We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean, GREAT Staff, and great location for exploring town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, GREAT Staff, and great location for exploring town”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

TRAVELLED FROM 3/2/12 - 3/7/12
We took a quick trip to Cozumel just for a getaway. Normally we stay longer, but this time we had limited time to get away before work obligations had us back home.We have been to Cozumel 4 times and have done some fairly exstensive travel throughout the Carribean. Most of the reviews you read for this hotel are spot on. I was very surprised at how nice the hotel was for the price we paid. We went into this trip trying for a change of pace from our "normal" vacation...here are some details so you can make sure you are booking what you are looking for.
We decided that we were getting away from the all-inclusive, eat at the same place all week kind of place and wanted to explore town. In the past the only amount of the town we experienced was the outer edge when we fueled up a rented vehicle. This hotel sits across the street from the ocean with a small area accessible for snorkelling. This is not a beach area, but rather a pier area that you can jump into or wade into from the edge of the ocean. You can walk from Casa Mexicana to every place in the "tourist area" in town and you will see 1 or 2 cruise ships at the dock not far from the hotel. It is also an easy walk to the ferry to Playa del Carmen. (one note on the ferry...there are two companies to buy ferry tickets from...do not buy a round trip fare before you leave. Buy one way and then upon return, buy the other. Otherwise you may end up waiting for the ferry from the company you purchased from for your return). We did a lot of walking exploring all the shops and walking away from the busy main street area to the smaller shops and many small convenience stores. There is a Mega grocery store a short walk above the hotel as well, so we got some salsa, drinks and chips to snack on in the room in the evening. The mini fridge in the room was perfect for keeping a couple drinks and the salsa. We rented a car for a day and did our normal lap around the island exploring and enjoying some of the sights and food on the back side of Cozumel.
The breakfast buffet included in our reservation was very good. You will quickly learn which person on the grill makes the best pancakes (and the pancakes are incredible) but all the staff is friendly and helpful.
Our one huge pet peeve when we travel is that a place must be clean, and Casa Mexicana is a VERY CLEAN hotel. I mean clean.We were impressed! As many have mentioned, the pool is very small and quite cold, but I was in for an hours just kind of looking out over the ocean and it was relaxing.
In conclusion, it is always important to gear where you stay to what you intend on doing. This a a nice (not rundown) hotel pretty much in the heart of anything you would want to do in town. You are not going to have the pristine beach or 5 restaurants in the hotel (there are a TON of places to go eat..) so don't knock the hotel for what it is not. This is a fairly inexpensive place that is ideally situated to give you all the enjoyment of the tourist area of Cozumel!
One note...you get a 15% discount and 3 restaurants (this is on the back of your room key/card) One of those places is Palmera's (it's right across from the dock where you get the ferry to Playa del Carmen). The meal at Palmera's was FABULOUS!!! and with the discount was a great buy. We also recommend finding the Burgeur House (their spelling). This is literally an 8x8 little stand with a small amount of seating. Ask around it's on a back street about a block and a half from the main street. Place has great burgers and fries! That being said, there is a place across the street from there called Sabores that we were told was run by the same family, Sabores we did not enjoy.
Have a great time in Cozumel!!

Room Tip: If the view from your room is important then get the ocean view, if you don't spend much time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pugpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    310
    64
    28
    17
See reviews for
151
504
100
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband & I just returned from a weekend in Cozumel. This is about our 8th trip to Cozumel but our first time staying at the Casa Mexicana, and what a GREAT find it was. The hotel is very nice & very clean, staff is very friendly & helpful, and breakfast buffet is excellent. The beds are very comfortable. There is a nice ocean view from the pool, and a bar at the pool. This is an ideal location, as it is in close proximity to the town square. This will definitely be our new home away from home. I highly recommend this hotel for your next trip to Cozumel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Lake, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was our first time staying at Casa Mexicana. Stayed for 7 days end of February. We have been to Cozumel 5 times. Love it here. We had a room on 4 th floor, had balcony looking out at the Sea. Enjoyed watching the cruise ships and boats come in. Worth the extra $. The hotel was very clean and beds were very comfortable. Enjoyed seeing what animal, made out of towels was put on our bed everyday. The buffet breakfast was awesome. Jamie and his staff do a wonderful job. Made to order what ever you want. The hotel is near downtown, which we like, near many shops and restaurants. You need to rent a car or take a taxi, to get to the other side of the island. To enjoy the view and beach bars. We will consider staying here again next year.

Room Tip: We liked having a balcony, looking out at the sea. Near a pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latimer, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Feb. The pool was closed but the view was great from the bar and balcony looking out over the ocean. Close to everything downtown. It was very quite and the beds were very comfortable. 100.00 a night got you a nice room and complimentry breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jules201106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plano, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is the second year in a row that we've stayed at Casa Mexicana because we scuba dive and this hotel is perfect for what we need. The rooms are clean, the views from the hotel are breathtaking and the balcony overlooks the ocean. We can't say enough great things about it. Their staff is beyond friendly and at your beckoned call. We were there for Carnival and they gave everyone masks that they personally made. Each day that have a creative towel animal to greet you when you walk in your room. Additionally, Jaime is such a wonderful asset to the hotel that he makes our stay so enjoyable. He's very personable and a genuine person. We ate lobster (at Lobsteria down the street which was AWESOME) and Jaime offered to heat it up for us for breakfast this morning. The breakfast is beyond fabulous and made to order. Jaime always seem to go the extra mile and you can tell he just wants his guests to feel at home. His staff is the same way. Thank you Jaime for such a wonderful stay. We will see you next year and I'm sure other guests love you just as much as we do. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugsmom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
5.7 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.8 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
13.0 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,133 reviews
5.6 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,844 - ₹ 8,591
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing