We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Randolph, NJ
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“nice little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Charming little hotel with super friendly staff and very well maintained grounds.
Pros: lush grounds, room well appointed, with sufficient storage space, a table and a safe. Swim up bar was nice and a great place to hang out and meet people. Pool/beach towels readily exchanged in the loby with no fuss. Food was tasty. Relative proximity to town and cruise terminal.
We were able to use dive lockers, even though we used a different dive operator.

Cons: Beds are a little too hard for my comfort. Long boat rides (an hour) south to good dive sites. Kitchen staff disorganized and unable to handle a large group. Internet is free, but only in the lobby and on the slow side. No real beach and lounge chairs on the beach side have no padding. (Lounge chairs around the pool do, but have no shade.)

Room Tip: They have cabanas with refrigirators as an upgrade. Rooms on the upper floors have small balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    208
    89
    28
    22
See reviews for
94
146
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Our Diving Group Stayed at this hotel July 2 through July 6. We found the accommodation well worth the cost. It is an all inclusive providing three meals daily with unlimited beverages including bar drinks. The wait staff was prompt and very attentive. The common dining area although not air condition was provided a pleasant gentle sea breeze. The bar located in the dining area has a swim up bar for ordering drinks from pool side. Those in the bar and dining are provided a view of those swimming and relaxing in the sun. The rooms were clean and well lighted cooled by AC. Two draws back must be noted. There are three floors and no elevator. The showers although clean and with plenty of hot water could of had better water pressure. But adequate.

Room Tip: No Elevators if stairs are a problem for you ask for room on lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack-R-3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Casa Del Mar Cozumel was a great place to stay and dive. We stayed from May 30th to June 13th. They cater well to divers. The dive shop was great and scheduled our dives without any problems. We had to be ready to go at 8:00 am and 12:45 pm or we missed the boat. We are pretty laid back on our vacations and really do not like to get up early in the morning and the dive shop we used last year would schedule a dive for about any time of the day. However, we could dive the beach anytime at Casa Del Mar for $5 a tank.

We upgraded to the Superior rooms, but I wished we had gotten the Cabana. The Cabanas have fridges, microwaves and coffee pots and the other rooms do not. The bathrooms do not have fans, only a wood slated window so no airflow, which makes drying off impossible. We really could have used more places to hang towels, swimsuits and dive gear. There is one spot in the bathroom and 3 spots on the balcony to hang things, not enough for 3 people. The ice machine on the 2nd floor must have been broken; you had to go to the restaurant to get ice, which was awkward.

The menu did not offer very many choices but the food was descent. The all-inclusive package would be great for people who drink, but for a family that does not, we felt $39.95 per person per night was steep. We ate at Ernesto’s and Paprika’s for a better price and better food. We also went to town and got a cooler, lunch and snack stuff at the Mega and Chedderaui stores and ate whenever we in town where prices were a lot cheaper. . A gift shop with pop and snack bar would have made a huge difference but we found a little OXXO store just past Paprika’s that came in handy.

They were training new front desk people who did not speak much English, but the bellhop did. It would have been nice to have Wi-Fi in the rooms instead of having to go all the way to the lobby.

Casa Del Mar has their own beach club, but they do not advertise it. They have a van that says Nachi Coccum, but apparently, it is not available for the common people to use and was told we would have to take a taxi to get there.

We got the use of a rental car for 6 days for our 14-day stay. The ad for our package on Vacation Outlet said a free rental car but did not mention how many days or that it was going to cost $17.50 per day for insurance (I should have read the fine print better). I would suggest booking a car rental at the time you book your trip. We could have rented a car for $11.00 per day including insurance when I booked our trip late February. Also at the time of booking, we were supposed to get a $600 resort credit, and free unlimited beach dives which was not the case when we arrived. This was not the hotels fault, but mine for not following up before leaving.

The staff was fantastic! They took very good care of us and they were always very friendly. We would definitely stay a Casa Del Mar again.


The ants and mosquitoes were bad this year so make sure to take insect repellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed June 2 - June 9, it was our 4th stay and we are already planning our 5th! We LOVE, LOVE this hotel & the friendly, helpful staff! The WI-FI was a nice bonus since our last stay & also our room had an in-room safe, which was very convenient. Someone mentioned it is a long walk to town, that depends if you are a walker or not. My husband & I usually take a taxi to town if we are going for dinner & then we walk back (3 miles). We love doing this, makes us feel we burn off some of the calories from the delicious food!! :-) Our package also included the Atlantis Submarine directly across the street. What an added bonus! We thoroughly enjoyed it & highly recommend it. We love coming to Cozumel for just a do nothing vacation, lots of rest, reading, snorkeling, just fun! We never tire of the island!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed May 26-30th. This was our second visit to Casa Del Mar....this time we came with a group from our local Oklahoma dive shop. We had an awesome room on the 3rd floor (awesome when not carrying gear that is) with a wonderful view of the ocean and pool. The staff were wonderful and I recommend the Miami Vice if you like strawberry pina coloda's. We dove with Del Mar Aquatics, conveniently located across the street. The shore dive here is pretty darn good. Did a night shore dive as well. Saw lots of octopus, big puffers and eel right off the shore. The day shore dives are good as well, saw eel, puffers, starfish, yellow rays, peacock flounder and lots of reef fish. The food is decent and the grounds well kept. Ate at La Mission in town our last night....very tasty and inexpensive...highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.4 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.3 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
9.3 km away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.2 km away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort

Property: Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Address: Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,112 - ₹ 9,316
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel is a charming Mexican hideaway facing the magnificent Caribbean Sea. Situated across the main boulevard with 98 comfortable rooms and eight recently restored Deluxe Cabanas, the property is surrounded by beautiful and exotic garden area with a Mexican town feeling. Casa del Mar Cozumel is located two and a half miles south of downtown, less than five minutes away from the famous "Paraiso" reef. Our hotel is ideal for vacation, business, honeymooners and divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Resort Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing