We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Continental
Ranked #52 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel - The rooms were comfortable. As noted by other reviewers, front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby and breakfast area could use some warmer touches - maybe more plants and flowers and some art - We liked the overall modern design but wished it had a bit more traditional Mexican charm.

Room Tip: Our room had a window on the interior courtyard - would have preferred a window onto the street but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerdeRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

I was here few days ago with my wife for 4 noghts. we stayed in room 9 and I can say it was really clean with a modern design.
The guy at the reception was very helpful and friendly.
Only one small drawback. It's not too close to the centre, 15 minutes walking in a tiny sidewalk.
Breakfast was great and massive.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElDuderino80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is a very clean and new hotel, although it is not luxurious by any means. The two greatest points of the hotel are the staff and the location. The man who was working the front desk every morning was the most helpful front desk person I have ever encountered. I got him to book three different tours for me because the prices were better than the prices I had found online before coming.

The location is great because it is at one end of the Paseo de Monejo, the end that is closer to the historic center of the city. Thus, it is convenient for walking the Paseo, and convenient for walking into the historic center. I spent a lot of time in the historic center and it was easy to see that staying in that area would be a nightmare. The traffic is intense. I don't see how anyone would be able to sleep or relax in that part of town.

The rooms in the hotel may vary, but as for the room I had, the size of the room was fine, the internet signal in the room was powerful, and the room was quiet enough, as it had no windows facing the street. You could here the muffled sound of a loud truck or motorbike sometimes, but it was not a problem. The air-conditioner worked fine too.

The negatives of the room were that the bathroom was really cramped (aside from the large shower stall), I could not sleep well on the bed for some reason, the safe is too small for a laptop, and the maid did not bring/replace facecloths or the water every day. I think she replaced these two things only one day out of the 5 that I stayed there.

Finally, the continental breakfast was unpalatable for me. I eventually quit eating it period, as I could no longer force myself to do so. However, I should add that I am not a fan of continental breakfast ever. Mediocre brewed coffee, orange juice, lame white bread, dry and tasteless pastries, and modern fruit "yogurt" are not things that I ever eat or ever desire to eat. However, some people may indeed enjoy all these items, which I personally do not even consider to be food. Also, I would suspect that many of the hotels have a similar caliber of breakfast, so one might not want to choose a hotel based on its breakfast.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel, especially if one is sightseeing most of the day, and if one wants a decently quiet location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mari99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Lodged at this property in June of 2011 for 3 nights. Recently renovated is in good shape, clean and well maintained. Location is close to one of the important areas of Merida, Paseo de Montejo. The staff was very helpful in currency exchange and information. Unfortunately I had to move twice, once due to a moldy smell in the room and the second time because the room faced the very busy and noisy street. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast of danish, fresh fruit and coffee which was adequate but the food from the room service menu was not very good at all. Last but not least, the beds are so hard they are a punishment to your bones!

Room Tip: If you must lodge at this property ask for a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEEDINFOTAMPAFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This hotel is brand new. And super super clean. My Spanish is not good, but the reception helped me with everything. Even ordering my pizza. My daughter was sick and within no time they arrange a very good doctor. It is a bit of a walk to town, but it is better then to stay in downtown. There is nothing really happening in the streets. But that can also be a good thing. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#17 of 106 in Merida
491 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#30 of 106 in Merida
41 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Holly
Hotel Holly
#76 of 106 in Merida
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
0.3 km away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#44 of 106 in Merida
170 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Continental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Continental

Address: C.47 #480 x 56 Centro. | A Unos Pasos Del Remate de Montejo, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: ₹ 2,781 - ₹ 4,075 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Continental is a small hotel ideally located near to the downtown of Merida and Remate de Paseo Montejo. We have 9 rooms with exclusive details and all the services that you need during your stay in Merida. We have continental breakfast, Internet wireless, Local calls and 01800 for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Casa Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing