We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,581)
Filter reviews
5,581 results
Traveller rating
1,663
1,882
1,019
576
441
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,663
1,882
1,019
576
441
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ultimate dive experience first club fish thatched roof dive shop kids pool the oriental restaurant great beach swim up bar kids club a la carte restaurants family resort picky eater beach volleyball other resorts towel art fire show
Filter
Updating list...
1,302 - 1,307 of 5,581 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We vacationed at the Allegro Cozumel from 3/11-2/18. From the very beginning the staff was very attentive to our needs.
Rooms- I asked for a renovated room and one away from the disco area. Both I highly recommend (unless you like to party all night then by all means go by the disco area). Our renovated room was very nice. I also asked for a nonsmoking room and I guess all the rooms are non-smoking but and this is a big one for us... anyone can smoke outside their rooms. Unfortunately, all our neighbors were smokers. Ugh. So each morning we woke up to cigarette smoke filtering in our room. We tried stuffing the 3/4 inch gap under our door with towels but it was not very effective. My biggest advice to the management is to have some 100% non-smoking rooms and patio areas. Otherwise, we loved the cabana style rooms and the outdoor balcony area with hammocks. It provided extra lounging space.
Another nice feature was the room safes and the fact that they were not an additional charge. The refrigerator was fully stocked with pop, beer and a couple of waters. But it didn't cool very well. The maid service was amazing and did a very thorough cleaning job each day. We asked our maid for additional water as we are not pop drinkers and for the week she supplied us with additional water. Remember to bring lots of dollar bills for tipping.
Money- Discover card is not used very much in Cozumel. Visa or MasterCard is the most frequently accepted. Also if you are planning on going to Chankanaab National Park , only Visa or MasterCard is accepted-not American Express or Discover.
Also, the hotel exchange rate is not as good as in town.(For example, during our stay it was around 16 at the Allegro but in town it was around 18.)
Food- We missed out on reserving our dining at the Italian, Chinese, and Mexican restaurants because we waited too late. The restaurants were pretty much booked by the time we figured out when we would be around. My advice to you is to do it well in advance at least 2 days. But the buffet was good and provided a variety that pleased all of us.
The grounds: We spent most of our time diving, snorkeling and touring the island but we did like being able to swim at the beach and the pools. All areas were very well maintained. At the pool it was difficult to find a shady spot with an umbrella because it seemed the thing to do was "reserve" the spot with a towel by about 9:00 am. A note to management: invest in more umbrella's. Those spots were sought after. We loved the ability to easily rent the equipment. We rented tennis rackets and balls and had a great time at the tennis courts. We also rented the Kayaks and spent an hour or so kayaking in the ocean. That was pretty cool!
The nightly shows were really, really good. I would highly recommend making a point to attending all of them! I couldn't tell you which one I liked better between the live band, the fire show on the beach or the illusionist.
One last thing to note: Do not pay the 81 dollars for the wifi for the week. You will not get it in your room and the only place you can get it is by the lobby. Even there, it was really slow. People told us that the restaurant across the street had wifi but you would have to buy a drink. That would have been a much better option for us.

Stayed: March 2016
2  Thank marsan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Hi marsan0,
We appreciate you have taken the time to post your review, thank you for praising the service, we also appreciate the areas of opportunity you mention and I will ensure we use your feedback to continue on our constant journey to deliver the best service to our guests.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Warm regards!

Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Occidental Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

SInce our last visit (March 2015) the resort has made some improvements. The grounds are still immaculately kept; this year the pools are cleaner & in better condition than last year. The food is definitely plentiful, varied & satisfying. But the best attitribute of all is the staff! The bartenders, the FC staff, the wait staff, housekeeping & maintanence staff are all exceptionally friendly & helpful. The Activity Staff (especially Raul, David & Noberto) are exceptional as well. They encourage people to particiapte but also allow us to relax if we chose without pressure. They offer a wealth of information for those of us who have questions & are always willing to take time to sit & chat. The Broadway Show that they performed was outstanding. With that said, MORE staff shows would be such an asset to the resort to keep us all entertained in the evenings.
My only complaint is that the AC was not always working & the hot water was sporadic. If these items could be remedied this would be an even better resort.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the beach area; rooms near front desk are nosier.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaNayNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Hi ShaNayNay,
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at Occidental Allegro Cozumel. Thank you for highlighting the improvements you noticed since your last visit as, the pools and the food. And we appreciated your kind comments about our staff . We will share it with the team to encourage them to continue improving.
Once again, thank you for your time and feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards!
Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Occidental Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

I'm not a fussy person but the Allegro was not a good hotel. For three afternoons/early evening we had no hot water. The maid never replaced the coffee cups or glasses that we had used. The bathroom was cleaned.... but just so so.

The food was the worst. It looked like slop. The hotel staff were okay. At least they tried. It just seemed that the hotel was on automatic. They didn't really go out of their way for the tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doreendugray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Hi doreendugray,
There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments.
We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay.
I remain at your service.
Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Occidental Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

March 3, 2016-March 12, 2016
Occidental /Barceló Allegro, Cozumel
We are a couple traveling without children and stayed for 10 days at the Allegro, March 2016
Beach/Pools: The Allegro has one of the best beaches on Cozumel. Fantastic wide sandy beach with plenty of lounge chairs. Get a chair early as the beach area can fill up. There were no beach umbrellas as depicted in the advertising photos, but there are shade umbrellas by the pools. Palm trees provide a little shade, but not much. Three large pools; one with a swim up bar and one specifically dedicated for children. Great kids’ pool with slides and other things to keep kids entertained. Water is clear and free from rocks – unlike the rocky waters which are found at the Iberostar as well as many of the resorts north of town. No need to wear water shoes to protect your feet at the Allegro.
Diving: We did not dive, but there were lots of divers at the Allegro and there is easy access to the dock.
Grounds: The grounds are breathtakingly beautiful. There are wide walkways and beautiful landscaping throughout the resort. Easy accesses to the beach, with just one step down from pool area to the sand. We preferred the beach access at the Allegro, over the Occidental Grand as at the Grand you have to walk through a dense mangrove area before reaching the beach.
Rooms: The Allegro has a series of bungalows each consisting of 8 rooms which is so much nicer than being in a multi-story hotel type setting. Some are updated and others are not, but they are all very clean. Our room was not updated. We were first given a ground level room, and then moved to a 2nd story room with a great balcony. Comparing the two, we preferred the upper level which has a vaulted ceiling and a thatched roof. The lower rooms are cooler in temperature, but the vaulted ceiling makes the small room seem more spacious. The rooms closest to the water are in bungalows numbered in the 50’s and 60’s, however, the rooms in the 60’s are reserved for the Vacation Club members and the rooms in the 50’s seem to be dedicated to guests who have booked under the Ultimate Dive Package. Our first room was in bungalow 42, room 4212 which was very private and quiet. Our 2nd room was in bldg 36, room 3622 which was a little closer to the beach and had a balcony that faced north so it was shaded from the hot afternoon sun. There was an option to upgrade the room, to one of the rooms numbered in the 50’s, but it was an extra $44 per day per person.
The air conditioning in the upper level rooms does not work very well. We finally figured out that if we kept the bathroom door closed, the room would cool down much better. There is a louvered window in the bathroom which is necessary to vent the humidity from the shower, but that window also lets in a lot of hot air. Water pressure is exceptionally low, sometimes nothing greater than a trickle. In order to get warm water, or at least luke-warm water, the shower handle needs to be turned to the right. It was warm during our stay so we didn’t mind taking cooler than usual showers. A safe is provided in the room at no additional cost. Mini frig was stocked daily with 2 bottles of water, 2 beers and an assortment of carbonated beverages. There is a small closet and 2 shelves but no drawer space to unpack clothes. 6 clothes hangers were provided to hang things up.
Food: The main buffet, located above the lobby, served breakfast and dinner. Lunch was buffet style, in the middle of the resort, at what turns into the Mexican restaurant at night. We had reservations at the Italian and the Oriental restaurants and preferred the Oriental. If you get a chance, sit at the big table at the Oriental restaurant to watch the chef prepare the meal tableside. We did not dine at the Mexican restaurant as there were lots of Mexican dishes at the buffet on a daily basis. Food was decent for an all-inclusive resort and there were different themes for each night. There was only 1 day we had to wait in line to be seated at the buffet.
Staff: Without exception the entire staff at the Allegro is awesome! Very helpful and friendly. The activity coordinators encourage guest to participate without being overly pushy. Lots of activities throughout the day and the schedule is posted by the pool closest to the beach. Wish we would have participated in the Spanish lessons from day 1. Evening entertainment was fantastic! Be sure to check out the shows at the theatre and don’t miss the fire show on the beach! Juan Carlos is the bartender at the beach bar – great personality, always had a smile on his face and makes fabulous drinks.
Tips: Bring lots of $1 bills for tipping bus boy, housekeeping, wait staff and bar tenders.

Car rentals: Alamo is located right across the street from the Allegro and Fiesta representative is in the guest services section of the resort. If you do the Vacation Club tour at the Occidental Grand you receive discount coupons which can be used for resort activities or applied toward car rental. You’ll get a better deal if you arrange for a car rental, on-line, prior to leaving on your trip. Next time we’ll rent a vehicle in advance; save the $80 we paid for the round trip shuttle from the airport, and pick up a vehicle at the airport instead. Jeep rental was about $130 US per day after adding the full coverage insurance. Our own car insurance didn’t cover car rentals in Mexico so we made sure to add the additional coverage.
Maps: MapChick has some incredible detailed maps of Cozumel which are like having a tour guide. We purchased as set of 3 on-line in advance and used them daily as we drove around the island. These maps allowed us to discover all sorts of things we would have otherwise missed. Cancunmap.com
Exchange rate: US dollar to Pesos was a better exchange rate in town than at the resort. 10% surcharge if using an ATM. We used US dollars which are widely accepted anywhere on the island.
Would we return to the Allegro? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms seem larger with the vaulted ceilings.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisLoveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

Hi ChrisLoveland,
We want to thank you invested the time to write such a detailed review about Allegro Cozumel. It is our honor that you have chosen us for your recent vacation.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Warm regards!
Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Occidental Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

A few observations from our stay that might be helpful for families with small children:

* Small sized grounds - it takes no more than 5 min to run to your room from the beach if you have forgotten something.
* Kids water park - the slides are a bit cranky, there is an exposed electric wire in a pole right in the water, but if you look after your kids at all times it is a great place to entertain them for a couple of hours.
* There is a kids club (for ages 4+ so we didn't have a chance to try it).
* There is a fairly large playground with slides.
* High chairs available in all restaurants.
* Lunch is served at a buffet right next to the beach - very convenient!
* Plenty of chairs on the beach but no decent shade, so bring lots of sunscreen for your kids and you.
* The beach is unfortunately very dirty - cigarette butts and nylon pieces all over the place; for the one week we were there they didn't clean the beach once.
* For this one I can't say if it was just our cleaning lady - but the room was never properly cleaned or restocked - always missing a towel, a bottle or two of water, floor just swept, not washed, etc. Tips didn't really help so just bring more disinfecting wipes with you and keep calling the reception (some days it would take more than two calls to get an item) and you should be ok :)
* Staff at the restaurants (except for the seating girl Raquel) was very accommodating, understanding and helpful - thank you!
* No internet in the rooms, but Cartoon Network on TV - good enough for our kids!
* At the end of our stay we had to check out at 12pm but our taxi to the airport was coming at 6pm so we were offered a so called "hospitality room" (not sure if this was only for our tour operator or a hotel feature) where you can use a room for 30 min to shower before you leave. Book a couple of days in advance as apparently rooms and time slots for this option are limited.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends, so long as they understand that the old rule that "you get what you pay for" is still valid!

Room Tip: building 32 is right next to the kids water park
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

Hi Sofiya D,
We would like to thank you and your family for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience.
We Sincerely hope to be able to host you in the near future for another pleasant stay.
Warm Regards!!

Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Occidental Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews