We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your change”
Review of La Recova Montejo

La Recova Montejo
Ranked #77 of 831 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 100
Cuisines: Argentinian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Food is not bad and it's popular. Drinks are good and strong. Probably can't blame the restaurant but the waiter took a 35 peso tip to mean 80 on 320 peso bill added to CC. Watch your change here and around. Second time this week people couldn't add

Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GpoLaParrilla, Marketing at La Recova Montejo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016


thank you for your feedback , let's review what you described our waiters to not occur again . Greetings and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2016

We were 8 people. The food was abundant and top quality. The service was excellent. We ha a combination of seafood and meats which were of the best quality. The price is high but is worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sergio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GpoLaParrilla, Marketing at La Recova Montejo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016


Thank you very much for sharing your experience about our meat and our seafood . We are pleased that all have been perfect. We wait again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

This is one of several restaurants located in Santa Lucia Park, in Merida's historic district. We went to Santa Lucia with the intention of eating at Apoala. We saw the sign for Apoala and thought that's what we had chosen. But we hadn't. The restaurants are all contiguous to each other with no discernible border or barrier between them. And, as it turned out, La Recova had its small sign turned off, so it wasn't visible.

That said, we ordered typical Yucatecan dishes, but were underwhelmed. My recommendation: walk past La Recova, which is the first restaurant off the street, further in and enjoy a great meal at Apoala.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HowdyDoody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GpoLaParrilla, Marketing at La Recova Montejo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

We ask an apology for not filling your expectations . In our regional menu you can find our delicious lime soup or our exquisite duck panuchos . I wish you could go back and enjoy the dishes that you discussed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

lovely location and very friendly staff. The food was good without being great. I had the goats cheese ravioli that was a touch heavy on the tomatoe sauce. I had a wonderful Margarita and as I said it's a nice location on the square.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GpoLaParrilla, Marketing at La Recova Montejo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016
Google Translation

Elizabeth, muchas gracias por tu reseña y la calificación que nos pusiste. Vamos a revisar lo que nos comentas acerca de la salsa de tomate. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

The staff were excellent, but this place did not live up to the reputation I had heard. The food was fine but not nearly as interesting as other places we discovered in Merida (including Apoala, right next door to Recova). The food was very overpriced. We were offered desserts without any dessert menu, ordered a chocolate lava cake, only to discover when the bill came that the dessert cost almost as much as each of the overpriced dinners. Same thing happened with one of the local beers we ordered (twice as much as Negro Modelo, but we had no idea that would be the case).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GpoLaParrilla, Marketing at La Recova Montejo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016
Google Translation

Hola, Lynne, vamos a revisar lo que nos comentas acerca de la carta de postres. Muchas gracias por tus comentarios y esperamos verte pronto de nuevo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Recova Montejo also viewed

 

Been to La Recova Montejo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing