We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tour on Cozumel”

Chocolates Kaokao Factory tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 20.00*
and up
Kaokao Factory Chocolate Tour
Ranked #20 of 281 Tours in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The visit of our small family chocolate factory consists of 3 parts: 1/History of chocolate at mayan times: An overview of importance of the cacao seed for Mayan Civilization, Discover the tools used by mayans to make the sacred beverage: "chocolhaa" (hot cocoa). In Air conditionned small museum room . 2/Craft your own chocolate Live the experience of grinding cacao beans with an authentic chocolate mexican mill to craft your drinking chocolate mix to take back home.In a different room. The grinding activity does not allowed the air conditioning. 3/ Tasting All along the tour you will try the different flavors of the cacao during its process (cacao beans, cacao paste and all our finished products) . You still will have time to shop at our air conditioned gift store. During the visit, from the grounds, you can discover the chocolate process through windows : chocolate making room and wrapping room. Accessible for wheel chairs in all areas.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour on Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My family of 6 (ages 73,72,44,43,16,& 14) had such a wonderful experience here that I highly recommend adding it to your trip to Cozumel. Joseph and Maryline were perfect hosts. Maryline greeted us by name as we arrived and explained how she was the one who answered my request for the reservation. Their hospitality is second to none. Joseph's presentation was animated and kept us all interested for the entire tour. We learned so much about the history of chocolate and how it relates to the Mayan people. The chocolate was delicios and were glad we bought some extra to bring home with us. The price was reasonable, and an experience none of us will ever forget.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraMce91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    74
    11
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Passion for chocolate!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a history lesson and a tour of the senses. Joseph and his wife are very passionate about what they do, and it shows. They welcome you in and treat you like you are family. My mother is disabled and he did everything he could to accommodate her and her scooter. You will learn the history of chocolate... and then you will taste and smell many types of chocolate. $10 USD entry fee.. but you receive a small chocolate bar of your choice free at the end of the tour. Very very good handmade artisanal chocolate. Worth the taxi ride from the port... besides, who wants to stay on the port????

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chocolates Kaokao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Looking for things to do in Cozumel that was NOT an over priced, long wait-short time to play, excursion sold by the cruise ship. We found through the trip advisor, a chocolate factory in Cozumel that seemed interesting. Once off the ship we hired a taxi who took us right there (within 10 minutes of debarking) We found the factory to be right in the heart of Cozumel, authentic, no hype, and very interesting. The guide lectured on the history of chocolate and the Mayan culture, used visual aids such as the cocoa beans, how it was heated and crushed, mixed with natural ingredients and ground into chocolate..... This is a must for anyone visiting the area. If the cruise line organized this as an "excursion", It would be a couple of hundred bucks, take all day long to get there and 10 minutes of actual time at the factory..... doing it on your own gives you a nice 20 min ride ($4 for the taxi), an unhurried tour and hands on experience in making real chocolate by scratch.

You'll have plenty of time to tour Cozumel and enjoy the 6-8 hours before getting back on ship.

The chocolate is excellent, we bought quite a few bars.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth seeking out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We tracked this down after reading some of these reviews - really interesting and very tasty.

It is well worth the small extra effort to find - having the address on my phone meant the taxi could take us and then the owner organised for it to return to fetch us and hr and half later.

Came away with an understanding of this aspect of Mayan culture plus some Chocolate we had made - to make into drinking chocolate plus various goodies.
I also bought honey from there - was asking about best place to get the local honey which is particularly good -don't worry he said - "I have island honey for one of our products" was the reply - they promptly bottled some up and for £3 I had my jar. i was also asking about buying good Vanilla extract - again a surprising answer- don't buy it - make it! He had pods on sale of local vanilla which I had already bought - simply add to vodka or white rum and leave for 5 weeks!

For a local touch and taste - don't miss this visit - use their website to make a reservation and off you go

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank amfarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An hour in a living room.....yawn....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Not a tour but a guy enthusiastically giving out some kind of dodgy history of chocolate with some pretty lame props. Young kids will enjoy it but it is not a tour at all. You get a free chocolate bar with your $10 fee .... and the chance to buy more. The speaker is good but sitting in a stuffy room for an hour is not what we had in mind....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank zialater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolates Kaokao Factory tour also viewed

 

Been to Chocolates Kaokao Factory tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing