We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad for a five star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Conquistador
Ranked #41 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very bad for a five star”
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Old rooms, passable food, bad service. It would be a normal 3 star.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _baratamota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    112
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
82
70
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2009

I have been to the El Conquisator in Merida during a Yucatan round trip. In a nutshell: This is the filthiest place I have ever been to. Could actually be an OK hotel if they would pay more attention to cleaning and replace linens, pillows and towels more often.

General impression: At first the hotel seemed nice. Located in one of the prestigious streets in Merida. A little loud when you have a room to the street, but that comes with the territory. Also nice lobby area.

Cleanliness & rooms: This is where the problem is. The rooms and the furniture seem to be a bit old, but still acceptable. Also they seem to have newer renovated rooms according to the photos here - we had one of the older ones I guess. The rooms (and we changed once) were however not well cleaned. Dust under the bed and in some corners. The bed was disgusting. Numerous stains and hairs in the linen. Pillows absolutely terrible. While the covers were clean the pillows had several huge yellow stains (like 1-2 inches in diameter) from earwax or some other stuff. Not only one but all. And they were smelling. Bathroom was also not very well cleaned and the water in the shower would not really flow off, leaving the feet in some brown puddle during showering. Towels also had stains and were so old that they were already worn off at the edges. Friends that were in the same group reported similar experiences.

We asked the cleaning service to provide new lines and pillows. After this is was somewhat OK at least for the beds.

As said above this could actually be an OK hotel if they would pay more attention to cleaning and replace linens, pillows and towels more often.

Food: Had dinner and breakfast. Dinner was a disaster (soup, something that was supposed to be pork with mushrooms, dessert). I am usually not picky, but didn't eat it. There were some Mexican people in there not part of our group who had sandwiches with fries, which looked quite good. Breakfast next morning was good.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 26022014JHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

The hotel has a marvelous location in the Paseo of Montejo.

The hotel rates themselves as 4 stars, but when in room, frankly, don't deserve that many stars. The furniture is old, the bathroom not well equiped, poor view of the city in the room.

Their breakfast buffet is famous and totally worth it.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The room itself
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tecouag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2006

We stayed at El Conquistador for one night. It's rather generic (the decor seems to have run away from the 50's), but decent enough. Rooms are clean; I do have to say that the bathroom had the best water pressure and temperature I've encountered anywhere in Mexico! Service is proffessional enough. The only reason I'm not giving this hotel a higher ranking is that I also did not find anything "special" about it. The value, however, is not at all bad.

  • Liked — Value, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing special about the hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarMir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Merida
Holiday Inn Merida
#38 of 103 in Merida
325 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#45 of 103 in Merida
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
0.4 km away
Fiesta Americana Merida
1.0 km away
Los Aluxes
Los Aluxes
#73 of 103 in Merida
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Conquistador

Property: Hotel El Conquistador
Address: Paseo de Montejo Ave #458 X 35 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,943 - ₹ 4,719
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Conquistador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel El Conquistador we have everything you may wish. located in the heart of Merida, Yucatan's state capital, we have 159 confrortable rooms with satellite color tv, air conditioning, servibar,electronic keys and safety boxes. Our VIP business center offers comfort and quality;try our famnous buffet breakfast, served everyday at our Los Virreyes cafeteria and finally, enjoy our swiming pool whith the best panoramic view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Conquistador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing