We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ixchel Location is awesome but some beds are HARD!”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ixchel Location is awesome but some beds are HARD!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Ok so let's get the ugly part of this review out of the way because the postitives will outweigh the negatives! Stayed in Unit #507 & #508 in West Tower (Phase2) and the beds were made for Fred Flinstone apparently. Begged over 3 days at front desk for an additional 'Egg Crate' topper and they swore there were no spares. 1st night hips & ribs were so sore from that bed I was ready to move to another hotel! They added 2 Blankets underneath to help and as long as we slept on our backs we were fine. Not comfy-but just fine. The Units sparse furnishings were tired, some chair covers were stained, there was no dresser in either bedroom so we had to keep suitcase out which was LAME and the kitchen equip was just OK and some stuff needed to be rewashed (ick). Now the good stuff....the view was incredible, the balconey was very generous and location on the North Beach Fantastic. The pools were clean and very warm. Staff were very friendly and while we were there we looked at other units which DID have great beds, were nicely furnished and kitchens equipped very nicely so there are some good units there. It's well worth the money if you get a decent unit but I would avoid #507 & #508 unless they seriously overhaul it.

Room Tip: Rooms in West Tower (Phase 2) that were perfect; 609 & 610 and 407 & 408.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthBeach_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    358
    90
    32
    21
See reviews for
416
593
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is the 10th time we’ve been to the Riviera Maya in the past 5 years, but our first time to Isla Mujeres. I have to say this location was, by far, one of the best Mexico experiences I’ve had thus far.

Feb 2012 my husband and I stayed in the bottom floor Beach Front unit (109/110) in Xchel 1. We were traveling with another couple that we travel with often, so we rented both 109 & 110 which basically is a 2 bedroom condo.
The Ixchel units are individually owned and are decorated and supplied differently according to the owners taste. Although the units are owned individually, Ixchel is ran like a hotel/resort, with a friendly front desk, maid service, bar/restaurant, spa, etc.

The Ixchel 1, ground floor Beach Front unit (109/110) was literally like being at home - the owners thought of everything! The kitchen is fully stocked, with everything from a lime squeezer to cutting board, to coffee filters, you name it. If you are traveling with family, and plan on cooking and eating-in, then you will want for nothing. They even had an umbrella, matches, wonderful pots and pans, and even travel mugs (for your morning coffee and beach walking), you name it, they thought of everything.

The décor has been completely upgraded with stunning vessel sinks in the bathrooms, stainless steel appliances, professional gas stove, and flat screen televisions. Ok, now, onto the best part. The ground floor Beach Front unit has a wrap around patio with stunning views out to the turquoise ocean on one side and wonderfully manicured landscaped view to the infinity pool on the other side. The owners have beautiful teak patio furniture (2 padded chaise lounge chairs, 4 Adirondack chairs, and 2 tall bistro tables with 4 accompanying chairs). Mornings on the patio with coffee, fresh fruit and yogurt are my favorite times. Watching the Ixchel staff setting up the beach chairs and umbrellas, and the sun coming up on the turquoise water is the most relaxing time of the day for me, and you could not ask for a better place to experience that, than on this patio. By the way, not only are the mornings spectacular, but the sunsets can be seen from sitting right there as well.

You are literally steps, steps from the white powdery sand and this unit is a perfect location if you need to run back to the condo for a beverage refill, or for more money to purchase something, or a bathroom run.
Unit 109/110 has a built in safe in each bedroom that is large enough to fit a laptop. We have stayed in several All-Inclusive’s and the safes are normally so small, all you can fit is a wallet and your passport. These safes are roomy, and you can change the combination as many times as you like, if that is what makes you feel comfortable (but we had no worries what-so-ever here). This particular Unit has Wi-Fi and we had perfect connectivity so we could stay in touch with our kids back at home via nightly emails.

The front desk will arrange a golf cart rental for you, so all you need to do is tell them when you want it, and they will accommodate. We called for a bag of ice one night and someone was knocking on our door literally in 3 minutes or even less!

Be sure to bring a little market bag with you, as every day we walked to the Market or to the grocery store (across from the Catholic Church) and brought back fresh fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice from the Mercado, and from the grocery store, we would buy eggs, cheese, bread, yogurt, chips, beer, and snacks.

The beach at Ixchel is stunning. Water is calm and is probably at least 4 colors of turquoise, the sand is powdered sugar soft and the entry to the water is rock-free (which is very very important to us).

If you chose to inquire about this particular ground floor Beach Front unit (109/110), VRBO (114905) is where the owners have their listing. Cindy Smith, will arrange airport transportation for you, if you wish, and will recommend her favorite restaurants. She is very accommodating and will answer all your questions, trust me, I had numerous. She also can arrange rental on other units in Ixchel as well, just in case her unit is already rented out for your requested dates.

Isla Mujeres and Ixchel is really a perfect location for those who still like a small tourist feel, along with a comfortable and safe Mexican culture feel as well (after all, isn’t that why you traveled to Mexico to experience their culture?) So basically you don’t have the crowded, over touristy Cancun/Playa feel – because Isla Mujeres gives you just the right amount of tourists (not too many) to make it feel like you’ve stumbled upon paradise where not many people know about it – mixed in with elbowing with the locals and shopping at their grocery store and watching the children playing on the streets with their tops and home-made toys. It makes you feel like you live there, with the comfort of a quiet, safe, resort feel, that has all the accommodations of home. It’s the best of both worlds really.

A fun suggestion is to walk down Hidalgo at night to the end where the Catholic Church is and shop at the grocery store, maybe attend a Sunday evening Mass with the locals, and then watch the nightly basketball game at the Municipal area right next to the Church. We sat and cheered on one of the teams in English and they seemed to really get pumped up. It was so fun watching them play (they were very good by the way) . Don’t forget to get a Flauta or a taco from the locals who set up their stands in front of the grocery store.

I will recommend Ixchel to any and everyone I know who might be planning a vacation. The location on North Beach is Premium, the closeness to restaurants, shopping, grocery and fruit stand (Mercado) is literally a 4 minute stroll, and you simply cannot ask for a better location for a place to stay. We highly recommend the Beach Front Unit 110/109 but if it’s not available, you really will not make a mistake staying at Ixchel.

Room Tip: We utterly loved Unit 109/110 Beach Front ground floor. It was the best location, perfect views, de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SallyLuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We have stayed on Isla for many years. This was our first time @ Ixchel. We found the facilities above average. We had a standard room in Phase II or the West Bldg and we knew we wouldn't have a balcony, which was my husband's primary complaint.

Room was neat and clean, sparsely decorated; lacked a bit in clothing storage space, (but then we were there for 12 days and likely overpacked, at least I know I did!)

The shower was the best I've experienced on the island, always PLENTY of HOT water and in full force!

We had a fabulous housekeeper, Angel who kept us fully stocked with fluffy, soft, whiter than white towels daily! I had requested a table be brought to my room for my 'stuff' and was accommodated immediately! Beds definitely hard, but that seems to be case on all beds in mexico!

I was able to head to the gym many mornings without a wait on my fav machines.

We had our choice of beach chairs every morning as we went down early to 'claim' them. Beach servers (Arturio and Alex both from Kayak) were very attentive to our needs from both Kayak and Chimbos.

Check in/Check out was easy, smooth and efficient.

Jabez and Stephanie were awesome at the front desk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QTPieMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis, minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Are trip upon arrival did not start out well. I have been to Isla many times and have brought medical supplies to the Red Cross on the island in the past. This trip was to be for my family and there was seven of us. I had requested adjoining rooms an ocean front views prior to our arrival, when we arrived they placed us in one suite and one standard room far away from each other. The person at the desk was not friendly this particular night and the hotel manager, Luz, began to help us and she made the rest of our eight days perfect. My thanks to her. The hotel had a great cleaning staff, we happened to have Alex and he did an incredible job of cleaning. Also for 75 dollars we contacted USA transfer to meet us at the airport and to take us to the ferry, and they picked us up at the ferry for our return right on time! It was a fabulous trip. Olivias greek restaurant also had great food and service. One of our best times was attending a baseball game in town, they had a fabulous fun brass band and locals who enjoyed their team!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avery555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for your arrival inconveniences. Our goal is to deliver the best possible experience at all times. We are glad that Luz took action on this and turned it into a positive mood. We look forward to hosting you and your family once again. All the best!

Ixchel Beach Hotel, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I would recommend to visit this beautiful Carribian Island.the Pocna hostel was recommended to us.we arrived around 9pm walking from the ferry station few block and got to the hostel.Looked very busy.they had only room to share with 8 people available .we didn't take it.decided to find something else.We went to first hotel stayed there for 1night.when we got up in the morning and so this beautiful beach.we stayed speechless .hotel IXCHEL is no.1. Try the massage on the beach.the best I'vs ever had.try to hire a golf cart for 24hours($600 pesos). Excellent ! You can drive everywhere. Don't miss the Dolphin discovery!!!!!great fun -swimming with 2dolphins. You can buy pictures for $99 USD or 1for $25US.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petulaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 km away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
714 reviews
3.1 km away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.8 km away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
493 reviews
0.3 km away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
856 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,411 - ₹ 19,853
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing