We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This was a great tour.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chocolates Kaokao Factory tour

Chocolates Kaokao Factory tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 20.00*
and up
Kaokao Factory Chocolate Tour
Ranked #17 of 276 Tours in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The visit of our small family chocolate factory consists of 3 parts: 1/History of chocolate at mayan times: An overview of importance of the cacao seed for Mayan Civilization, Discover the tools used by mayans to make the sacred beverage: "chocolhaa" (hot cocoa). In Air conditionned small museum room . 2/Craft your own chocolate Live the experience of grinding cacao beans with an authentic chocolate mexican mill to craft your drinking chocolate mix to take back home.In a different room. The grinding activity does not allowed the air conditioning. 3/ Tasting All along the tour you will try the different flavors of the cacao during its process (cacao beans, cacao paste and all our finished products) . You still will have time to shop at our air conditioned gift store. During the visit, from the grounds, you can discover the chocolate process through windows : chocolate making room and wrapping room. Accessible for wheel chairs in all areas.
Grimes, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This was a great tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Not only do you learn about Chocolate but you gain Mayan history and the connection to the gold (Chocolate) of the Maya.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mikesocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    73
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We very much enjoyed our tour of their little chocolate factory. They were such a warm and friendly couple, we could have spent hours just chatting with them. Now that we're back at home, we've been savoring the chocolate bars we brought home with us. We also brought home the ground up chocolate and cinammon that I was able to grind myself and it made a wonderful warm chocolate drink when added to soy milk.

When they found out that I make fudge they gave me a bag of ground up cocoa nibs to add to my next batch. I look forward to trying that as well.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seekonk, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great alternative to the beach clubs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Maryline and her husband have a passion for chocolate and it's history. A "hands on" tour of their small chocolate manufacturing process was enjoyed by myself, wife and teen aged daughters. A definite must for Cozumel.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic passionate choclatiers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We discovered this place via TripAdvisor as we looked for how to prioritize our brief stop in Cozumel during a Caribbean cruise. It was a delightful alternative to the commercial shopping experience downtown and we felt honored they opened their small factory facility to tourists. This is the real deal! Its a small production company focused on high quality Mexican grown cacao, and distributed only in the Caribbean. The tour included some informative history on chocolate in Mexico, and then a demonstration of the grinding and manufacturing process. For $10 US each, which included a souvenir chocolate bar and the chance to buy their products in the shop at the best prices, it was incredible value and a great experience. You can't book this through the cruise excursion desk - only by contacting them directly. One word of caution - its not easy finding a local cab driver to take you there from the cruise port. Though its only a 10min drive from the waterfront, and we had a map and printed address, our driver couldn't read and wasn't local so got frustrated and charged us more than the taxi director informed us it would be.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank vancityrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancock, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The owners of Chocolates Kaokao started offering tours when people began showing up at the factory wanting to see it. They are a French / Mexican couple who are passionate about chocolate and Mayan history. The tour is small and personal - it must be since the factory is also small. They make their own chocolate from beans to finished product and are therefore extremely knowledgeable about the entire process. You get to make your own Mexican drinking chocolate (the original way chocolate was consumed) and to sample their full range of products. The US$10 fee includes your drinking chocolate to take home and a chocolate bar in your choice of flavor. They're planning to expand the tour over time so it's more engaging for small children and to allow more hands-on chocolate-making. I'll go again when we have guests on the island.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolates Kaokao Factory tour also viewed

 

Been to Chocolates Kaokao Factory tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing