We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel close to everything...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Juan
Ranked #60 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel close to everything...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

In July of '09 we went to Merida and stayed the first four days in a dump (recommended by several people on this site) and had to move. We had seen the Hotel San Juan, walked in, looked at the rooms and decided to move there. Wise choice. The rooms are very reasonable ($US 35), clean, spacious, AC, excellent maid service, everything always clean, nice pool (morning buffet for those who are interested) friendly staff (don't know about their English because we are fluent in Spanish), just an overall good deal for anyone staying in Merida.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flojos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    36
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
26
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

I have stayed at the Hotel San Juan more than a dozen times in the last six months. They are an excellent value and above average in every department. The lobby with its big chairs and courtyard is a nice place to relax. The rooms are not luxurious but very, very adequate and clean. The staff is very helpful which you would expect after talking to the owner of this family owned business. The location is the best in Mérida as it is close to the square and just enough distance from the busiest street in the city to be quiet at night. You are also close to a beautiful old church and a plaza with entertainment especially on Sunday afternoon. There is no place more secure and brings consistent service and the best value in the city! The only reason I didn´t mark it excellent is that I too have stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Cancun which I would give an excellent rating and the price is several times higher. Again, you can´t beat the value.

  • Liked — Secure and the price is right
  • Disliked — No problems with anything as it more than meets my needs.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoJaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

Probably the best deal in town. Great location, low rates, clean, a/c, pool and really nice place and people. Right down town and just can't beat it

  • Liked — The price
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VanessaLSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

I called the hotel to make a reservation. They asked me to send an email with all the information and I did it. They forward me with the confirmation. When I arrive to the hotel they had cancelled my reservation without notice leaving me without hotel and without any help in a city that I did not know. I was traveling for a wedding and I missed half of it because of them.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank viajera000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2007

I had stayed the night before in the Hotel El Flamingo where I was plagued by bed bugs and was looking for an inexpensive but clean hotel nearby. I was happy to find the Hotel San Juan. It was very clean and comfortable. It is centrally located. I only stayed one night but felt very comfortable there. The room is air conditioned and had a ceiling fan as well. I did notice that around the doors and windows there were gaps where mosquitoes could enter although I did not have any problems with this and did not notice any mosquitoes in the room.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — possible mosquito entry
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
4.1 km away
Suites Imperial
Suites Imperial
#89 of 103 in Merida
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel San Jose, Merida, Mexico
0.7 km away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#40 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Las Americas
Las Americas
#82 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#58 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#49 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Juan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Juan

Property: Hotel San Juan
Address: Calle 55 # 497-A, Merida, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,074 - ₹ 2,399
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing