We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 627
US$ 608
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
US$ 290
US$ 236
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Izla Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
US$ 233
US$ 203
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de los Suenos(Isla Mujeres)
US$ 320
US$ 265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$ 92
US$ 73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
US$ 570
US$ 498
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$ 103
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nautibeach Condos(Isla Mujeres)
US$ 286
US$ 167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Paraiso(Isla Mujeres)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WorldMark Isla Mujeres(Isla Mujeres)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
1,495 results
Traveller rating
953
384
99
35
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
953
384
99
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya norteixchel iithrough vrbothe penthousegolf cartbedroom suitefull kitchenocean frontstandard roomchairs and umbrellasbeautiful beachhot tubhidalgo streetbeach servicebest beach on the islandflat screenan umbrella
Filter
Updating list...
970 - 975 of 1,495 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I traveled to Isla Mujeres and stayed at Ixchel in unit 2-310 from March 10 to March 19. We have stayed at Ixchel Beach Hotel each of the five times we have traveled to Isla and every experience has been excellent. Unit 2-310 is an ocean front unit with a wrap around balcony allowing for both sun and shade most times of the day. The unit was well furnished with comfortable chairs for sitting and reading in the living room and plenty of storage in the bedroom. The bed was not as comfortable as beds in some of the other units in which we have stayed (2-709, 2-410). The balcony has two tables and eight chairs along with two loungers. We did not make use of many of the services at Ixchel because we are familiar with the island and like to explore on our own. However, we did have a problem with the lights not working on our first evening and the issue was promptly taken care of. All of the staff at Ixchel were friendly and helpful. Joel, one of the staff on the beach, was always there to great us in the morning and get us set up on beach chairs with an umbrella. The restaurant at the hotel, Kalak, served breakfast, lunch and dinner. The breakfasts were good and the service was excellent. We did not eat lunch or dinner at the restaurant, but we did order food and drink on the beach. Arturo and Alex, two of the waiters who served the beach are worthy of mention. Both were polite and prompt with their service and checked regularly to see if we needed anything, without being pushy or intrusive. The Kalak ceviche is made with mango and cucumber, in addition to the seafood, and was excellent! Sergio, who runs Kalak and Rooster (on Hidalgo) offered a cooking class at Kalak. This was very interesting. He demonstrated the preparation of ceviche, chicken satay, and salad with Guava dressing. All of the food he prepared was excellent. If you are staying at Ixchel, I highly recommend his cooking class. One evening, the palapa between the two buildings at Ixchel played music very loud and late, however, the Ixchel staff informed us of this in advance. The music did not keep us awake at night. Chimbo's, the palapa to the east did not play music at night this year.
During our nine days we tried many different restaurants. Highlights included Minino's for ceviche, shrimp tacos, and fillet ajillo (the mango daiquiri is delicious), Mama Rosa for pastas and mojitos, and Faynes for the pork loin and the grouper with shrimp in Meunier sauce. Our waiter, Alex, put on quite a show preparing Mayan coffee for us. It was an excellent way to end the dinner. Other restaurants we tried included Lola Valentina, Amigos, La Bruja, Brisas Grill, Brisa Mexicana, Sancachos, Qubano, Rooster, Jax, and Social Justica. The cuban sandwich and the toston at Qubano were excellent, as were the eggs benedict at Rooster, and the chile relleno at Amigos.
Snorkeling at Garrafon de Castilla was fine, but we did not see as many fish as we had on previous visits. We arranged for a snorkeling trip to El Farito and Sac Bajo with Willy Ortiz. Willy met us on the beach in front of the hotel with a boat and a snorkel guide, Pablo. We saw many varieties of fish at both sites. I recommend Willy Ortiz.
Overall, the experience at Ixchel Beach Hotel was excellent and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robin6of6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed in a 2-bedroom condo at Ixchel (unti 201) from 3/3 - 3/10. It was our second trip to Isla and first stay at Ixchel. I have to say the beds in this unit (both in the master and second bedroom) were phenomenally comfortable. As we all know, beds in Mexico are notoriously hard. These beds were super cushy with fantastic sheets and a variety of pillow options. We were all very happy with the beds.

Other than that, the unit was very comfortably furnished and nice and new. We had plenty of space for our family of four and really enjoyed having two separate bedrooms. One word of caution on the second, hotel-style bedroom however - this didn't happen to us but our friends we traveled with who have a 2 year old. They put their son down for nap in the second bedroom in their condo and he woke up looking for mom and dad. Instead of opening the door in to the living room, he opened the door to the hall (the second bedrooms have a separate exterior entrance). He just walked right out of the condo and went looking for his parents. Thanks goodness my friend went in to check on him and soon discovered him being carried back to their room by some kind stranger. Yipes! Make sure you barricade the door or something if you have little inquisitive ones.

The pool was a big hit with our kids and it was really nice that it had a shallow area and a deep area. The staff at the pool bar was really nice and friendly, although I will say the drinks seemed pretty watered down. I can't say I've ever had that experience anywhere in Mexico except at an all-inclusive.

The beach out front is a dream for families with small children. The weather wasn't great the first few days we were there and there were red flags on the beach, but this is not the norm there and the other days were fabulous. The water is typically so gentle and blue and the sand is so soft - it's just dreamy. We typically had drinks on the beach and either ordered lunch from the hotel or had someone run a couple blocks to the market for tacos from Alexia Y Geovanny. There are SO good!!

One final note on the hotel - our unit was not from the rental pool or whatever so we didn't have access to the staff on-site and couldn't charge things to our room. Our contact, Melchor, was just a phone call away when we needed something. However, I will say that it was a little inconvenient. More than once I thought it would be preferable to have rented something from the rental pool. Not a super big deal, but worth a mention. Melchor was a super-nice guy though and was very happy to help us.

Aside from the hotel, I must mention one of our favorite trip highlights (on this trip and our last trip). We rented golf carts and drove to the East side of the island and climbed down to the beach for some shelling. The surf is really rough here and the beaches aren't for swimming, but you can find some really cool shells and seaglass here (you also find a fair amount of garbage and debris, but it does with the territory). From there we drove around the south end of the island (last time we stopped at Punta Sur for ice cream) and around to the west side of the island (last time we stopped at the Turtle Farm) until we reached our destination - Zama Beach Club. I love this place. It's much less crowded than the north beach (because it's kind of spendy, I suppose) but it's got great food and yummy/strong drinks (the margo margaritas are incredible). There are two pools there - one deep and one shallower and cooling pools (kind of like hot tubs but opposite). The service is wonderful and our kids always find all kinds of sea creatures in the sea grass - this year they found a huge hermit crab. Zama is a must-stop on our trips to Isla - we went twice this year.

Finally, I have to mention the amazing food we ate on our trip. Aside from the above mentioned Alexia Y Geovanny (they also have great breakfast and this place is super affordable) we really enjoyed pizza at Rolandi's and dinner at Olivia but I must say our favorite place was Lola Valentina. This restaurant is on the North end of Hidalgo and is run by the woman that opened Mango Cafe. Many of the staff and many of the recipes are from the Mango, but you don't have to drive to get there. The staff was very friendly and attentive and the food was awesome - I still dream of the Yucatan Eggs Benedict (served over plantains) and the Stuffed Sea Bass with pumpkin seeds on coconut rice. We went to salsa night there on Wednesday and both my girls loved learning the basics of salsa. It was super fun.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on floor 4 or higher in Building #1 - they have the best sunset views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Letsbeclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed in a PH suit with a private Jacuzzi in mid March. I will start by saying that the service and the location are great but we will not comeback or recommend this place to our friends. The room was poorly furnished with very uncomfortable sofa and a terrible bed. Both of us woke up with back pain every morning. On the second night we complained and the hotel sent someone to put something to soften the mattress, needless to say it didn’t help much. The Jacuzzi switch wasn’t working well so we had to turn it on and make sure it didn’t turn off every few minutes. It looks like the hotel is charging the guests big bucks but they didn’t pay attention to the little things, the linens were cheap, the lighting is awful, the Wi-Fi is barely working half of the time etc. I felt sorry for the nice employees that are trying to help as much as can but at the end of the day they can’t change the conditions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iritnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you for your input and we apologize for the described inconveniences. Your valuable comments reconfirm our improvement plans recently decided. We are very confident that this will change soon thus we wish you, to stay with us again and be part of this positive change. All the best!

Ixchel Beach Hotel, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This review is long overdue. We stayed in Penthouse Suite 701 in late July 2011 with our 10 year old daughter. This penthouse is a one bedroom penthouse suite in Phase II. It boasts gorgeous, panoramic views of Isla Mujeres, and is well worth renting if you have the chance. Although we went in July, we did use the hot tub (hot, not cold) often in the evenings and also when a tropical storm passed through. It was fun to sit outside on the very generous terrace to watch the weather come in across the ocean. Our daughter slept on the convertible couch (more like a futon) and it was completely fine.

This was our second time on the island and our first time at Ixchel. The service at Ixchel was fantastic, and we cannot say enough good things about Mauricio, the concierge. He is incredibly friendly and helpful. He arranged restaurant reservations at Olivia (great table) and also scored a last minute excursion for us. He is a great asset to the hotel.

Isla Mujeres is a wonderful place, as well. It is very laid back, and some of the best parts of Isla are the simple pleasures-- the beautiful beaches, gorgeous sunsets, and the friendly people. We enjoyed watching basketball games in the town center, taking a golf cart around the island, and renting videos at the local video store. When the tropical storm came in, we headed to Fantasy Island where our daughter was able to play Wii and pool. We also love the turtle farm and Punta Sur, and I'm a fan of the drive-thru beer store! Pita Amore and Qbano are fantastic, as is Chuuk Kay. Looking forward to trying new places next time! Anyway, I love talking about Ixchel and the island, so if you have any questions, please feel free to PM me.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLawArvada_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Just returned yesterday from a two week stay at the Ixchel and I can't say enough about how perfect it was. Stayed in a single room on the penthouse floor of the west tower and I couldn't have been happier. Sure, the beds were firm but I had no trouble sleeping. Room was very clean ... my guy Angel made sure of that and often surprised me with my towels molded into different characters. Everyone was very kind and helpful --- and they put up with a very large, rambunctious wedding party with no problem. Arturio at the Kalak Cafe was brilliant and we felt we were leaving a friend when we left. Location is perfect for strolling thru the main part of town, restaurants abound, lots of shopping. Rented golf courts for a couple of days and explored the sourthern part of the Island; even took a day trip to Chicen Itza that was fabulous. We had considered staying at the Privelege but so glad we didn't. Already planning a trip next year and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else ...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LunaToones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews