We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back!!”
Review of Hotel Medio Mundo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Medio Mundo
Ranked #5 of 80 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great to be back!!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had another wonderful to stay at Medio Mundo again last week while enroute from Cancun to Celestun. It had been 2 years since our last stay and the beauty and charm of this hidden gem are not to be missed!!! Their delicious breakfast by the pool in the private back garden is worth the entire cost of the stay. This is real Mayan hospitality in the heart of the Yucatan. Do not rush out before walking a couple of blocks to experience the grand plaza and to visit the cathederal, governor's palace and real Mexican culture. I have recommended Medio Mundo to many friends over the years and everyone has been thrilled with their stay and experience. You will be well taken care of and it will be an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ch_hatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    64
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
175
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

After that delightful breakfast, sitting in the small but tastefully decorated pool area with book in hand, one does not want to really leave...Our room too - with that warm yet clean ambiance that U.S. hotels can just fantasize about - was difficult to part with. The staff here is just so great (Hi Jose!)...and I bought a lovely blanket in the hotel shop (first time ever!)...location too - superb all around.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed at this beautiful small hotel for four days during the Day of the Dead celebrations in Merida. We chose a ground floor room with no air conditioning unit. The room was spacious with a extremely comfortable bed and shuttered windows that could be opened for ventilation. When renovating this old colonial building, Nelson and Nicole put a lot of thought and effort into creating a place where their guest feel at home. The wonderful staff, the cool, brightly coloured public spaces, the delightful breakfasts and the close proximity to the main square which allowed us to walk most everywhere all added to our enjoyment of this hotel. Numerous times during our stay Nelson or Jose would tell us of events we shouldn't miss and send us on our way. Consequently, we were able to participate or observe some of the festivities we would never have found on our own. Because of our stay at MedioMundo, we will be back to Merida, and we will return to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADYLIN50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Nicole and Nelson with their staff Jose and Guiner do a great job operating this charming B & B a few blocks from the Zocalo, other parks, museums and markets. The colorful interior, with plants, tiles, small pools and large rooms makes this a good safe place to stay in this large colonial city. Breakfast, with Nelson overseeing the pouring of the coffee is a treat, for he is a wealth of information and interesting conversation, or observations as he likes to say. Breakfast includes, juice, fruits, yogurt, cold cuts, and great pastries, though no eggs. Parking in front of the hotel is not a guarantee, but it is not a problem, since there is street parking on other streets within a block of the B & B. The crafts in their shop are of high quality and priced fairly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, depends if you want AC or not. AC a must in the summer, not needed in Janua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireandtravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara,Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This bed & Breakfast,run by a Uruguayan & Lebanon couple is a very good haven near the old part of Merida; the staff do a very good job and the breakfasts round the swimming pool are excellent.
We recently spent a week there and can really recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for one of the large rooms at the back when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekFGuadalajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 km away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
998 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 103 in Merida
514 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
1.8 km away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.2 km away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medio Mundo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medio Mundo

Property: Hotel Medio Mundo
Address: Calle 64 Y 66 | Centro Merida, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,643 - ₹ 5,867
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel MedioMundo is an enchanting 10 guestroom hotel located in the historical center of the colonial city of Merida, Mexico on the Yucatan Peninsula. A fine quality gift shop and a cafe serving 100% vegan international cuisine are located on the premises and are open to the public. Hotel MedioMundo has been welcoming travelers from all over the world since 2001. We offer our guests an urban oasis with lush tropical patios and pool, an intimate and serene atmosphere, and genuine Yucatecan hospitality to come home to after a hard day of vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Medio Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing