We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Party Central!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barracuda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barracuda
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Vista, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Party Central!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

My husband is a diver and I'm a snorkler, so we thought we'd try the Hotel Barracuda on this trip to Cozumel. My husband had stayed there many years ago on a dive trip, and didn't have very nice things to say about it, but that had been over 20 years ago. I was sure it had been updated since then. Turns out....not so much updating. Just a basic room with 2 double beds. HARD beds. TV, but no remote, no hair dryer, no shampoo; but we did have a small fridge. There is plenty of hot water and clean towels, and all rooms have a spectacular Caribbean/Pool/Bar view. From your balcony you can watch cruise ships come and go, parasailing, Mexican Navy maneuvers and many ocean swimmers and snorkelers. The dive boats will pick you up right behind the hotel, and you can snorkel right off the dock there. The pool is well maintained, food is decent at the pool bar, and the wait staff are friendly and helpful.The hotel houses the No Name Bar which is the gathering place for off-duty cruise ship crew. They are serious about blowing off steam, and the party goes on every day. Good news....they don't generally party late at night. The hotel is in a great location for restaurants, shopping, directly across the street from Mega, the local supermarket. Not a luxury hotel, but if you just want to dive and/or party, the Barracuda is fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwhalen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    53
    47
    10
    14
See reviews for
21
44
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We have stayed at this hotel for going on 11 years. It is great for scuba divers. Dive Paradise picks up up at their pier. Comfortable rooms. No frills. Recently remodeled. Nothing for kids, homeymooners, ect... But perfect for what it is. Also walking distance from town

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavinnailbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Loved the view from my balcony, snorklins, jumping off a sea wall and walking out with concrete steps and a handrail, swim up bar, MEGA store across the street (sells Kirkland products)THE EMPLOYEES REALLY MAKE YOU FEEL COMFORTABLE AND I ALWAYS WANT TO RETURN.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

I have stayed at The 'Cuda many times with my buddies on long weekend dive trips. If you want bang for the buck while diving and having a great time, then this is the place for you. The 'Cuda is not plush, its not fancy, its not high-profile. If you want all that spa-oriented stuff, The 'Cuda is not for you.

If you want a cool, laid back, CLEAN, diver-oriented place to stay that is in town and within walking distance to all the cantinas, then THE 'CUDA IS FOR YOU.

They have no problem with dive boats picking you up on their pier. The Mega store is across the street and all rooms have refrigerators...so you can load up on beer and snacks...no problem.

One bit of advice: Do not eat at the No Name Bar...I got deathly sick there last year. The bar is NOT owned by The 'Cuda...so dont say you were not warned.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScubaMom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

I have been at the Hotel Barracuda since May 1st in Room 103. Absolutely, no sign of bed bugs during my stay. The room was very clean and is kept that way by a very efficient housekeeping staff. The hotel is located close to town. I have truly enjoyed the peace and quiet along with the ability to be able to walk into town. All of the staff has assisted me in every way possible. This is not my first stay. I have been coming here over twenty years and seen many changes over the years. The things that have remained consistant over the years has been the helpful staff, clean rooms and an excellent value. Cheri

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheriDenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.1 km away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
0.0 km away
Safari Inn
Safari Inn
#37 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 km away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.2 km away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.9 km away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barracuda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barracuda

Property: Barracuda
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar 628, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,229 - ₹ 7,299
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barracuda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Barracuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barracuda Hotel Cozumel
Barracuda Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing