We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
154
110
61
39
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
110
61
39
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pizza oven rooms are small live music in the courtyard on fridays and saturdays main plaza old church hotel makes restaurants within walking distance location was perfect guacamole colonial hotel colonial home old world charm high ceilings beautiful courtyard balcony cathedral
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Building is nice but needs A LOT of maintenance. AC dripped during the night, there are no windows and, furniture needs to be replaced.... Our room even had broken electrical outlets. Pool was always closed and it is super small.
Location is great though, everything is within a walking distance.

Room Tip: I think rooms on the front might have windows.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karin851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful building, but needs a lot of work to be considered boutique. Beds are very uncomfortable, AC breaks regularly, bathrooms need repair, towels are small and rough on skin, housekeeping comes regularly but inconsistently replaces the right supplies. Staff is excellent, food is excellent, free bottled water, cute shampoo and soap bottles in the bathroom, excellent water pressure and temperature, pool/hammock are is cozy and pleasant. I would recommend starting here with the caveat of the above issues. The staff, food and location of this hotel makes the stay worth it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel has a nice location and lovely staff but the bathroom was awfully smelly because it does not have any window but quite frankly it was unbearable. Room was small. Overall below average, even for mexican standards.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank _koj46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Situated in a historic building, communal areas tastefully decorated but unfortunately the bathroom does not have any ventilation or extractor fan, the mould extended into the bedroom wall.
Front desk not staffed 24/7 as advertised. Welcome drink served with a fruit fly in it.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, check bathroom for mould before accepting room
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SYC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

I found Piedra de Agua from the New York Times' "36 Hours," enticed by the lemon daiquiris. The daiquiris were amazing and so was the gorgeous outside patio with views of the cathedral. But that was just the beginning. My friend and I were so impressed by the property and so unsatisfied by the B&B where where we were previously staying, Eva helped us re-book at Piedra de Agua and I'm so glad we did! Every single person on the staff was so amazing, always going the extra mile to ensure our comfort and satisfaction. Eva at the front desk and Jesus in the bar area really stand out. Eva even helped our friends who were staying at another hotel to try to locate a lost cell phone. The hotel is OLD -- but that is part of the charm! You can hear the sounds of the city just outside your picturesque balcony. The bones of the building are gorgeous, and the location cannot be beat, literally just a few steps away from the Cathedral, Zocalo, restaurants, and shopping. Poolside service made for a relaxing stay. The value for the money was outstanding. I will definitely return to this hotel for another stay in Merida.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews