We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,458)
Filter reviews
4,458 results
Traveller rating
1,894
1,307
710
351
196
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,894
1,307
710
351
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky bar preferred club preferred pool swim up room market cafe preferred area room service barefoot grill preferred room coco cafe manatee pool ocean view swim up bar sister resort foam party fish portions are small
Filter
Updating list...
868 - 873 of 4,458 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

I was so excited to go to a secrets but I will never stay at one again. Not worth it at all.
If it wasn't for the entertainment staff I would give this place 0 stars. We did not have one meal the entire trip that was warm, about an hour for coffee to get to your room and a lot of attitude and lies from the staff. Everytime you order room service it's a surprise, we never got a meal we ordered.
We came with 7 other people, they all got their rooms when we checked in but we waited 2+ hours for our room. The told us it would be ready in 20 minutes about 10 times and then tried to "upgrade" us to a smaller room in the non preferred section.
The food was like middle school cafeteria food, but at least my middle school food was warm. Nothing was hot at all, not even the coffee that took an hour everyday.
Avoid at all costs possible!!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, Management area at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Hello Brett S,

We appreciate the tim invest in write your opinion.

There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor your constructive feedback. We wish you all the very best in the future and we hope you will consider staying with us again, as we are confident we can provide a better experience.

I remain at your service.
Eduardo Betancourt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

While I enjoyed the fact that the resort was an adult-only kid-free zone, I would not recommend this resort for groups of singles. Obviously Secrets is geared towards couples who probably want peace, quiet and romance, so I would not normally stay here, but our original hotel was overbooked so we ended up here in the Preferred Club area of the resort.

The Preferred Club has a separate exclusive beach club area but when we went there as a group of 5 ladies it was very obvious they "preferred" us not to be in this section of the beach. We were constantly harassed and continuously had to produce evidence that we 'belonged' in that section since the hotel does not use armbands. I did not see anyone asking any of the couples if they were supposed to be there. Nobody offered to help us with the loungers as we were trying to get 5 of them together, these are made of very heavy wood so we just ended up dragging them ourselves and then getting yelled at by staff for dragging the chairs around. In addition, nobody bothered to offer us drinks while the couples around us were all being served. We ended up having to walk to go get our own drinks at the swim up bar nearby. Eugenia at the swim up bar was the only person with any idea of what customer service was about and she let us order our food and drinks at the bar and then said no worries she would bring it all out to us when she saw our frustration. Maybe this is their way of discouraging groups of singles but as paying customers we want to enjoy ourselves and have a nice experience as well and the way in which we were disregarded is something I have not experienced in my many travels around the world.

In general I found the staff to be very inattentive in the beach club area and across the resort as a whole - in some instances just downright rude, especially at some of the restaurants. In addition the food was often cold for some reason no matter where we ate, not sure if there was a problem with the warmers..... and the drinks were definitely watered down.

On a positive note I liked the location right on the beach and there was some wonderful snorkeling just feet from the shore. The free snorkeling equipment and catamarans were also a plus. The resort was very beautiful and I found the grounds to be very nice. Be sure to catch a sunset at the rooftop bar!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms with ocean view are definitely worth it!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Travelher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

This resort is all adult....which I prefer. I stayed five nights; the food was good; repetitive but hey it's five nights. The rooms were clean. The staff came by daily to clean the room. The staff was very nice and helpful. The spa experience was great!!!! I had total relaxation.

Room Tip: It seemed as if all the rooms had great views!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, Management area at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Hello Mrs. cherise c,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us.

We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you. We appreciat you comments about the rooms, staff and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon and hope you will not hesitate to spend another wonderful vacation in paradise at Secrets Aura Cozumel.

I remain at your service.
Eduardo Betancourt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

My Husband and I have to work hard and save throughout the year to afford our vacations. A few years ago we booked a 10 day vacation at Secrets Maroma in Playa Del Carmen, this was our first introduction to Secrets resorts. Our stay was perfect. Our group of 3 couples could not ask for anything more in a vacation resort. Over the next few years we tried other resorts, all paled in comparison to Secrets. Last fall we found Secrets Aura in Cozumel. We booked our trip right away April 25th through May 5th. (We did read reviews and noticed a few bad reviews regarding the poor condition of the gounds.) We felt we were safe because of our passed experience, after all it is a SECRETS RESORT!

Our first clue that this was not going to be the same great experience came when part of our group had to carry their bags to their room from the lobby.

Clue # 2 was the smell of sewage in the lobby, the odor worsened in the lobby bar. This odor was present throughout out stay, we quit using this bar because the smell was so putrid.

Number 3 Alarm -- our room had two gueen beds, not 1 king bed as we reserved.

As a group it we decided none of these issues were deal breakers. They were not going to ruin our vacation. Neither would the rocky beach nor the average resort food and watered down drinks. Our house keeper, Lorena was great, she did an excellent job and was always friendly. The entertainment staff were fun and helpful, especially Hugo. The waitstaff in the Market Cafe were ok, the Hostess was helpful and kind. We often had to request tableware, water and clean dishes. The staff at the Bistro were rude and arrogant. We were rushed throughout our meal.

There were four incidences which prompted this review.
1. Our keys were programmed for 1 week, not 10 days which meant we were locked out of our rooms. We went to the lobby for this to be corrected, it was suggested to the staff member the program should be changed to prevent this problem. The staff person defensively remarked,"I did not make the mistake". There was no apology for the inconvenience. The seemed to be an ongoing attitude with the staff in the lobby.

2. The men in our group husband and friend went up the stairs above our rooms, they found a pile of old furniture and dirty mattresses being stored. (We were in room 4034) Along this line, we had room service one morning 2 days before our departure. Our dirty dishes were still outside our door when we left. Earlier in week there were dishes for 3 days a animal enjoyed the remains and left the chicken bones all over the walkway.

3. After a day at the beach our friends in the adjoining room unlocked their door and walked into their room to find a maintenance man watching their TV, remote in hand. No complaint had been made requiring a maintenance person. When questioned why he was their, he said he was there to fix a slow drain. After he left without touching a drain, it was discovered he had been watching the adult channel, and he had helped himself to a beer.

4. On our final morning, we returned from breakfast to find men in our room spraying insecticide all over our room. No complaint of insects had been made. We were scheduled to leave in a few hours and had been packing, all of our belongings were out in the open. When reported to the lobby staff, again no apology or concern, just an offer for us to check out early.(?)

As stated before our vacation was great but there was an underlying feeling of disappointment with this Secrets resort. We feel AMResorts should be aware of this poorly run resort, Secrets Aura (Aroma) should not have the Secrets name.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank pamsberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, Management area at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Hello Mrs. pamsberger

It is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on several points. I wish to reassure you, that I have shared and are trying to address your comments with our Department Heads with that being said, we genuinely regret hearing that you were disappointed with your stay at the Secrets but however guarantee that this is definitely not a true depiction of our standards of operation and certainly not the typical experience of our guests. we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We are always looking for ways to improve our resort to exceed the expectations of our clients.

I remain at your service.
Eduardo Betancourt
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

We can never express how much we truly love this place! It truly feels like our second home! Ramon Flores never skips a beat to welcoming us with a great big hug! He always ensures that we have a fun & relaxing week! Hats off to Ramon & the rest of the staff. We also want to recognize Esparanza and ironman Mario Servantes from Sunscape Sabor. They both work in the Market cafe and always have huge smiles and make us feel welcome as well! Finally, Juan Carlos, one of the bell boys is very friendly & always takes care of us upon arrival. We love each & everyone of these employees!!!!

We would highly recommend both Sunscape Sabor & secrets to anyone for an awesome vacation!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank shomay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, Management area at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Hello shomay s,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We were really happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with stay with us. Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Secrets Aura Cozumel and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

I remain at your service.
Eduardo Betancourt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews