We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment...maybe not best location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Mayaluum

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villas Mayaluum
England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great apartment...maybe not best location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villas Mayaluum for the month of August 2011. We had planned a long-term rental here, but decided to move after a month. The apartment we had was great for our needs, very nicely maintained and modern, albeit a tad on the sparse side. The kitchen was a good size and was equipped. If you are a long-term renter it could do with being better equipped, but most of everything you need is provided. We just bought the few extra things we needed. It has a washing machine and a dryer, so this seemed a great bonus as well. The outdoor area is beautifully landscaped, and the pool is delightful. Tony (the caretaker) and his staff work very hard at keeping the place looking good.

However, the downside we personally found with being at Mayaluum was the location. It can suit many divers perhaps, as the building is next door to Scubama, Papa Hogs & Villa Blanca....BUT...it is also opposite La Hache bar and La Palapita bar! We were woke by the sounds of air tanks being banged around every morning around 6:30 am, and then kept awake through the early hours by the noise from the bars across the road Wed - Sun.

La Hache had live music Wed - Sun evenings that started at 11pm and ran through till 3 am. La Palapita just randomly hosted live music, but was outside, so it sounded like it was outside our window! Now I know the owners of Mayaluum have added soundproofing to the first block, but we were a block back, but the noise was still very loud. AND, this was the low season!

Added to this the other concern with Mayaluum is that they run EVERYTHING on electric - water heater, oven, washing machine & dryer and central A/C, and it makes it extremely expensive if you opt for a long-term rent. Our month there (and we were only actually resident in the apartment for some 20 days) cost us $3,700 MX [$270 USD]. But this is exacerbated by the fact that Mayaluum seems to be on some kind of commercial rating.

We had a verbal agreement with the owners for a long-term rental, and they were very upset when we decided we had to leave, although they understood our reasons. Being that we were not just vacationing, but trying to live and work, being able to sleep soundly was very important to us.

Unfortunately, the owners did get a little petty about refunding our deposit, finding every little thing possible to deduct, so in the end we got back $4,000 MX out of $14, 500. I did feel they went a little over the top with this, but in these difficult financial times, I can understand how disappointing it is to lose a long-term client.

If you are vacationing, and like the south of the island, then Mayaluum could well suit your needs. If you are a light sleeper, or prefer a quieter spot to chill on vacation, then be sure to research this particular area of the island before making a decision!

Room Tip: Further back into the complex may alleviate noise issues from across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saramarsdenille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Had the pleasure to stay at Mayaluum in August for a short time and will be back for a month in February. The Villas is very spacious, immaculate, as well as being so close to our favorite dive shop (Opals Dream) and eateries close by. Beautiful Views, wonderful pool, and Cecelia was so accommodating. I could go on forever~~ We are so looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I've stayed at Mayaluum twice and will probably be back next year.
The owner Cecelia is very nice and goes out of her way if you need help. IE: I needed to see a doctor and she gave me her family doctors cell number.
--Condo is large and clean. 2-3 bedrooms available
--You can see ocean from patio. It is 1/2 mile from grocery stores and 1 mile from downtown Plaza.
--Beautiful pool and grounds
--Free Wi-Fi.

Diving in cozumel is incredible

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathdee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALFOUR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We found the Mayaluum on the internet 2 years ago - didn't know what it would be like - it exceeded our expectations by far. The condo is spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, washer/dryer, maid service once a week. There is a beautiful big pool right outside the patio door, very well maintained daily, as well as lovely landscaping all around it. Location is good with view of cruise ships in port and coming and going, small grocery store next door, restaurants and dive shops all around, and fairly close to downtown area. The Caribbean is right across the road. The rates are reasonable and the manager very professional and helpful. Our family came 2 days ago and are very impressed as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GERALD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yucatan peninsula, mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

I have been coming to Cozumel for years and found this place by accident last year. The place I had stayed for the past 10+ years was booked so I happened across Villas Mayaluum on a whim. And what a pleasant surprise! I'm almost afraid to say too many nice things, for fear that it may be difficult to get another reservation! I have stayed in both the 3 bedroom and 2 bedroom units. They are equally as nice and all have a fabulous ocean-view. The pool is kept immaculate...and the grounds are just beautiful. The furnishings are perfect for a beachfront villa....light and comfortable. Each room has a celing fan, which is perfect when you don't have the a/c on all the time. The location is perfect....just a short walk into town or a $5 taxi fare. I also like the convenience of having an Oxxo (mini-mart) right next door. Saves a trip into town if you run out of bottled water! I cannot say enough nice things about this place! I am sitting by the pool as I write this...with only a couple of weeks left....but have already booked another 2 months for early next year. There is no place I would rather stay while in Cozumel! It's delightful and so are the owners....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elicoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.0 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.0 km away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
2.6 km away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#9 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
3.9 km away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
4.0 km away
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Mayaluum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Mayaluum

Property: Villas Mayaluum
Address: Costera Sur Km 3 1, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,031 - ₹ 12,528
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe furnished oceanfront apartments, 2 or 3 bedrooms, great location, just in front of great caribbean ocean and reefs. Welcome for a week, month or year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing