We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
201
106
26
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
106
26
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal club la carreta private restaurant resident barracuda private pool specialty restaurants worth the upgrade beach restaurant occidental cozumel time share fish main buffet dive sites regular room every request junior suite main pool
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

we are grand level royal club members first time to Cozumel being grand level members we receive some extra attention and services. we just returned from occidental Cozumel with our kids and grandkids 14 in all and received excellent service from the entire royal club staff. Emma in concierge is a credit to this hotel between her and Jessica they took care of our every need. Ismael water / buss boy was my kids and grandkids favorite he worked so hard to give us that extra service. Ismael is young and we really hope that he will be with the hotel for many years to come. the waiters and bartenders at the main pool/beach are amazing the huge number of drinks made per day with care in each drink made. I felt that the food in the resort was not quite as good as other occidental hotels.
very beautiful grounds and a lot of wildlife. the hotel is in a jungle area with swamp around most of it mosquitos can be a problem bring bug spray

Room tip: most rooms are the same upgrade to royal club if possible
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paulkJ7968VD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Paul K,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Cozumel was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

My husband teenage son and myself are currently here at the hotel. I will review the rest of the hotel separately. We are extremely pleased with our experience with the Royal level here. The check-in was fast and smooth and friendly. They were very helpful in assisting us in scheduling our ala carte restaurant reservations. They've been very quick to accommodate any request that we have, and all of our needs have been met. We really enjoy having unlimited ala carte restaurants, and the addition of the royal Level Restaurant is fantastic! The food and service are very very good in La Carreta. There is also a royal level only jacuzzi which we haven't used yet but intend to at some point. Our room is very nice and the location and building 19 is stellar! While I don't love being on the first floor under the stairs since they are noisy, I do love the location of the building. Our room is equipped very well and it's decorated tastefully. The bathroom is very nice and the shower gets nice and hot! Our maid service has been very good as well. If we have the opportunity to return turn to the hotel, we will definitely use the Royal Service again!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cdnusbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear cdnusbaum

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that you and your family are having an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

Feel free to contact me for any additional service,

Gabriela Gaeta
Guest Experience Manager
cozumel.guestexperience@occidentalhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The Royal Level at this resort is well worth the upgrade. You have some upgrades in the rooms, pillows, shampoo etc. They appear to be the same size as the other rooms on the property, however the service is different with the "Royal Level" upgrade. Private restaurant, free internet, free WiFi, towel service for the beach, private pool, and close proximity to the beach as well. Emma, Margarita & Jessica will take good care of you...Beautiful grounds that are well kept. My wife and I traveled to this resort in 2003 after completion and the vegetation at this resort is stunning..Bring mosquito spray!!!!! The resort sits next to some brackish water with plenty of wild life, frogs at night and MOSQUITOS...Karl & Lynne

Room tip: Select the Royal Level
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl or Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Karl or Lynne B

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics
We also appreciate your kind words for Emma, Margarita and Jessica, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our Royal Level area, main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your well being whilst staying among us.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Feel free to contact me for any future assistance,

Gabriela Gaeta
Guest experience Manager
cozumel.guestexperience @occidentalhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Our week long stay at the Occidental Grand Cozumel is one of the best vacations we have ever had.

Booked as a last minute get away from the Canadian cold, we were amazed by the beauty of the boutique-style resort (200 rooms) - its landscaping and its authentic Mexican design-style, large room, outstanding food quality and selection and the very professional staff.

We upgraded to the Royal level which gave us access to the private restaurant that would prepare anything we liked (given proper notice); 24 hour conceriege and a private pool.

We are returning next year for sure!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank RobE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear RobE1

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Cozumel hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Feel free to contact me for any future assistance,

Gabriela Gaeta
Guest Experience Manager
cozumel.guestexperience@occidentalhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

My family and I just returned from another fabulous vacation to Cozumel yesterday, and could not wait to share our experience at Occidental. Although we have visited the island many times, we had never stayed at this resort. Very happy to report we were delighted with the experience…
Check In / Check out Process
We arrived at the hotel at around 1:30 PM and were greeted by very friendly bellman who helped us unload our luggage. While my husband parked the car (no charge for overnight parking), I proceeded to the reception area to request an early check in. I was told by the receptionist the bellman would be taking us with a golf cart to the Royal check-in desk. The Royal reception area was very personalized; we were greeted with o’dourves and sparkling wine, and Emma (reception area manager) made us feel very welcome from the moment we walked in explaining the resort features, restaurant options and entertainment schedule. Our room was ready in 10 minutes (ahead of the 3 PM regular check in). Upon departure, the check-out process was also very smooth, with the bellman meeting us with a golf cart to take us and our luggage directly to our car.
Facilities
We found the rooms in the Royal area to be very well kept and fairly quiet. They were very spacious, clean, and, to our satisfaction, without the usual smells of humid, beach front properties. The air conditioning worked well, there was a free safe for valuables, beds were comfortable, mini bar was restocked regularly, and we never ran out of toiletries, water and fresh towels. The pool and Jacuzzi areas were also quite clean, with plenty of beach towels and chairs. Never had an issue checking out the free snorkel and kayak equipment. And the beach… what can we say?! It’s Cozumel!
Meals / Bars
Meals at La Carreta were simply delicious and delightful. The servers were friendly and completely accommodating to our every request (including second servings!) We never had a problem with our reservations, which Emma and the other reception area ladies made sure to arrange for us. We also ate meals at the buffet restaurants and Sonora. Sonora was not as great as La Carreta, but still very tasty. The buffets were not our favorite, but good enough for a quick meal – choices were limited and food sometimes ran out without being replenished. There was no snack bar available. Can’t comment on Los Olivos, the seafood restaurant, nor the Pizza bar which opened after 9 pm since we didn’t eat there; also, can’t comment on room service since we never made use of the option which was available to us. But as adults, what we enjoyed the most was wrapping up the night at the main bar; more than the drinks, we applauded the service, interesting conversations and laughs with our favorite barmen – Franklin and Ivis! Every guest we spoke to raved about them, and towards the end of our trip we understood why. Regardless of whether we were having an adult beverage or opting for sparkling water, Franklin and Ivis made us (and everyone around us) feel like family. Amazing guys; certainly the best barmen in Occidental Cozumel – will come back just to chat with them again!
Entertainment
My kid enjoyed the kids club to the max thanks to the caring and friendly people who worked there – Sandra, Darwin and Jesus. He loved all the activities and eating lunch in the company of other children. We also enjoyed the shows – light show, folkloric dancers, pre-hispanic show and fire show were our favorites!

All in all, we had a GREAT TIME… and managed to do it without falling into the ‘sales pitch in exchange for a tour discount’!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NESvia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Edith S

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Royal Level. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.
Our staff welcomes each guest with the Occidental Cozumel spirit and strives to assist in any possible way to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay, it is indeed very rewarding to read that you have appreciated their genuine helpfulness throughout your holidays among us.
we are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times.
We also appreciate your kind words for our bartender staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews