We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TARANTULAS!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TARANTULAS!!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2007

We had a family of 12 holiday this year for 2 weeks. The Hotel facilities were great but overall our family rated the rooms 3 star or below. Altough the hotel is great the smell of the flamingos were below our standards, and our standards are very low.
If you want to go somewhere try gran bahia principe.It is 10000000% better.

p.s: in cozumel there are turrantulas.
The Family

xxxxxxx

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLuvvaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,017
    1,772
    627
    227
    112
See reviews for
1,422
1,755
92
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2007

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon Aug. 13-17, right before Hurricane Dean. Glad to read there was not much damage.

The grounds on this place are fabulous, it was so enjoyable to walk to the restaurants and pools, you never knew what sort of animal you were going to see. And the flowers were amazing.

The food was very good, I was worried having been to Cancun and not impressed with the food there. But I was beyond happy. If you go to the restaurants with reservations, the Mexican is a must. I tried to get us reservations a second night I enjoyed it so much.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. And the rooms were clean and nice, not huge, but you don't spend much time in the rooms.

We took a catamaran out one afternoon to snorkel, and they put up the sail to come back while the sun was setting. It was the highlight of our trip. I was not into the diving, I know that is what a lot of people go there for. But enjoyed the snorkeling so much that I would go back for that alone.

It is a great resort, you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — The amazing grounds
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mrhain0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

This was my second time their this year and I travel very often and have to say Mr. Ricardo Dominguez the general manager runs the place like he owns it. The resort and rooms are clean even the bath room near the pool is very clean. The food is very good normally when I travel I go out to try the local foods but was not able to pull myself out to dine of the resort. There is a nice verity of high quality foods breakfast lunch and dinner. The service is great and very friendly the only bad apple at this well run resort is one person at the dive shop named Sophie. I can not believe that Dressel divers would have such a negative, rude and argumentative person on their team. When I arrived I just wanted to get my pony bottle filled and stated I wanted to pay to have it done. Sophie asked me whom I was diving with and I said well on my last trip I dove with them and Deep Blue which is located in town and that’s what I wanted to do again. In front of her clients she forced me to say why I was diving with deep blue and had to tell her they do advanced dives and go to sites they do not or will not do the deep dives like Deep Blue will. She was so rude that I told her I was going to email Mr. Dressel and she said that she did not care and I have to tell you that it shows. The manager at the dive shop told her to stop and she just kept making faces and shouting out rude statements. I will be returning to the resort in the next month or so but will not be doing any dives with Dressel divers if Sophie is still an employee of the dive shop.
Frank Gilligan

  • Liked — Clean and great house keeping
  • Disliked — it had to end
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Frankie08721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2007

We stayed 4 nights at the IB Cozumel, beginning July 15. My husband and I went alone for a small getaway. Overall, the resort was very nice. The resort is very spread out, which gives it a nice secluded feel, however there is quite a bit of walking between restaurant, pool, room, dive shop, etc. The grounds were beautiful and full of peacocks, iguanas, flamingos and foliage which did make the walks pleasant.

Food: Pretty good. after day 3 it all felt a little repetitive. We had reservations at the Mexican restaurant and the steakhouse. Both were nice and the food was tasty. We did walk 50 yards down the beach and ate at Albertos which was excellent!

Rooms: Small, but sufficient. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway so this was not a big deal. Had we brought the kids, we would have preferred the rooms be bigger. Our housekeeping was very gracious and kept the fridge full. We tipped her $2 one day and she seemed thrilled!

Pool: The pool is plenty big and lots of room for playing, relaxing etc. There is a nice shallow end about 1 ft. deep for small kids.

Activities: We took the snorkel trip through the dive shop. They were all very professional and fun! We enjoyed this very much. We took the catamaran out one morning which was pretty fun too. There are activities scheduled all throughout the day to suit all tastes. Water aerobics, dance lessons, pool games, archery. We also rented a jeep at the resort and did our own thing one day instead of booking a tour. It was cheaper and in our opinion more fun. We went downtown, to Punta Sur (beautiful beach area) and just around the island in general stopping at some of the local places.

Beach: Water shoes recommended if walking into the water. My husband actually tore his shoe on a piece of coral, so it is pretty rough. However, they do have a ladder on the pier which we found a much better way to enter the water! The sand is fine to walk in bare feet on.

Service was great at the resort and everyone was very friendly.
Yes there was a smell, but only by the tennis courts which you have to go out of your way to get to.
Yes, there were ants in our bathroom, but they were tiny and not bothersome and very few.
Only negative: We requested a King bed and were given 2 doubles. We asked to be changed and they did the next day as soon as one came available. David the bellboy husseled and carted our luggage around for us up and down stairs without complaint. He was great!

We would definitely recommend this resort. Not sure if we sould bring the kids back (they are 2 and 4). Would probably find a more child friendly resort (not much for young kids to do) or wait until they were a little older. Had it been our first trip to an AI we probably would have given it 5 stars, but in comparison to 2 others we've been to we are giving it 4.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank TKJN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

We took a family trip with my parents, my brother, and his wife. The trip was for 5 days. This was an excellent deal. All-inclusive.
We had all been to Cancun before and were excited about seeing Cozumel.
We all loved the privacy the bungalos offered. There are 4 apartments to each bungalo. We had 3 of the 4 and felt like it was our own little home. The showers were clean and large. The A/C worked well. There is a motion detector switch that starts the fans and the A/C.
Service in the common areas was great. We felt very pampered.
My sister and law and I went to the spa. The prices were very compatable ($90 for a message). Great experience.
The food is average. They prepare for many types of palates. Not very tasty, but it was all inclusive.
There is a pier to access the charters right on hotel property. The fish were everywhere around the pier. Fun snorkeling right on the property. It was very convenient to get on the charters and they were reasonably priced. We went snorkeling one day and had a great time. The reefs in Cozumel are much nicer than in Cancun.
There was entertainment each night. Sometimes it was a little hokey, but fun was had by all.

  • Liked — Privacy.
  • Disliked — The food.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank scoutmomsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
11.4 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
17.0 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
990 reviews
4.2 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
16.2 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
3,602 reviews
4.0 km away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 51 in Cozumel
3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Property: Iberostar Cozumel
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,653 - ₹ 20,343
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing