We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“excellent option!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Merida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Merida
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent option!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent our vacations there during the month of December, when the city is very busy and the hotels are full. The attention that we received was very good and all the problems were solved immediately. The bed was very confortable, the room was very nice and clean. The location is close to Paseo de Montejo. The avenue has so many things to visit like the old and big houses, the Museum of Antropology and the hotel Rosas and Xocolate. We walked from the hotel to down town Merida and also we rented a bicycle to go there. The city is very safe. In Paseo Montejo you can visit the Museum of Anthropolgy, Hotel Rosas and Xocolate and the mansion. Starbucks is 5 minutes walking and the tourist office is also walking distance towards the street of Paseo Montejo. The stop from the tour bus (turibus) is half block away from the hotel. Chili's is infront, Sanborns and Los Almendros restaurant.
We had a very romantic trip and the staff helped us to make it possible.

Room Tip: with a view from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    325
    133
    61
    20
See reviews for
203
233
43
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Hyatt Regency was an outstanding hotel. The staff was attentive, the room spacious and comfortable and the location was ideal for my business purpose of visiting the US Consulate. Merida is really off of the normal tourist track, but offers a glimpse of colonial Mexico. The cathedral is a great piece of architecture with an interesting background story.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

After a disaster of a trip getting to Merida, we finally arrived around 6:30 pm on New Years Eve. Avoid the town of Piste at all costs. We got "shook down" by the police and were delayed for 3 hours until we paid $400 pesos to a lady that said we "hit" her scooter. After the rental car represenative showed up and explained that we could leave if we gave them some money we were free to go. They were all in agreement that no collission happened, but we should pay anyways! You always hear of these things happening in Mexico, but it was surreal when happening to you.

Lobby was nice, the desk people very helpful. Fellow that took us to our room very freindly and helpful too. Told us that they were sold out for the restaurant for New Years Eve party, but we could get some snacks at the bar and then order room service. We took his advice and went to the lobby bar only to be told that the bar was reserved for the pre-party for the guests that were attending the dinner. We were then offered a seat at the main bar in the restaurant to join the other diners. We were so happy to get a table even if it was at the bar. The food was wonderful, the Italian Chef was at the buffet the whole evening, and was very proud of his creations. He's from Rome, and was very gracious. It was nice to have a combination of American, Italian and Mexican Cuisine at the buffet.

The Next morning we decided to stay a second night and booked it through the hotel. We walked all over Centro Merida, down to the Cathedral, had a nice breakfast and came back to the hotel to sit by the pool. Back to Cancun tomorrow, NOT via Piste!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cateringqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in December. The hotel is clean and has a good selection for breakfast. We had rooms in the Regency Club so we got a good view of the city. Also, being in the Regency club entitled us to free apptizers and drinks every evening, and the breakfast was included with the package. Overall, this is a decent hotel just a few minutes walk from Paseo de Montejo (and Starbucks). However, you need a car (or a taxi) to get to downtown Merida where the action is. The horse carriage has a stop right in front of the hotel.

We ate at the on-site Italian restaurant and while the entrees were good, the Pina Colada and Tiramisu was below-average.

Also, only rooms in the Regency Club have rooms with connecting doors.

Room Tip: Only rooms in the Regency Club have rooms with connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dukkar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Just came back from Merida - a magnificent city on the Yucatan peninsula.
A friend recommended the Hyatt and this is why we stayed there. Location is great, you are one road off the Paseo Montejo.
Main lobby has little charme. Club floor accommodation does not even get close to the club floor rooms you are thinking of when booking the room. However, the lounge is nice and the staff very attentive. Sometimes it is better to turn down a noisy tv that has been annoying the guest. Not sure if the staff is empowered to do so. Cleanliness in the guestroom is by far not up to par with what you see in other club floors in US/CA or Europe.That needs to improve.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleHotelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 km away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.1 km away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
0.7 km away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#25 of 98 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Merida
1.5 km away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#6 of 98 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Merida
Holiday Inn Merida
#36 of 98 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Merida? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Merida

Property: Hyatt Regency Merida
Address: Avenue Colon, Esq. Calle 60 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Merida
#8 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#10 Family Hotel in Merida
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,591 - ₹ 12,069
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Seventeen-story Hotel located in main commerical & tourist district, near archaeological sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Merida Hotel Merida
Merida Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing