We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Run Down

I realize that these are ruins, but the place is really run down. The added fixtures (lightrs... read more

Reviewed 7 November 2018
Larry J
,
D/FW, United States
Very run down

We were pretty disappointed with how run down this place was. Also, there wasn't any information to... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2018
legsbell
,
Martinez, California
Read all 186 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Isla Mujeres
from US$ 49.99
More Info
from US$ 65.99
More Info
from US$ 59.99
More Info
from US$ 79.99
More Info
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
16
37
52
49
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
37
52
49
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone arches self guided small entrance fee golf cart playa norte swamp fermin skull remnants wealthy fascinated homes paths wear caribbean
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

I would not go if childbearing age for fear of zika virus but neat to spend 20 minutes looking around and only $2 entry

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank treetrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

It is a mosquito infested park that is riddled with either dog or iguana poop everywhere. Not worth the 20 pesos to go in.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank lesliehein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is more of an exploration of a bygone era at this point than a manicured park. Bring bug spray, and your sense of adventure. If you like hiking through unoccupied trails, paths and some jungle areas while finding ruins, wells and relics of yore, you will love it. When we drove up and got out of the golf cart someone came out an asked if we were there to use the bathroom. We said no, and pointed at the entryway. She looked surprised, had us each give her $3 or $4 and in we went. We were alone, and loved it, but were driven out by the mosquitoes. It was a huge regret that we didn't have bug spray handy, because we would have loved to explore more of it. Don't expect it to be maintained, and in places like handrails it might even be a little unsafe if you aren't careful, but do it! Have an adventure. Also, huge Iguanas everywhere. Awesome.

Also, just to the left of the entryway is a strip-mall type building. In it is an animal rescue. We were SUPER happy to go in and speak with the animal care worker and pet the very well taken care of animals. We gave her a $20 donation, but she was shocked, so must not get a lot of donations. It was truly heartwarming to see the animals taken such great care of. Stop in. It was a true highlight for us, out of all the stuff we saw.

Date of experience: September 2017
4  Thank Robin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

The story of Pirate Mundaca and his hacienda on Isla Mujeres has fascinated us since we moved here in 2008. Fermin Antonio Mundaca de Marecheaga was born in October 1825 in the village Bermejo of Santa Maria, Spain. When he completed his education he shipped out to sea, eventually becoming captain of his own ship and wealthy slave-trader in the Caribbean, selling Mexican Mayan slaves to Cuban plantation owners. In 1860 when the British campaigned against slavery, Mundaca rented out his ships to the Spanish government in the Yucatan peninsula of Mexico. The officials continued to capture Mayans and to sell them to Cuba, decimating the rebellious population.
Mundaca then set about building a large hacienda on Isla Mujeres that he named Vista Alegre (Happy View), eventually covering over 40% of the interior of the island. There were areas for livestock, birds, vegetables gardens, fruit orchards and exotic plants that were brought from all over the world. While building his home and expanding his giant estate, he fell in love with a sixteen-year-old Mayan girl named Martiniana Gomez Pantoja. She was described as having “deep green eyes like the surf and bronze skin that shone like the sun.” He built her a beautiful garden with great stone arches where he carved her name, La Trigueña, The Brunette above the apex.
But the dark-haired beauty, 37 years his junior, married her childhood sweetheart and Mundaca grew isolated and lonely. The islanders described his as ‘mad.’ Wanting to be near La Trigueña when he died, he built a tomb in 1879 in the flamboyant, crowded cemetery in centro. Mundaca died at age 55 in Mérida suffering from complications of syphilis. He was buried in that city. Etched on the tombstone covering his empty crypt on Isla Mujeres are the symbols of the pirate - skull and crossbones with the words he carved as his epitaph, "As you are, I was. As I am, you will be."
But wait, there’s more to the story. The Hacienda Mundaca is a rustic park controlled jointly by the municipal and federal interests. In the park lake is one, or perhaps more, crocodiles. Across the street from the main entrance is a swampy pond that was a favourite weekend getaway for the mama crocodile. Several times a year the municipality workers were tasked with removing mama from the natural pond that happened to be strategically close to a supply of cats and dogs, and across the street from the brand new hospital. Recently when the city workers returned her to the lake, there were six babies complicating the procedure. The obvious conclusion would be that somewhere mama met up with a handsome crocodile dude and they had a bit of adult fun. Then during a particularly rainy October one of the adult crocodiles made a break for freedom, scooting down the road past the big church, right on by the new cemetery, and into the ocean.
A surprised passerby reported the breakout and the Great Crocodile Hunt was on. Soon there was a gaggle of curious people, the police, the marines toting big guns, and a boat load of fishermen chasing the reptile while it swam towards Playa Norte. It swam so quickly past our house we couldn't get a decent photo, so we hopped into the golf cart and drove ahead of the swarm of on-lookers. Eventually the crocodile was netted by the fishermen in the bay near centro, and returned unharmed to the lake at the hacienda.
You can see why we are so fascinated by the mystic surrounding the Hacienda Mundaca Park, and Pirate Fermin Mundaca.
The entrance fee is an inexpensive $30.00 pesos, and you can wander through his modest home, explore the remnants of the beautiful garden … but watch out for the crocodiles in the lake. Muhhhhuh!

Date of experience: July 2017
5  Thank IslaGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stopped by this place since my wife and I are both history fans. Neat walking through the sprawling estate, but it was way too "self-guided" for our taste. Not sure if we ended up seeing all the sights, but after wandering around for long enough feeling lost, we gave up and headed to Punta Sur.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank chrisryantaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews