We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Mexicana Dive Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Casa Mexicana Dive Trip”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our second stay at the Casa Mexicana this year. It is nothing flashy - but it is clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and the breakast buffet is one of the best I have seen in a long tiime..( I travel for a living) They even have smoked salmon! But no bagels... go figure? It is located on the harbour drive/main shoreline street so you get a little 'city noise.' No restaurant or gym... but we weren't looking for that. The Mega (Walmart) is a five minute walk for anything you need and the town square is a few blocks away (live music/dancing Sunday night!) Cozumelinsider.com will give you the cruise ship schedule so you can avoid the crowds in town. When they leave, you have the place to yourself. We come to Cozumel to dive (fourth trip in 12 months) and are not looking for a 'resort.' We get a great dive package from Sea Robin (searobincozumel.com) And, we HIGHLY recomment them! Also, the grouper at the Wet Wendy's bar is great! They say 'beach' on the website but there is only a small strip across the busy street. We are planning another dive trip in Sept. and will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    310
    64
    28
    17
See reviews for
151
504
100
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Clean, comfortable, in the heart of downtown. A little loud and congested.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are ideal (only 20 of them though); they are quieter. Rooms toward the south corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapp0059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosemount
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just got back 4/9/12. We stayed a full week. This place is very clean and the people work very hard to keep it that way.
A very nicely designed building. I would suggest you try to get a ocean veiw room on the 3rd,4th or 5th floor.
Only problem I had we that the ice machine broke down 1/2 way thru the week.
I would stay there again if i do that type of vacation again.
We usually do an all inclusive.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Spent 7 days at Casa Mexicana.

Pros:
1. Convenient to downtown shops and such.
2. Clean.
3. Convenient if you are using Aqua Safari dive shop

Cons:
1. Pillows are hard as a rock. I still have a stiff neck from using these bricks.
2. The buffet. I only had stomach issues when I ate the morning buffet. Don't understand why everyone raves about this. It was pretty nasty.
3. It gets loud early in the morning (6am) when they are setting up the buffet...I mean, really loud.
4. Be sure to pay in CASH based on your quote. You will be quoted in USD only to use your credit card and find out they are using an absurd exchange rate to convert your payment into pesos.

Overall, if it is your first time to Cozumel and you want to hoof it around, this is a fine place to stay. Take your own pillow though! For your next trip, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the ocean view. It isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Had to fly here to meet up with honeymoon cruise we missed in New Orleans the day before.(Thanks American Airlines) Royal Carribbean Emergency Travel team was a godsend and helped us catch up with our cruise and even gave us Hotel names to check out. Casa Mexicana Cozumel is a real gem. The staff was friendly and very courtious. greeted us with cold towles, and a welcome drink.Our room overlooked a courtyard that held a free Breakfast the following morning (Great breakfast and the service was grand)and you could see the Carribean from our room. We arrived on a Sunday and most places were closed but we still found plenty to eat drink and be merry about!!! 4 stars from us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickczap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
5.7 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.8 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
13.0 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,137 reviews
5.6 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,780 - ₹ 8,463
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing