We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Italian food”
Review of New Especias

New Especias
Ranked #103 of 458 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An Authentic and Cozy Italian Restaurant in the Wonderful Cozumel Island!!! (We moved from ITALIANINI!!!)
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Wow, best meal we had the entire 2 weeks in Cozumel. Fresh pasta, great drinks (house peach wine), delicious desserts, and great service all at a very reasonable price. We will be back once more before we head home.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017

We usually stay in Cozumel 8-9 days and we actually plan our trip around which night, and how many times are we going to eat here. This particular night the weather had been a little rainy, but it looked like it was going to be nice so we chose seats on the patio. Not 5 minutes later it started to sprinkle and the staff were amazing to immediately relocate us inside. Within minutes it was a downpour! No worries, inside is just as cozy and welcoming, and the food smelled amazing, and we could watch the chefs hard at work preparing our food. The one reason we love this place so much is their consistency. The food is alway prepared perfectly, and the staff is over the top to service you. My husband had the catch of the day, and I, as always, had the lasagna. Everything was perfect! If you haven't been here, you are missing out on an overall amazing experience.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank purple79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Just GO! It was our best dinner on the island. Had we gone early in our trip, we would have went back twice. Very well done inside and the food is awesome. One tip. be sure to order the Tuna rare, it was served a little well done for our taste, but overall it's was a really good experience. I had the grouper special with prawns and clams.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank A-Steel-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

We've been to the New Especias many times over the years, and have always regarded it as one of the best restaurants on the island. However, we had a curious experience when we ate there on Thursday. My wife ordered the bacon-wrapped shrimp, which sounded amazing on the menu, and looked even better when served. However, we soon discovered that the shrimp had not been peeled or deveined before being wrapped with the bacon. I'm no chef, but that seems like a fairly big mistake to me. So I looked up 5 different recipes for bacon-wrapped shrimp - all five specified that the shrimp be peeled and deveined before proceeding. Anyway, in order to get to the meat of the shrimp, we had to remove the bacon, peel the little beasts (actually they were quite large), and attempt to remove the vien that was now cooked into the meat. And of course, since the bacon was outside the shell, the flavor of the bacon had not infused into the shrimp. Again, I'm not a chef, but isn't that the point. All in all, it was not a good experience. I still recommend the New Especias. Francesca, the owner, is a great Italian Chef. But if you go, you might want to talk with Francesca about the bacon-wrapped shrimp before you order it.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZM4You, Public Relations Manager at New Especias, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments. We think constructive feedback is very important, and will take your comments very seriously. In the future should you ever have a problem please don't hesitate to talk to Chef Francesco. He would have rectified the situation immediately! Again, our deepest apologies, please come and visit us again on your next visit and we'll make sure you LOVE your shrimp!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

I've ate at this restaurant many times going back to when they were in their old location. The food is fantastic! They focus on Italian Food and it's great. The prices can't be beat. They offer wine and beer as well as non-alcoholic drinks. May I recommend the Peach Wine!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank KAK828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZM4You, Public Relations Manager at New Especias, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you for sharing your review. Chef Francesco - who is from Rome - crafts totally authentic Italian dishes. Did you know that he makes the peach wine in-house??? Thanks for your comments, and please come and visit us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Especias also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to New Especias? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing