We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lowered Expectations”

Blue Angel Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 454 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Great food prepared fresh when ordered - breakfast, lunch or elegant dinners - all with a fantastic view of the ocean.
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at the Blue Angel Resort more than a dozen times beginning in 2000. Ownership has changed 3 times over that period. It’s Mexico, so we’ve always tempered our expectations rather than be disappointed. With that said, our most recent two week experience with the Blue Angel Restaurant was below even lowered expectations.

Breakfast was included in our booking and the food was prepared as expected. But that wasn’t the issue for us. We’d ask for pancakes and then learn they didn’t have any syrup upon serving. So, we bought syrup and brought it each morning. Other guests would ask if we were done with the syrup and disappointed to find out it was ours, not the restaurants. That was sort of awkward, but we dealt with it even though it went on for 10 days.

At lunch we would usually order chicken fajitas and those were always nicely done! Very good. The only exception we had with lunch would be that very often they wouldn’t have guacamole available ( its on the menu and it is Mexico). We also tried their chicken chimichanga but it was mostly dough and not much chicken.

At dinner we learned that the menu was only a suggestion of items that might be available. The server would ask us for our order and we’d find out that numerous items weren’t available upon ordering. Knowing that, one afternoon we called over to find out if lasagna would be available for dinner (it’s on the menu) and after talking with the cooking staff, they told us it would be that evening. We showed up at dinner, sat down, ordered drinks, and when the server came to take our dinner order, what a surprise we had when he said we wouldn’t be getting lasagna. The server knew us and was the one we’d talked to on the phone earlier that afternoon. He was very embarrassed and we left to go down the street to another restaurant where we DID order and were served a very good lasagna.

Thank JeffH3586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2018

The convenience of having this restaurant on site is not lost on divers! It's easy to get your breakfast and make the dive boat, and lunch served to hungry divers upon return!
The menu is varied, authentic, and very flavorful. Friendly staff - good service! Dinner is lovely - usually with entertainment. Great views by the ocean - beautiful sunsets and bebidas! For a change of scenery, try the new Blue AngelTurquoise beach club and bistro down the road.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heide_S55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cozumelangel, Public Relations Manager at Blue Angel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for suggestion our sister properties. We happy you’ve had a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

We frequently visit Cozumel and always try to make it to Blue Angel restaurant. Great views and great music in the evenings. Service has always been good.nThe food and drinks have always been good but this visit the food and drinks did not match we have come to expect from Blue Angel. They did not have beef, shrimp or sopes - which left the choices fairly skimpy. The tortilla soup was cold. The chicken fajitas were unflavorful. The margarita seemed water-downed. If this was our first visit we wouldn't return for dinner. Acoustical guitar music from Abraham was excellent as always.

Thank BigBird57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cozumelangel, Public Relations Manager at Blue Angel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for your honest comments. Please be assured you have our attention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Went for breakfast and were seated with a great view of the water. Ordered the Divers Omelet and the Huevos Divorciados, both of which were very good. Unfortunately the Bloody Marys we ordered first, as soon as we sat down, didn't show up until we were half way through the meal. Had to remind the waiter two times. We also ordered a couple bottles of water while waiting on our drinks. They never showed up. We ended up going over to the bar and getting a couple for ourselves out of the glass cooler. This was a real disappointment as we had such fond memories of staying there 30 years ago when it was called La Perla.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cozumelangel, Public Relations Manager at Blue Angel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Please give us another try. We have excellent reviews and I’d like to believe based on a consensus this is an exception. You definitely got our attention. And we thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

I liked this place because they have good two for one drinks during happy hour. And the appetizers and entree we shared were great. We had calamari, chili rellenos, and fried shrimp. They were all tempura battered, so that was a good change. I will say though, the calamari was excellent. The service was great.

Thank Elli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cozumelangel, Public Relations Manager at Blue Angel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks. We think so too Yum ! Thanks for coming

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Angel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Blue Angel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing