tourist items will be another short stop. Quality is assured but if you don't care about quality or authentic items you can buy them much cheaper inside Chitzen Itza. Vendors are said to have to support the Mexican Mafia but believe what you wish. Relatives have told us not to miss XEL-HA and XCARET. We will catch them next time. We visited sister resorts of Sunset Lagoon and the Royal Sunset in Cancun. The rooms and hotels were handsomely designed. Both have been totally redone since 2010. We also visited the Isla Mujeres. The Northern beach was nice as was traveling the entire island in a self driven golf cart. Expect rows of tourist shops in town and a Cuba like 1950's residential ghetto everywhere else. While an experience to see it is not our first choice of a place to visit. Although we didn't do it the snorkeling boats looked like they were having a very good time.
In summary the Sunset group of resorts do things the right way with quality and great service. I hope I helped. I did buy a unit in 2010 and am happy I did so.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as they are new, are large and all have good views of the river and pools. I have never stayed on the first level so I do not know if you can see the ocean in all of the rooms but I know you can on the higher levels.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Hacienda Tres Rios is an all inclusive resort approximately 15 minutes north of Playa Del Carmen.
A large beautiful resort inside and out which was originally an eco park. The eco park was nearly destroyed by hurricane Wilma. Unable to get a loan to rebuild Tres Rios stepped up financially to build on the 300 plus acres and provide the necessary funds to rebuild the eco park.
There are many beautiful marble filled all inclusive resorts within the riviera Maya but what distinguishes this is it's ties with nature. There are three rivers on the property that empty into the ocean that you are able to explore. You can swim , snorkel , or kayak these beautiful
waters. Be sure to bring an underwater camera so you can capture the beauty that lies beneath the waters surface. Many people pay to go on an exursion to partake in these activities which are complimentary at this resort. This sprawling eco park also is home to I believe 6 cenotes that you are also able to explore. You can bicycle on the resort property with the assistance of a wonderful guide to see all that it has to offer. It is an easy bike ride that all ages can partake in. One of the stops on the bike tour is to the nursery they operate to maintain all of the plants at the resort.
The interior of the resort is beautiful, clean, and well maintained. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. I highly suggest you ask for a room that is overlooking the outdoor pools on the ocean side of the complex. They host 3 large pools that again are clean and I always felt the water was maintained at a comfortable temperature.
During my visit at the end January I found the resort to have a low occupancy level. There was never a need to get up early to play the towel game on a pool chair. It was also an easy task to go to a restaurant of your choice. The culinary choices offered gave a good variety for all to choose from. From the mexican, italian , asian , steak house , international buffet , pizza , coffee shop all the food was good but not great. It was what you can and should expect at an all inclusive resort. But what was impressive was the quality of the service that you received wherever you went. All of the staff was friendly and professional. They go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied.
Hacienda Tres Rios is a tranquil resort that has a lot to offer. It is a beautiful pristine resort at one with nature. If you enjoy sitting pool side and soaking up the sun this is the place. If you enjoy frolicking in the water this is the place. If you want a crowded and loud complex it won't be found here. Playa Del Carmen is a short taxi ride away that has the shops , bars , music that some will be looking for.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DAVIDKOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the Hacienda Tres Rios for the first time last November. I must say, the hotel room was amazing -- we had the family suite through my parents-in-law timeshare which consisted of a huge living/dinning room off which are a master bedroom suite (king bed, sitting room area, Jacuzzi bath) and a second bedroom (two queen beds, sitting room area). In addition, the room had three full bathrooms. Everything looked very new, tv's were all flat panel, etc.

Now for the food. For an all inclusive resort, I would say the food is what one might expect. Not great, but not bad either.

So far so good. Now the things we didn't like about the resort.

The pool. Looked very nice and there was always plenty of seating. However, it was really cool, primarily because the nearby fresh water from the close by underground rivers are used to maintain the water in the pool. Such a shame, because my daughter and wife simply decided not to use the pool itself.

The beach. Not much to say here, except the ocean water is full of dark stuff (seaweed??) and so you really don't want to go in the water. This presented more of an issue for me, because we found the swimming pool too cool to enjoy. Also, the beach itself, while it looked like white sand, was rock hard underfoot so not nice for the kids to play on.

NOW THE WORST -- the timeshare scammers. As soon as you check in there's pressure from the concierge, the check-in people, basically everyone to go to a timeshare presentation. They couch it in terms of an orientation presentation, although it's pretty clear what they are trying to do -- sell timeshares. In fact, we weren't permitted to check-in until we sat through 30 mins of one of the concierges trying to convince us to attend one of the presentations. Later that same day, my parents-in-laws checked in and agreed to go to the presentation even though they already own a time share with the group operating the hotel. They were told that they would receive "IMPORTANT" information about their current time share. During the presentation they were pressured into agreeing to upgrade their timeshare into a "fractional ownership" by which they were told they would have part ownership in the property. That was a complete lie. When I reviewed the contract, they had been duped into signing a contract for a timeshare exactly the same as they already had except the annual fees were considerably higher. They also duped into giving up their previous timeshare as part of the "deal." The only reason they agreed to this was because they were told they would be part owners of the property and so it would be a good investment which they "guaranteed" would quadruple in value within two years. Clearly, the contract bore no resemblance to what they had been told they were purchasing. Luckily under Mexican law, all time share contracts must have a clause by which you can change your mind within 5 days (i.e., to revocate the contract). We immediately did that for my parents-in-law, following the instructions within the contract exactly. Within 15 days of that, the timeshare company (Sunset Group) was required to return the deposit. Guess what -- that didn't happen. Luckily, the deposit was made by credit card, so they were able to dispute it. However, since November, the Sunset Group has been pestering them for the money threatening the use of a collections agency.

My Advice -- PLEASE PLEASE do not let yourself be scammed into purchasing a timeshare at any of the Sunset Group Hotels (including the Hacienda Tres Rios). If you are inclined to buy a timeshare at one of their resorts, do yourself a favor and look online for others trying to sell theirs -- they cost considerably less than buying direct from the hotels. Also, don't believe them if they try to tell you that what you're buying is an investment or some sort of fractional ownership in the property -- it simply is not. Oh by they way, I confronted the management and asked them put in writing that they would buy back the timeshare for the "guaranteed" amount they said it would be worth in the future. Surprise, surprise they would not.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank CG-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews