We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat in Cozumel!”

Chocolates Kaokao Factory tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 20.00*
and up
Kaokao Factory Chocolate Tour
Ranked #19 of 279 Tours in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The visit of our small family chocolate factory consists of 3 parts: 1/History of chocolate at mayan times: An overview of importance of the cacao seed for Mayan Civilization, Discover the tools used by mayans to make the sacred beverage: "chocolhaa" (hot cocoa). In Air conditionned small museum room . 2/Craft your own chocolate Live the experience of grinding cacao beans with an authentic chocolate mexican mill to craft your drinking chocolate mix to take back home.In a different room. The grinding activity does not allowed the air conditioning. 3/ Tasting All along the tour you will try the different flavors of the cacao during its process (cacao beans, cacao paste and all our finished products) . You still will have time to shop at our air conditioned gift store. During the visit, from the grounds, you can discover the chocolate process through windows : chocolate making room and wrapping room. Accessible for wheel chairs in all areas.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A treat in Cozumel!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was a different and fun tour. One of the owners gave our tour which included an interesting history of chocolate with explanation of various tools used. We tasted cocoa beans and then went to another small room to experience the process of grinding cocoa beans into something you can use to flavor drinks. It was fun to get to be involved and we all took home a small sample. The tour also included a small chocolate bar, but we stocked up for gifts to take home too. It took about an hour. Be sure to make a reservation and don't miss this tour!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bjaindt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    76
    11
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cockeysville
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was a cute tour. Informative and pleasant. Chocolate was good. Learned and had fun. $10 each includes small container of great chocolate to add to warm drink, like coffee, and a chocolate bar.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JV G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Making chocolate”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

While on a Disney cruise, my 8 y/o granddaughter and I went to the Kaokao Chocolate Factory to learn to make chocolate. It was the most interesting part of our whole trip. There were 5 of us in the group tour and it was outstanding. The owner of the factory was our guide and he was the most excellent instructor I have encountered anywhere (and I have a PHD in education). He engaged out 5 senses throughout the demonstration. During the actual making of the chocolate, DGD ground the cocoa beans and we tasted at each stage of the making and had a sample to take with us. It is a small, intimate setting and I recommend it for people of all ages.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenthereNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Heavenly Chocolate Factory”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We took a cab to the factory and were met by one of the owners for the tour. He explained the history of chocolate and showed us various containers used to drink chocolate. We then went to another room and made our own chocolate mix we took home to make our own hot chocolate. We also had samples of all the flavored chocolates they make. They have a great supply on hand and we bought a boatload as his prices were less than other shops. I had tried the sugar-free and it is exceptional! He also has a special package for the dark chocolate showing a Mayan and the pyramid at Chichen Itza for the Dec 2012 "happening".... Def worth the $10, you need a reservation, there's a WC and they take plastic.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We arrived an hour early for our tour as I didn't know how long a taxi ride would take. They were so wonderful, they talked to us and then started our tour. We learned so much. It was fun making our own chocolate to bring home. We hope to return in the future and see how they have grown.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LHA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolates Kaokao Factory tour also viewed

 

Been to Chocolates Kaokao Factory tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing