We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Basic Place to Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Martillo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Martillo
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Basic Place to Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Cozumel appears to have evolved to a dual personality of cruise ships and scuba divers. In the past, most visitors came for the diving which is special. It now has attached others that just come to be in a warm climate and Casa Martillo is a great choice for that.

Casa Martillo is safe, clean, and has any basic need you would have for a stay in the warm weather. It has a pool suited for a leisurely dip between sunnys (a word?, if not should be) and reading your trashy novel which you never have time for when working.

Kitchen has basic equipment and you can cook on the grill near the pool. Out by the pool there are chairs and two tables for eating. There is a coffee maker, microwave, stove, and a frig. I found the furniture to be pretty rugged, like the stuff I got as I furnished my first apartment in college but it is clean and there.

Water is heated and water pressure created by pumping water from below to the roof. This process involves a pump in the building which sounds like a plane taking off as it comes on and runs for about 30 minutes. It makes a conversation impossible and in the middle of the night it can be alarming.

The AC works fine but the unit #1 has an odd tapping sound that is easily mistaken for someone at the door and happens night and day. Also a bit alarming in the middle of the night.

Water pressure in hot water is low so if you need a hot shower, take it before you leave home. Some increase can be corrected by the great staff guy but its still more trickle than a shower.

The pool area can turn into your favorite spot and sharing meals with other is quite common. This activity can unfortunately go late so if you have a need for early rising for scuba, tell the manager about it so she can remind people to the 10 PM quiet time rule. It can go on till 1-2 Am if you do not. Manager was super about these things and gets things addressed quickly.

The staff is really nice. They really will do your laundry if you leave it on the floor the same day. They get it when making beds and deliver it in the afternoon. Smile and say Hola 'cause they deserve it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glmorrisiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weaverville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Everything about the place was wonderful.The only detraction was smokers by the BBQ. The smoke from cigars would come right Into the room (#3). I would recommend Casa Martillo for any length of stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryB4701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Casa Martillo is a hacienda style inn with 6 units surrounding a pool with a covered patio and outdoor barbeque area. Each night we would fire up the barbeque and everyone would come down to cook their own dinner and share drinks and stories. It was a great week! The units are clean and very comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped (very nice). The manager is always available and the daily maid service is great. The laundry room has a large tub for rinsing dive gear, plus a place to hang your gear with heavy hangers for wetsuits.

The security for Casa Martillo is outstanding. Your room key opens gates to the patio and laundry room. There is a safe in the room. The area is quite safe and is close to grocery shopping.

Casa Martillo would be great for a small family reunion... just rent all 6 apartments! Rates were very reasonable. David, the owner, emailed us prior to our visit to give us tips on getting around in Cozumel; he sent us our room key and we were able to pay via credit card in the states and did not have to pay international fees.

We plan to return to this little piece of heaven and bring our friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Our group from Ultimate Dive and Travel, in Scottsdale (AZ) has stayed at Casa Martillo quite a number of times and am certain that we'll be back. Six condos surround a pool, patio, palapa, and BBQ. Four of the condos have two bedrooms and two condos have a single bedroom. Each has a full kitchen, dining area, and living room that includes a TV and VCR/DVD. There is a library within the complex that includes a selection of books and videos.

There is a rinse room for scuba gear that also has a washer/dryer, but most of our group just left any laundry in a pile with a few dollars on it and the maids took care of it very quickly. We liked the security of having an in-room safe and the computerized door locks that included secure access to the grounds, condos, and patio. Casa Martillo is located in an upscale neighborhood and close to the waterfront as well as a nearby grocery store/mall. Downtown is a 15-20 walk, but cabs are cheap and very available. The free WiFi was easily available and allowed us to keep in contact with home (not that we really wanted to).

If you are into scuba diving, Cozumel is awesome and Casa Martillo has relationships with several dive operators that makes the inclusion of scuba diving especially affordable. We didn't need much help, but the manager, Marylu, was always available and the owner, David Hammer, is a pleasure to work. We look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc-Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 km away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#9 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.3 km away
Villas El Encanto
Villas El Encanto
#8 of 43 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Villa Deja Blue
Villa Deja Blue
#9 of 43 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.9 km away
Tu Casa B&B Cozumel
Tu Casa B&B Cozumel
#13 of 26 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Costa Brava
Hotel Costa Brava
#20 of 26 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Martillo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Martillo

Property: Casa Martillo
Address: Calle 19 Sur and 15th Ave. Sur, Cozumel, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozumel condo rental. Vacation rentals three blocks from beach. Luxury 2bdrm/2bath and 1bdrm/1bath condos with pool, central air, phone, maids, complete kitchens, dive room, Wifi. Dive packages available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing