We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stayed here almost annually since 1992” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suites Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suites Colonial
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed here almost annually since 1992”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

We always stay here. Its so convenient. We have known the maid "Alyssia" for the past 16 years. She once carried a 5 gallon bucket of water up 2 stories for us once because not long after the hurricane Wilma, we had a temporary water issue for about an hour. We could wait, but she didn't want us to have to wait. The rooms are always clean and very spacious. We are to the dive pier each morning in a couple of minutes. Being in the plaza simplifies everything. The only need for transportation is when we decide to go to the other side of the island. We love it. We check out other places while we are there, but always decide to return to the Colonial.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank DiveALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    52
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
24
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2007

We stayed at the Suites Colonial for three days prior to checking into a resort. This little hotel surpassed my expectations in most ways and I would recommend staying there - for the budget-minded traveller. The rooms are amazingly clean (I've stayed in rooms for 5 times the money that weren't this clean) and the beds are comfortable. The showers and kitchens are surprisingly LARGE! The town-square is only about 100 feet away from the front door - with amazing shopping and eating!

Our ONLY complaint with this hotel was the air-conditioning - it never seems to reach the living-room / dining-room areas.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Price
  • Disliked — Air-conditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIsterKBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2006

We just got back from another week in the Coz... This time, we stayed at the Hotel Colonial and heard about it from the Sunwing vacation packages online. With no recent reviews and little info on the web, I was a little apprehensive but that all changed once I got there.

The hotel is located a stone's throw from the main town square... restaurants, shops and nitelife are all within a couple minutes walk. All the must-visit food venues like La Chosa, Pepe's, Tony Romas etc are all right around the corners. Dive shops are all over the place. I dive with Aqua Safari (and highly recommend them) and although they are a few blocks away, the walk is nice in the AM.

Now, back to the hotel.

There are three floors. The elevator is still out of commission, but likely could not hold both you and your luggage at the same time anyway. The stairs are wide and easy. If you have lots of stuff or bad knees, just book on the first floor and you will hardly notice the climb. The view is great. The disco (previous posting) is loud, but the AC drowns everything out. It is loud but works ok if you shut the bedroom and bathroom doors to trap the cold air in the bedroom. Nights in FEB/MAR offer cool breezes so you really don't need it.

The rooms are very spacious... we had a suite with a mini kitchen. No cutlery, pots or plates to speak of so just buy some disposables at the grocery stores when you stock up your drinks and snacks. The fridge/feezer looked NEW and work perfectly.

The suites feature a LARGE sitting area with two couches looking towards a big window with shutters. The dining area is slightly smaller on the other side of the room with a window/shutters too.

The bedroom has two double beds, a dresser, night table, drawers and large cupboards with ample storage. Glass louvred windows and an AC run along the top of the room. Drapes are included for privacy although nobody can see in. The TV is ok (no remote) and is on cable with several english (US) feeds of movies with spanish subtitles... The beds are comfortable... really!

The bathroom has windows, a shower and toilet. The counter is large with a full-width mirror and lights. The water does not smell and is clear (still don't drink it). Usual mustiness is solved with a Glade plug-in)

The floors are all tiled and kept VERY clean by the maids (tip them daily). While we are on that topic, the whole place is VERY clean. It is not a resort by any means, but it was as clean and well-kept as any major resort I have stayed at.

Lots of soft lighting outside the rooms and along the open air halls that get you to the rooms.

No bugs, creepies or crawlies to be seen anywhere.

The front desk guy is nice but speaks only a bit of english (you should take some spanish before going anyway...) You can lock up valuables like ID, tickets and spare cash in their safe (in a sealed envelope with your initials on the masking tape). They have free "medium speed" internet on a PC in the lobby for you email and MSN freaks (like my wife).

The breakfast is ok for a quick coffee and fruit or sweatbread but you can cross the street and eat at Cocos or almost anywhere for about 5$ USD each and be full!

There is only one thing... the street that gives you access to the hotel is pedestrian only. If you have alot of stuff (eg bags and dive gear) you will be a little tired after slugging it all from the taxi or shuttle to the hotel lobby and then up the stairs. That is the only thing I missed about other hotels I have stayed at. But not a big enough deal to discount this place.

Remember there is NO POOL. If you want to swim at a beach, you should take a taxi, scooter or rent a car and head up the highway (you need to explore the island anyway!) to one of the many beach clubs... lounge all day and just buy drinks and some munchies. You can swim anywhere downtown if you have watershoes and don't mind the rocky coral shores...

Anyway, the hotel is great. Not luxury, but you are not paying for luxury. I don't think you will be unhappy here if you read all this review and still are interested. I have not left anything out.

Oh, some beach clubs are still closed (destroyed by the hurricane)... other are open again. Chankanaab park is still closed and if you take a scooter along the old beach road (destroyed), you can see all the destroyed resorts like the El Presidente. Rumour has it that the $$ backers have walked away and it not being re-built. If you see the pics of the damage, you won't believe how much re-building has already been done around the island and downtown. The cruise ship piers are still destroyed, but the Ultramar ferrys are moving passengers on and off the island to the anchored ships.

PS: BEWARE OF ALL THE TIMESHARE SCAMS IN MEXICO. MOST ARE SCAMS AND THERE SEEMS TO BE AN INORDINATE AMOUNT PITCHING THE MAYAN PALACE (CANCUN / PLAYA DEL CARMEN). Visit ---- and ---- BEFORE you fly south and get an idea about what lies you will be told before you accept the invite for a 90 minute presentation and free swag... we wasted a full day on this "90" minute scam and barely escaped with our wallets. When I googled the place back at the hotel, I was so thankful that I was not sucked into the scam.

Enjoy Cozumel... I will be back again next year and although I plan to rent a condo and bring my kids and outlaws with me, I would not hesitate to stay at the Colonial again if it was just my wife and I again. I hope this helps you decide a few more details of your trip.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2006

My family of 4 stayed 1 week at Suites Colonial in Cozumel Feb '06. Not a "luxury" hotel by any measure, but Perfect for us! Meticulously clean; the housemaids wash the red tile floors and change the sheets daily (make sure to tip them, I understand they don't get paid squat). Beds very comfortable. Very friendly and helpful small staff.

There are a few "negatives": (a)a disco is located about 100 meters away and seems to crank-up about 10pm; earplugs solved the problem. (b)our kitchenet stove top did not work; not a big deal (the full size fridge shows its age but worked fine. (c) the bedroom window airconditioner didn't work; we didn't need it.(d) continental breafast has fresh OJ, but the rest is mediocre, but there is a great bakery 4 blocks away.

Here are the "positives": Clean, Clean, Clean. Great location to experience the true/real Cozumel; i.e., walking distance to essentially everying in the town, except Dive-with-Martin (our scuba shop). Only 150 meters to the town plaza, 100 meters to the waterfront; easy >15 minute walk to supermarket and many resturants, 30 minute walk to the very most distant (but excellent) restruants. Walking is the way to see the true Cozumel.


People of Cozumel are most friendly and,outside of the tourist trap/cruise-ship shop area, don't hustle you. We never had a feeling of insecurity. Climate is so great it is wonderful to be outside walking around and taking the scene in. Town is vibrant and alive with families out-and-about late into the evening. Plaza had local music in eve; especially Sunday eve.

Most tourist hotel options seem to be outside the town and therefore insulated from the TRUE Cozumel. We would return to Suites Colonial in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank roscoe stubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst Ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2005

My husband, college age son, and I stayed at Suites Colonial for 10 days in March. We chose it because it was in town on a pedestrian-only street, between the waterfront and Cozumel's neighborhoods, handy for shopping, eating, and taking in local color. Every morning we enjoyed their array of local fresh fruits, pastries, coffee, and fresh-squeezed orange juice. Our room, with a double bed and a single separated by a wall, had as amenities a fridge, TV, AC, and large closet. Every morning we enjoyed our breakfast on the balcony outside our room, listening to the birds and savoring the bright sun before it became oppressively hot. At night, we turned the AC off when the town quieted, the air cool enough and quiet enough to sleep with windows open to a breeze. We met wonderful guests, always got good advice at the front desk, and hopped cabs at the corner to go to nearby beaches for great snorkeling. If you go to Cozumel, here are must-dos: rent a car at least once to see the ruins at San Gervasio, drink Coronas at Playa Chen Rio, and snorkel at Playa Los Tormentos. Eat at La Choza, Manatee, and the local mercado. On Sunday night, go to the plaza for live salsa music and dancing. We enjoyed Cozumel as long as we avoided the cruise ship crowds and hawkers outside stores aggressively pushing wares to turistas. Several blocks off the water you can avoid most of that and focus instead on a still Maya- influenced, beautiful place with friendly residents and a laid-back pace.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dabidawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 km away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#20 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#25 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Agave Azul
Hotel Agave Azul
#38 of 50 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 km away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Colonial? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Colonial

Property: Suites Colonial
Address: Avenida 5 Avenida sur 9, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,201 - ₹ 6,198
Hotel Class:2 star — Suites Colonial 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Suites Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Colonial Hotel Cozumel
Colonial Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing