We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”

Sunset Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #44 of 441 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Description: "Sunset" is located just south of down town and just a 2 minute walk from Park Royal, El Cid Casa Del Mar and Villa Blanca. Forget about spending all day traveling to far away beach clubs that just waste your precious vacation time. You are here in Cozumel so it is time to start relaxing not travelling! "Sunset" has a Dive Shop with full rental gear available including wetsuits. Scuba Dive for the first time! No certification required PADI Certified instructors will teach you how to dive through an official PADI sanctioned Discover Scuba Diving Course. This only takes 2 hours and it's a must do for everyone visiting Cozumel. Not ready to SCUBA try SNUBA SNUBA is a combination of Scuba Diving and Snorkeling, you will feel the same sensation of scuba diving, breathing compressed air underwater, but without all the cumbersome equipment. We are a licensed SNUBA operator and Instructor Training Center, with 7 SNUBA instructors on sight so you can venture in to this new experience at any time. How about Snorkeling? No problem, we have snorkeling guides that will teach you how to be comfortable in the water and accompany you while you are in the water. Directly in front of "Sunset" our water's boast 100 Reef Balls full of life and diversity so you may experience the natural wonders of the underwater world up close when you snorkel or dive. Once you finish in the water it is time to relax under the palapa of our ocean view bar while you have an exotic drink. Then it is time to grab some rays as you receive a massage by our professional masseuse on the water's edge. If you book any activity with us Discover Scuba Diving, SNUBA, or Snorkeling you will receive a FREE 5 minute massage. Our facilities include Wi-Fi, Lockers, Clean spacious Bathrooms, Fresh water showers, Souvenir shop, Restaurant and Bar. Come and enjoy Cozumel while we pamper you.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Had breakfast several times and dinner, everything was delicious and well presented and prepared. Clean, healthy food, as well ‘free’ access to the sea...so take a swim in the magnificent waters,as I did, while your meal is prepared. Low cost for high quality. Enjoy!

1  Thank ElenS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastianBalthazar, Marketing Manager at Sunset Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Elen S:

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments which are very important and valuable for us. We are glad to hear you had a great time.

We hope to see you back again in the future.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We ate here with a group of friends on our last night in the island and were very impressed. The drinks were the best we had in the entire vacation and the food was right near the top of our entire trip as well. With the great views too we can’t wait until we get to return - Highly recommended!

Thank DeepWreckDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastianBalthazar, Marketing Manager at Sunset Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear DeepWreckDiver:

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments which are very important and valuable for us. We are glad to hear you had a great time.

We hope to see you back again in the future.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Snorkeling Review:
We shore snorkeled here at roughly 1130 on a Friday with 3 cruise ships in port. We were tourists but staying a week on the island for a week. Parking was easy that day, right on the street out front. No entry fee though polite to commit to some food after your swim. This was the only place we rented a locker during the whole week of dropping into beach clubs and snorkeling—mostly because there were a lot of people doing snuba and intro to scuba activities and there is a shore wall that doesn’t allow visibility to your stuff while in the water. Locker was $2 and probably measured 20” in all directions-plenty of space. We brought our own gear, so not sure what rental costs. Entry is via stairs, with the waves we had it was a bit rocky but okay. You need to get a little ways out to start seeing anything other than random fish. There are cement structures on the sea floor built to harbor sea life but the real coral is a ways out and to the north and south. There are bouys that mark the perimeter that boats should stay out of other than a glass bottom boat but we were weary of trusting them. I give the snorkeling 3 stars for 2 reasons—one is that there are a fair number of people who snorkel here and the more people the more cautious the sea life. The other reason is that the coral a neat stuff to see once you find it is 20-30 feet down—we did some feee diving down to see it but that is also where they take the scuba groups. I think my experience was also jaded by the fact that we had had better shore snorkeling elsewhere during the week. There is some drift—for us it was south to north—ask the dive masters if you are concerned—just so you know what direction you will be pulled.

Food review:
The fish tacos we had here were the best we had on the island. We didn’t have high hopes given the menu was reminiscent of an Applebee’s in the states (predictable mostly American offerings) and prices were only in dollars (maybe this was just on the menu they gave us). The presentation was beautiful, fish cooked perfectly, picked cabbage and onions on the side were perfect. I’d come back for the fish tacos. Ask for the price in pesos and pay in pesos.

1  Thank Hoosurnurse05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastianBalthazar, Marketing Manager at Sunset Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Hoosurnurse05:

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments which are very important and valuable for us. We are glad to hear you had a great time.

We hope to see you back again in the future.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

We tried local beers and the ceviche and guacamole appetizers. They were fantastic!! Lots of food for the price you pay - fresh and absolutely delicious! The locals were friendly and attentive. A wonderful little stop on our Cozumel adventure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jnielse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastianBalthazar, Marketing Manager at Sunset Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear jnielse2:

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments which are very important and valuable for us. We are glad to hear you had a great time.

We hope to see you back again in the future.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

After spending all morning on a scuba tour which loaded us with tequila, then going to the tequila tour across the street, we were toasted walking into the Sunset Restaurant and Bar and in severe need of some food to soak up the tequila.
The view was amazing, the restrooms were very clean, service was excellent, and the food was amazing!!! Mexican food is SO MUCH BETTER in Mexico!
I had steak tacos in a blue soft shells and I forgot what my husband got but he was moaning as he ate it. LOL
When we go back down the road, Sunset will be on our MUST list for eateries ... though, we'll be sober next time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AshleyJackson524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastianBalthazar, Marketing Manager at Sunset Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear AshleyJackson524:

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments which are very important and valuable for us. We are glad to hear you had a great time.

We hope to see you back again in the future.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Sunset Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing