We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Nearby Hotels
US$ 119
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 119
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Casa Lucia(Merida)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 184
US$ 180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ibis Merida(Merida)(Great Value!)
US$ 38
US$ 37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Ana(Merida)(Great Value!)
US$ 40
US$ 38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 113
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gran Hotel de Merida(Merida)(Great Value!)
US$ 92
US$ 46
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 173
US$ 150
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 288
US$ 271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
146
109
61
38
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
109
61
38
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor pizza ovenrooms are smalloutdoor courtyardmain plazastreet noisebeautiful cathedralold charmold churchhotel makeslocation was perfectrestaurants within walking distancestaff was very friendly and helpfulcolonial hotelcolonial homehigh ceilingscommon areasbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2017

I found Piedra de Agua from the New York Times' "36 Hours," enticed by the lemon daiquiris. The daiquiris were amazing and so was the gorgeous outside patio with views of the cathedral. But that was just the beginning. My friend and I were so impressed by the property and so unsatisfied by the B&B where where we were previously staying, Eva helped us re-book at Piedra de Agua and I'm so glad we did! Every single person on the staff was so amazing, always going the extra mile to ensure our comfort and satisfaction. Eva at the front desk and Jesus in the bar area really stand out. Eva even helped our friends who were staying at another hotel to try to locate a lost cell phone. The hotel is OLD -- but that is part of the charm! You can hear the sounds of the city just outside your picturesque balcony. The bones of the building are gorgeous, and the location cannot be beat, literally just a few steps away from the Cathedral, Zocalo, restaurants, and shopping. Poolside service made for a relaxing stay. The value for the money was outstanding. I will definitely return to this hotel for another stay in Merida.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

The hotel is situated in one of the best locations in town right across City Hall, the Cathedral and the Zocalo in a grand 19th c palazzo. They bill themselves as a 'boutique' hotel and the pictures online look terrific, but the reality is a little less than what's shown, that said the bar and pool are wonderfully staffed and very nicely designed. We were given a regular room and asked to upgrade, which was very reasonable for a huge corner room with a canopy bed and a tub, but the windows are basically boarded up in all of the rooms with no glass and consequently no beautiful view and no air flow. The bathrooms are adequate but just placed wherever they were most convenient [inexpensive] to place, there's really no 'design' to the place; air conditioners work very well and the sheets and beds are comfortable. The main 3 story atrium has a cloth covering that stifles air flow and light, a wasted opportunity for a dramatic space. The staff is friendly and very competent, especially Bob at bar and Giovani who should manage the place as he really understands customer service . Could easily be one of the best hotels in Merida with an infusion of cash.

Room Tip: Get the corner 'presidential' suite, better situated and much better 'decoration', you'll hate the regular rooms which seem tired.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lnscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

There should be a checklist before a hotel is named as boutique. Pictures are not realistic. It has a great location just a block from main plaza but it is not clean, lacks of maintenance, bathroom was extremely small and air conditioning did not work properly.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Duby Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Honestly only thing I can recommend about this hotel is the camera that was used to take the photos.

We reserved 2 rooms when we got to the rooms there was a stench that was unbearable from one room (room 302) and the other was not that far off (303). The tiles on the floor were mostly broken and some loose, fixtures looked like they were purchased in a flea market. Yes it is in the center of town and yes this is Mexico but we have stayed in many hotels here and none were as bad as this one. We ended up checking out within an hour telling them that we can't handle the smell and they told us about the no refund policy.

Stay away at any price.....

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Neria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

This is a beautiful boutique hotel located just off the grand plaza in Merida. It is in a former grand colonial home and has been nicely restored with modern amenities. You could not find a hotel with a better location. Close the balcony windows and shutters and it is very quiet. We stayed for 4 nights.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only downsides: we needed to change rooms after our first night as some items were not working in the 1st room and limited hot water.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews