We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good time at Playa Azul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We just returned from a week at Playa Azul; once again it was very nice.Pluses: Great breakfast, the palapa next door has good food and has a local band on Saturday afternoon(that was a lot of fun), Buccanos, right next door, is open Friday & Saturday for dinner(very good)-also, go Sunday for lunch for a locals experience(no cruisers that day),the rooms are very clean & plenty large for a week's stay;some have noted that the rooms are not updated,etc but we have found that not to be the case-however, if your require totally luxurious rooms you may be disappointed, the staff,at all levels,are warm & helpful, as is just about everyone you meet on the island:that is the main reason we continue to come. Minuses: Playa invites cruisers to use the beach & facilities, something that is new since our last visit;this means every day except Sunday the beach will be covered with cruisers from about 10 AM til 4 PM so that peaceful boutique beach experience you paid for will be shared by a lot of extra people; some of whom are loud & obnoxious on a rather small beach. This the only thing that may make us change our minds about returning(still chewing on that one). Drinks are expensive & inconsistent;the ones from the palapa are better & more consistent. Skip the Lobster House: we split a lobster & had 1 beer each but paid more than Buccanos for 2 apps, 2 entrees, a bottle of wine & dessert,each of which was excellent not to mention a much nicer setting. Not sure how Lobster House stays in business selling boiled lobster,rice, & potatos for cash only at premium prices(it's not bad, it's just not wrth it)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 407 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

We chose Playa Azul based on reviews on Trip Advisor, and because we were looking for a small, reasonably priced hotel. There were several things we liked about it, and a few we didn’t.
We chose not to use the All-inclusive option because we wanted try restaurants in San Miguel. Breakfast does come with the room, and was delicious. Fresh fruit, cereal, breads, about 8 hot dishes, plus a chef who would make any breakfast food you want to order- omelets, pancakes, French toast, eggs any style. We ate dinner at the hotel one night, and again – delicious. The restaurant is outdoors, but covered, used for all three meals. There is also a very small (7 tables) indoor restaurant open for dinner only. It uses the same menu, and is elegant.
The location of the hotel has pros and cons. It is on the North shore, which makes it close to the airport, and easy to get to the East coast beaches. It is also close to San Miguel. On the other hand, most of the island attractions are on the south side of the island, so we drove most days.
The staff at the hotel is unfailingly friendly. I cannot emphasize that enough. The grounds are well kept, but the property is small. OK, we wanted a small hotel (it has 50 rooms), but would have enjoyed more beach. Even so, it is never really crowded on the beach, and hardly anyone around the pool. On one side of the hotel is the Playa Azul Beach Club, also small, but you can use this facility and charge to your room. On the other side of the hotel is first a smallish public beach (very quiet), and beyond that another beach club, the Cozumel Caribe, which was very pretty. To use this club you need to pay an entrance fee which is applied to food or beverages. Snorkeling at the hotel was OK, but nothing special. The better snorkeling in the area was in front of the Cozumel Caribe. The north side has fish, but not coral. Places south of town had much better snorkeling.
This hotel appeared to have been built in stages, and our room was in the older building. I’m not sure if our room was typical of any others, but although it was very large, with a big patio, the room itself needed some serious updating. It was very clean, and there was plenty of storage space, but … the shower fixture in particular was pathetic- very little water pressure. Add to that, we had to run the water at least 10 minutes to get hot water, and calling it hot is generous.
This is a very laid back hotel, very relaxing, but unless you play golf (which is free- an incredible bargain) there would be little to do there day after day. If you intend to be on the go, visiting other beaches, snorkel sites, Mayan ruins, etc, as we did, this hotel might fit the bill.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Jan 21-28

Check in was a breeze, we were remembered by many of the staff. We were in our room, changed, then out on the beach within 10 minutes of arrival. We spent most of the week at the hotel just relaxing. From the music at the Beach club on Sunday afternoon to the daily strolls along the beach, it was one of the best times we have had. The weather was perfect all week (tho it did rain on the last day, and it was still beautiful).

Breakfast in morning was great. Fresh fruit, assorted mexican dishes, eggs made to order and hot coffee. Juan and Carlos remember special requests and fulfill them as soon as we were seated (like bringing orange juice to our table after they knew we had it every day). When I needed a knife, Juan brought me a "Cuchilla". He is teaching me spanish :)

The beach is clean, and the adjacent property to the south has even been cleaned of trash and overgrowth. They have added some nice padding to the loungers and they are always available. Out in front of the hotel, a new walking / biking path has been added .

We love the turtles out front during the day, crabs in the same area at night and saw many beautiful birds including a pelican that visited daily. We snorkeled from the southern property Club Cozumel Caribe, past Playa Azul and down to Cozumeleno (the current runs S to N). This hotel is one of the best if you want instant beach / snorkeling access all day.

We went to the Savia Spa on Thursday for a couples massage. The ladies there are wonderful and it was the icing on this trip.

Lunch was very good. Try the Chicken or Tuna Salad in avocado and the Gazpacho (3 different types).

Since the '05 hurricane, the coral is started to come back (purple fan, brain coral and other assorted types). We saw squid, lobster, many barracuda, and all sorts of other fish. Twice - we saw the dolphins swimming past the resort in the afternoon.

We had sunsets almost every night. We went to the bar, ordered Chardonnay and watched them (a pre-dinner ritual).

This hotel is quiet most of the days, getting busier later in the afternoon when the golfers return. We do not golf. We come to this resort because it is small, quiet, clean and very relaxing. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLOMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed at Playa Azul for 3 nights at the beginning of January, Lovely way to get over long flight from the UK. Comfortable room on top floor with great sea view. Quick efficient check in, Delicious breakfasts, great friendly staff. Good snorkelling from beach. Would certainly return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I found this hotel to be quiet and friendly. We stayed for a week in January 2012. Rooms were average, had some cobwebs on the ceiling of our room when we checked in and located a Maid to remove and she did but I did feel like that is something that should have been noticed way before my visit as they were clearly visible and kinda grossed me out right off the bat. Beach is nice and always had chairs available(no need to save a lounger every a.m as you have to at some larger resorts) but I did not like the fact that we got 3 beach towels daily in our room and had to turn in 3 to receive 3 more by the maid when she cleaned. Would be so much nicer to have access to towels all day in the beach area, turn in one get another type thing, rather than having to wait for the maid to replace our towels everyday. $30 fee if you did not turn in your towel daily in your room so I was always worried about leaving my towel on the beach, at the restaurant etc. If you weren't able to get your towel to your room by cleaning time you were using the same beach towel day after day as you didn't get new ones if your old ones weren't there. Need to have an area you can dump towels easily and get new ones. We never used the pool as it was in a spot that didn't receive any sun so the water was very cold. The week we were there I only saw 2 or 3 peope using the pool, most days it was empty. I do think a hot tub would get a lot of use, they should add one! Everyone was very friendly and the resort is very reasonably priced. Other reviewers mentioned golf being $30 but that is when you bring your own clubs, if you need to rent clubs as well a round will cost you $75. Love the Turtle area out front, nice added thing the kids enjoyed every morning. All in all it was a great trip and only would recommend a few easy fixes.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shel0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
10.7 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
5.1 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,115 reviews
5.9 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
18.1 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,265 reviews
22.0 km away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
4,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: ₹ 11,677 - ₹ 16,542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing