We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot in the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Medio Mundo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Medio Mundo
Ranked #5 of 84 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Friday Harbor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in the city!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We loved Medio Mundo. We arrived late by bus into Merida and cabbed around to about 15 different little hotels. Medio Mundo was our first stop so we thought, "ok lets check a few out there are probably lots of great spots". We returned to the first stop because it was the best! Beautifully appointed....breakfasts out of this world....and a really great staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuniperLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    62
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
171
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This beautiful former colonial house has been done up brilliantly to a spacious, well positioned hotel, with a fantastic fountain courtyard in the middle and swimming pool in the back. You cant go wrong with a few nights here, it will set you up perfectly for a stay in Merida and for onwards travel in Yucutan. Very friendly people run it and we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a two day stopover in Merida and stayed at Medio Mundo. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

The property is a 100 year old home which has been lovingly restored by husband and wife team. The gardens are lush, the rooms spacious and beautiful and te pool area a welcome oasis from the heat.

We couldn't fault this place, it really is perfect.

And be sure to have a chat with Nelson, the charming Paraguayan owner. He is a huge fan of 'The Simpsons' so be sure to ask him to share with you his favourite episode!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJudeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had another wonderful to stay at Medio Mundo again last week while enroute from Cancun to Celestun. It had been 2 years since our last stay and the beauty and charm of this hidden gem are not to be missed!!! Their delicious breakfast by the pool in the private back garden is worth the entire cost of the stay. This is real Mayan hospitality in the heart of the Yucatan. Do not rush out before walking a couple of blocks to experience the grand plaza and to visit the cathederal, governor's palace and real Mexican culture. I have recommended Medio Mundo to many friends over the years and everyone has been thrilled with their stay and experience. You will be well taken care of and it will be an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ch_hatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

After that delightful breakfast, sitting in the small but tastefully decorated pool area with book in hand, one does not want to really leave...Our room too - with that warm yet clean ambiance that U.S. hotels can just fantasize about - was difficult to part with. The staff here is just so great (Hi Jose!)...and I bought a lovely blanket in the hotel shop (first time ever!)...location too - superb all around.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
491 reviews
0.4 km away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
983 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#9 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#21 of 103 in Merida
462 reviews
0.9 km away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.7 km away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medio Mundo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medio Mundo

Property: Hotel Medio Mundo
Address: Calle 64 Y 66 | Centro Merida, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,693 - ₹ 5,960
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel MedioMundo is an enchanting 10 guestroom hotel located in the historical center of the colonial city of Merida, Mexico on the Yucatan Peninsula. A fine quality gift shop and a cafe serving 100% vegan international cuisine are located on the premises and are open to the public. Hotel MedioMundo has been welcoming travelers from all over the world since 2001. We offer our guests an urban oasis with lush tropical patios and pool, an intimate and serene atmosphere, and genuine Yucatecan hospitality to come home to after a hard day of vacationing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing