We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This small property offers quiet respite. And, we mean quiet. The week we stayed (March 14-21) almost everyone was our age - mid 50s - or older. This suits us fine. There were plenty of screaming college kids on the other end of the island so if we needed a fix of spring breakers we knew where to go - NOT!

The hotel is older and somewhat dated but elegant, the way we picture ourselves. The rooms were clean. We had a suite which was huge. Next time we would probably go for a regular room although we had a spectacular straight-on view of the ocean from Room 216. If you are travelling in a group you might have one couple reserve a suite for gatherinsg and everyone else in a regular room.

The staff - from management to maintenance - was gracious, friendly, warm and happy. Many of them have worked there ten years and more.

The food was good, but not fantastic. We took the all inclusive option and probably did okay what with the afternoons sipping beers and magarittas on the beach and the lunches we had. We quickly tired of eating three meals a day in the same restaurant. A short walk down the beach we discovered Buccanos Beach Club which is open for dinner Friday and Saturday evening and we highly recommend it. We also enjoyed several intown restaurants for lunch and dinner.

We rented a jeep one day and a car another day. A taxi into town was $7 one way.

This was our fourth Mexican vacation and while we loved Cozumel and Playa Azul we think it's a one time vacation spot for us. Cozumel is a diver/snorkeler's dream and we do neither. While I'm perfectly content to lay by the pool and read in the sun hubby gets a little antsy with that after a day or too.

Folks playing golf raved about the course and it is just a couple minutes away by taxi. I would have walked to it if I was going to play. There is a lovely paved, wide bike/walk/job lane that runs the entire seven miles into town. We talked with folks that walked back and forth every day. It's perfectly safe there.

If you are looking for a quiet, out of the way hotel with eager friendly staff we hightly recommend Playa Azul.

Room Tip: The suites have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericangirlMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    173
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
149
282
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just back to the US from my 5th one-week stay in 7 years at Playa Azul and we are already talking about next year. Playa Azul provides a totally relaxing environment with a beach just steps away, every room facing the ocean, great staff and a clean safe at-home feel. This hotel is a great value with full breakfast included, great menu and 18 holes of golf at cart fees only. Whatever you do, be sure to take advantage of the spa specials, you will not regret it. Spend about 1/2 of what they charge at the big hotels on the island for the same treatments, better in fact because the owners and spa staff truly care about your spa experience.
Very close proximity to Downtown and the Airport with low cab fares.
While my boyfriend wished there were better cable TV stations available in the rooms, I found the break from Fox News refreshing. And if I could change one thing, maybe softer towels would be nice but that is not enough to stop me from booking again at Playa Azul anytime we are in Cozumel.

Room Tip: I prefer the 1st floor rooms and being just steps from the beach however the views and privacy on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spabeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was our first stay in Cozumel other than a day trip over on the ferry for snorkelling last year. We loved the laid back atmosphere of the island and we chose Playa Azul based on tripadvisor reviews and for the fact it included golf. I got in touch with the club pro Senor Ivan Cueva before we left to see if we could golf as a twosome and he advised that due to heavy traffic from Cruise lines it would be best if we booked early tee times ie: 6:30 am. The golf course is in amazing shape, the greens are fast (with some diabolical pin placements on some of the par 3's), it's challenging (16,17 and 18 caught us by surprise the first time through!), with a spectacular array of flora and fauna. The club house attendants were courteous and professional. The first time out was brutal but by putting some course management into play on subsequent rounds our scores were back to a respectable level by the end of the week. It was a lot of fun and never boring. We were able to leave our clubs there for the week and caught a taxi for 80 pesos each way (100 with tip). We probably tipped another 100 pesos to the club attendant who retreived our bags and cleaned our clubs and after paying $60 for cart fees it was remarkable value for a course of this calibre and we golfed 7 of the 8 days we were there. There were never any holdups and we were off the course by 9:30-10 am every day. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Thank you Ivan and staff.
So arriving back at the hotel after 10 am each day we missed breakfast but by the second day the staff was waiting for us and had left the omelette station up and had cups of wonderful coffee waiting for us. It was like arriving late for a party but still being treated graciously. The rest of the day was spent lazing on the beach, snorkelling right off the beach, hiking up and down the beach in both directions and catching up on our reading. Never a problem with getting loungers. We didn't know who was registered at the hotel and who wasn't so we couldn't make a distinction between guests using the facilities but everyone we met seemed friendly and as awestruck as we were by the beautiful contrasts of azure skies and sea next to the white sand and limestone outcroppings. Just happy to be there. There was never a problem, period.
Our room was on the third floor and was spacious and very clean with 2 double beds, a nice vanity area with a big closet/storage space with a room safe and an amazing ocean view, both from the room itself and the large balcony. I can't tell you much about it because we were hardly in it! And after a day of golf, sun and snorkelling, we slept well.The shower was large with plentiful hot water and good water pressure. It was perfect for our needs . It was cleaned daily and the maid took extra care in arranging face towels into fanciful shapes.
We had the AI but ate out twice at Kinta in San Miguel (amazing atmosphere and food) and once at Pepes Grill for steak and lobster (so so but with the best caesar salad prepared tableside that I have ever had in my life ) plus went across the street from Playa Azul for the delicious key lime pie everyone raves about. Beware...it's served in a large bowl with a shortbread crust, layered with a bowl full of key lime filling and topped with mounds of meringue. One is enough for two people to share but we ordered 2 and it took forever to eat because it was so good we couldn't leave it but felt like gluttons afterwards. It should also be noted that the food at Playa Azul was delicious and the service was wonderful and attentive.
We rented a jeep from the front desk on the one day we didn't go golfing and drove to San Gervais historical site. It was very interesting. We hadn't been expecting much as everyone around seems to downplay it but it is still an impressive testament to Mayan Civilization and offers further insight into the culture.. We had already visited the larger sites on the mainland on a previous trip so this was a good refresher course and just nice to be able to stroll along ancient paths exploring by ourselves after the guide had finished. We continued on around the island with its hauntingly beautiful stretches of deserted coastline and ended up at the Money Bar for lunch (not on purpose...we missed a stop). Lunch was good though and we snorkelled there as well, but quite frankly, the sealife is just as varied and interesting at Playa Azul as it is in the south end.
On our final day our plane was departing late in the evening and we were offered a hospitality suite on the main floor after check out so we could continue to enjoy our last few hours in paradise. All in all can't say enough nice things about Playa Azul, everyone worked as a team and did their part to make sure we felt welcomed, well fed and happy every minute of our stay. It was like being a guest in somebody's home and we can't wait to go back. We've already decided it's our new "go to" place in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MJButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Had a good week at the resort. I will say that I disagree with another review about not having to rise at the crack of dawn to get a beach chair. I found the opposite to be true. Locals and cruise ship tourists and cruise ship employees all use the beach at the resort, free of charge. So the beach was often crowded and there were rarely any open lounge chairs. And I did witness hotel guests as early as 6 AM claiming a spot on the beach before the cruisers and locals arrived. With that said, it was not an inconvenience to me as I spent every day diving and did not have need for a spot on the beach. There was always a spot open at the beach bar, which was my favorite hang out. Views from the room were awesone. Front desk staff was great. Waiters never actually brought me what I ordered but whatever they brought me was delicious anyway, LOL!. THe chef is fantastic. I think that my orders were just lost in translation. So my only negative thing would be sharing the resort with nonpaying customers (as is the law there).

Room Tip: Upper level for more privacy and better views. First floor if you want to walk right out of your pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mavpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Enjoyed staying at the Playa Azul - it is a nice quaint small hotel on the north side of San Miguel de Cozumel. The hotel is very clean and comfortable with a small pool and right on the the ocean.

Food was excellent, especially for all-inclusive hotel food and the staff was eager to please.

The location is about 3 miles north of town, so if you want to be where the action is, this is definitely not the place. However, if you are looking for a place that's out of the way and somewhat secluded, a very good choice!

My only complaint was that the wi-fi is very slow and very unreliable. Sometimes it worked, sometimes not and when it did, it wasn't speedy.

Overall a nice stay -

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kujhawk91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
10.7 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
5.1 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
5.8 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 km away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,720 reviews
18.1 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
0.5 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,507 - ₹ 17,848
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing