We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks real nice”
Review of Hacienda Chichen

Hacienda Chichen
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Chichen Itza
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Just did a walk thru and got a tour of the standard room. Beautiful grounds. Sweet pool and lounge area. Room looked very comfortable. If we come back thru we would definitely budget for a night here

Thank 3rdOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for stopping by. We hope you can come back to stay a night or two in our jungle oasis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

This is exactly the Mexico I love! The hacienda was built hundreds of years ago and has been restored to its current magnificence. There are about 30 rooms scattered throughout the gardens, each with its unique decor. Paths wind through trees, flowering bushes and towering palms. The pool has an infinity edge, ample lounges and chairs and chirping social flycatchers that continually entertain. I'm a birder and saw parrots, buntings, woodpeckers, motmots and cuckoos on the grounds. The staff are very accommodating and show true Mayan hospitality. Staying at Hacienda Chichen was the highlight of our visit to the Yucatan!

Thank Suemccarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent food but pricey. Service is fantastic and the gardens are lovely but you are in a tourist trap here and they take advantage of it.
Cocktails are very good especially the strawberry daiquiri. Most of the food is organic.
Again lovely staff and an amazing three piece mariachi band!!!

Thank Renze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thanks a lot for your feedback. We serve the freshest vegetables and top quality food to present the best service to our customers' plates. We understand our service seems to be pricey if it's compared to local restaurants but, we assure you a nice and healthy experience. We hope to serve you again.

Cordially,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We ate 3 meals while staying at Hacienda Chichen, and could not fault one aspect of the service or food. As with our entire experience, it was perfect.

Dinner was on the terrace with views of the atmospherically lit garden, which provided further accompaniment for the guitarists in the form of the crickets and cicadas. Piña coladas set the tone for immediate relaxation, and some fresh bread and salsa arrived while we deliberated over our food order. Chef Josue Cime and his Mayan fusion menus have garnered much praise from top food critics, both local and international. All food prepared at Hacienda Chichen is healthy, organic, top quality and delicious, with fresh produce being locally sourced, some even from their own gardens.

Having fallen in love with the Mexican delicacy huitlacoche (‘corn smut’) during our stay in the capital, I was eager to try Cime’s huitlacoche crepes. This black fungus that grows on corn (and ruins the crop) bears a strong similarity to truffles in flavour, and in our Mexican travels I couldn’t seem to get enough of it. The crepes were served as neatly tied ‘money bags’ atop a corn crema and surrounded by tiny mounds of the black huitlacoche and fresh corn, garnished with a burst of red in the form of a bougainvillea blossom. This is a dish the chef is renowned for, and it was perfect.

A fresh salad with our favourite greens followed, simply adorned and flavoured with lime, with plenty of avocado, which suited me nicely. A fresh, seasonal vegetable pasta with a creamy tomato sauce and a fresh grated parmesan finished our meal, leaving no room for the tempting array of sweetness on offer in the range of desserts. I was already looking forward to breakfast and lunch! For non-vegetarians, the choice of dishes was vast, each an exquisite composition of taste and texture, with the perfect fusion of tradition and creativity.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bontaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm so glad you liked our delicious Maya and Mexican food. We really appreciate hearing about your experience, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cordially,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Located ten minutes walk from main entrance to the Chichen Itza historic place. More quite, located in the jungle. Beautiful surroundings with tropical plants. Let's imagine cold Corona in the shadow after hot tropical sightseeing. We preordered meal. It was typical mexican tacos, guacamole, black bean pasta, chicken enchilada and nachos. Good quality of food and very nice staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

We appreciate your visit and nice comments about the good quality of the food we serve in our restaurant, and about our friendly staff.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hacienda Chichen also viewed

 

Been to Hacienda Chichen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing