We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,468)
Filter reviews
5,468 results
Traveller rating
2,413
1,993
693
251
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,413
1,993
693
251
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsdressel diverspink flamingosfishsteak restaurantwater shoestenderloindive shoptex mexrooms are smallswim up barsand fleasspecialty restaurantsrocky beachother resortsmain buffetshows at night
Filter
Updating list...
1,155 - 1,160 of 5,468 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We recently returned from a 7 day 7 night trip to the Iberostar. First off the staff is absolutely amazing. I only had two real complaints. The rooms all had a musty smell to them due to the humidity. We did find out that you can request a filter change and they can do that for you. A personal complaint was that they didn't have Corona however Alberto's Beach Bar just down the beach had a plentiful supply of beverages and a great menu. Free WIFI on the entire resort was a definite plus loved that aspect.

The only other thing that was a split decision between my fiance and I she didn't like the hut style rooms I didn't really care. The rooms were exceptionally clean though besides the musty smell and dampness all the time.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for letting us be your hosts in your recent vacation and also for your constructive comments.

It made us happy to read a review that describes our staff as the best, friendliest and most welcoming is truly a wonderful compliment. We can assure you it has brought a big smile to all their faces, as they all read these reviews with great interest.

On the other hand, we are sorry about the inconveniences described; unfortunately because of our tropical climate, all areas, including rooms, get the humidity that temporarily causes the smell of damp because Cozumel has an average humidity of 85% .

We feel delighted to have contributed to your pleasant holidays and we really appreciate your recognition of some of our services including our WIFI, did the upgrade the last November and now is free.

Be assured that there will always be a warm welcome waiting for you and your fiance at any IBEROSTAR, your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016

We visited here on our Spring Break with our two teen aged children this past March. We had a wonderful time! Beautiful, extremely clean, well maintained and lush property - love staying in the separate bungalows - very clean and comfortable. The staff was attentive, friendly, and very accommodating. We enjoyed the pool games and had a great scuba diving experience with the staff. The food was superb for an all-inclusive. Always enough variety and so many drinks to choose from as well. Mom and Dad were too tired to go to the shows, but our teenagers really enjoyed them. Super Fun Vacation - wish we didn't have to leave!

Stayed: March 2016
3  Thank Lea701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. It is wonderful to read we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

It is a cause of satisfaction to know that we could meet your expectations during your spring break vacation in Cozumel with your family. Thank you for your warm comment about our delicious gastronomy and entertainment but furthermore for recognizing our team’s passion for customer service; we will send the comments to the staff so they know that their efforts are being rewarded.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for third time.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We were at the Iberostar from March 2 until March 14, 2016. The only big minus is you cannot walk into the water from the beach. Even going into the water off the dock isn't adequate. So that was a very big bummer. However, the rest of the experience was lovely because the hospitality of every single staff member was wonderful.The food was very good. The entertainment was not high end but very fun.We won't go back because of the beach, but we will definitely try another Iberostar location. A class act.

Room Tip: We moved closer to the pool and we were glad we did.The view was much better.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you in your vacation at our beautiful resort IBEROSTAR Cozumel. All guest opinions are very important to us, that is why we thank you for sharing your thoughts our services and facilities.

We were delighted to provide you an nice holiday and are also pleased to read that you were happy with our staff, services, cozy rooms, the beautiful wildlife and our beautiful grounds.

Our beautiful property is imbedded in the natural environment which allows a lot of local wildlife. Furthermore, we are located within the Cozumel Marine Park which gives our guests the opportunity of having a coral reef right in front of the hotel. This environment also prohibits any kind of modification to its natural form, therefore the entrance to the water is a bit rocky. We do however provide a pier for convenient entrance into the water for our valued guests.

Thank you once more for your visit and review; we would be delighted to accommodate you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.

Respectfully yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We were very happy with our experience at the Iberstar Cozumel. We booked the Junior Suit with the ocean front view. it was amazing! The room was perfect- air worked wonderfully and the showers were hot. Oh did i mention we slept like babies the bed was so comfy. The maid service was awesome too! We had a private pool and our own beach front chairs if we wanted them. The refrigerator was always stocked with water, beer and pop.
We had our own Tequila guy - loved him - he was everywhere and we had our drinks before we even had to ask they remember everything!
We took in the nightly shows at 9:30. We liked them all but loved the Beach fire show the best! That is a must see for sure. Get there early or you will not find a chair. The Star Friends were amazing dancers and always put on a good show.
We are nature people so we loved all the animals and birds on the grounds. The Peacock put on a show for us many of times. We saw iguanas, flamingos, turtles,parrots, lots of cats, pigs, and many cool birds
We took a snorkeling tour with the Dressel Dive Shop right on the resort. Very nice people and they were always busy. We got to wear wet suits so we didn't get cold They also take very good care of you. We saw a sea turtle, shark, stingray, moray ell, baracudas, and a lot of cool and pretty fish. I would recommend them very highly.

The resort is small and cozy just the way we like it. All the staff work so hard for you so you have the best time possible. We never saw one that didn't greet us with a smile. We loved this place and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: 8922 was the best! Ocean view beach front and private pool
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Terri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful 5 star review on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Cozumel, we are delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with a relaxing and regenerating holiday experience in Cozumel.

Your excellent comment about our resort make us feel proud of our service, we will send your comment to our General Manager in order to they know that we are on the right path and keep working to provide always the best.

Once again, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and provide you with another enjoyable IBEROSTAR experience

Cordially yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We've stayed at this resort three times before, and the food had always been good. There's a new Executive Chef (Claudio) and he's taken the food from good to GREAT. The selections in the specialty restaurants was superb and the buffets were super-fresh and tasty also.

I'd highly recommend this resort for couples or families who want to visit Cozumel and not have to put up with the hustle and buzz of the downtown area. The resort is located in the quiet southern part of the island, but still only a 20 minute cab ride to the center of San Miguel for Senior Frog, Margaritaville, and shopping (if that's your thing). We like the quiet. There's no one selling trinkets or chasing you down on the beach to buy stuff.

There's entertainment every evening which is pretty nice. And as much food & booze as you want pretty much all the time. What's not to like?

We are scuba divers and really like the Dressel Divers operation which is right on-site just steps from the rooms.

Room Tip: Try the fun variety of specialty drinks
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karioris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review which you have shared with other travelers. On behalf of our Management and staff we want to say it was a great honor to have served you again for third time

Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.

Moreover we would like to thank you for your highlights on our restaurants and are very pleased to read that you particularly enjoyed the gastronomy, we will glad to forward your comment at or executive Chef Claudio, who is always attentive to the quality of the food.

Thank you so much not only for your comments to us but also for your loyalty to our hotel we look forward to welcome you back for your next vacations.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews