We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Purple sea fans

Spent most of a day here. The facilities are a little basic but they have everything you need... read more

Reviewed 21 August 2018
Lynne H
,
Kelowna, Canada
Awesome snorkeling!

We visiting Cozumel while on the Carnival Valor. I had read here on Trip Advisor good reviews of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Shanna G
via mobile
Read all 423 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cozumel
from US$ 49.95
More Info
from US$ 60.00
More Info
from US$ 77.50
More Info
from US$ 77.00
More Info
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
198
101
50
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
101
50
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great snorkeling shore snorkeling fish beach club sea fans food and drinks rent snorkel gear tacos guacamole sky reef deeper water taxi driver clear water cruise ship food was great our waiter beach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visiting Cozumel while on the Carnival Valor. I had read here on Trip Advisor good reviews of Playa Corona. We had visited Cozumel several times in the past so I knew good snorkeling spots but wanted to try a new beach. We traveled with 2 adults and 4 children ages 7-14. We were the first guests at this beach club. We were informed when we arrived that there is usually a fee to snorkel but if we purchased food that would be acceptable. We had our own snorkel gear and only needed a life jacket for the 7 yr old which the host provided at our request. There were only 2 other groups of guests that joined us making it almost like a private beach!! The water was chest high in several areas making it easy for viewing and swimming. When it came time to order, this became the only disappointing time of the day. We ordered 3 meals to share, a plate of chips and guacamole, 5 sodas and one margarita for a total of $87 US dollars. The food was good although the portions were on the smaller side. But all in all we would visit this beach club again. The snorkeling exceeded our expectations. There were clean restroom facilities and the ladies room had a private changing stall. The hosts did not bother us with excessive solicitations to purchase other items. They were friendly and spoke English well. I would recommend this beach club to anyone interested in snorkeling in Cozumel!!

1  Thank Shanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There was only a handful of people there which made it nice for newcomers to snorkeling. Relaxing and pressure free environment to explore the fantastic underwater reefs. Very easy access to the beach. Staff is friendly and helpful, food is delicious and served quick. Perfect experience!

Thank Steve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Willie greeted us as we arrived, said that the cost is $10 per person to use the beach, tables facilities or we could purchase $10 worth of food or drink. Of course we chose to drink and eat. Four ships were in port and there was only one other couple there to start. We had easy access into the water to the National Park area for snorkeling. The water was clear, lots of variety of fish and a nice breeze off the water. We snorkeled first then came back to drinks and food. The guacamole was fresh and tasty. The drinks were nice and cold. The pricing of the food was not bad for Cozumel. We totally enjoyed our visit and would definitely return in the future. Thanks guys for a great time!

Thank carefreebirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We visited Playa Corona two years ago and enjoyed it so much we went back for a second time a couple days ago! Both times we were on a cruise that ported in Cozumel. Each time we rented our own car and drive here. It’s less than a 15 minute drive and right off the main road.

Great service, decent price drinks/food and one of the best relaxing beaches and snorkel areas on the island! They have their own snorkel area that is a couple football fields big. The water is crystal blue with coral reefs, so many fishies!!

A must stop to do some drinking, relaxing and snorkeling!

Thank katyo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

No crowds, no hassle, just good snorkeling, cold drinks, relaxing lounging, and friendly staff. What a great peaceful day we had here during our cruise. Taxi driver ($13 from port) for some reason kept trying to talk us into going next door to SkyReef Beach Club, glad we stayed with Playa Corona. The charge is $10 per person to use the facilities, but if you spend that much on food/drinks there is no charge. So for the price of three beers each we enjoyed the water, lounge chairs and shaded tables right at water's edge. Suggest wearing water shoes, as entering the water via stone steps is a little bit rocky. Saw plenty of colorful fish, corals and also some "tame" eels in the crystal clear water.

Thank mangomanCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Been going and enjoying for 17 years. Today after ordering drinks and snorkeling for an hour. We got the check and was being charged 400 pesos... equal to about $25 for an entry fee. Never have we paid an entry fee and no place is it posted. I told them I've been loyal for 17 years I'll never go back, going to try sky reef next door. Cleaner newer same reef.

Thank TXGal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

I liked it - quiet, relaxing, great food, friendly staff, and far enough south you can still see some coral heads and pretty purple sea fans and anemones

Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Playa Corona was exactly what we were looking for, we are not advanced but wanted to give snorkeling a try. Enjoyed every minute of it and weren't overwhelmed...and the food was terrific!

Thank DBHughes05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Spent most of a day here. The facilities are a little basic but they have everything you need including washrooms and showers. They have tables and chairs under umbrellas as well as beach loungers in the sun. There is no entrance fee but they do ask that you spend a little money on food and drinks to use their facilities. They were OK with us snorkelling first and then having drinks and food. The fun with the animals started before we even got in the water watching the pelicans fish. The snorkelling is great. Not as much coral as other places but they have tons of purple sea fans and tons of fish. The day we went was very calm and the water was crystal clear but they can have a strong current. We saw lots of beautiful fish including angelfish, parrotfish, butterflyfish, needlefish and barracuda. The water is very shallow - 2 ft to about 10 ft - so you have to be careful not to harm the vegetation when you put your feet down. They have a cordoned off area where there are beautiful coral formations right near the shore. You can't swim there but you can get close enough to see the coral and fish. We snorkelled for a total of about 4 hours here and could have stayed longer, there was so much to see. The food and drinks were excellent and very reasonably priced. We had fish ceviche and guacamole. The ceviche was fresh, delicious and so large that we had trouble finishing all of it. We didn't managed to finish the guacamole but not for a lack of trying, it was so good. I love the chips because they're not salty. It was great to be able to shower before getting back in the car. There's a real party place a little further down the beach but I much prefer this place. Great for families. Would definitely go back again.

Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

The Playa Corona Club was mentioned to us on the evening before we were to leave Mexico. We heard how great the snorkeling was so we went first thing in the morning on our last day. I wish we could have found it earlier because it was truly amazing. We recommend spending the day and having a great lunch too.

Thank ChrisR5884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews