We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully inventive and delicious Mayan and Mexican food”
Review of Hacienda Chichen

Hacienda Chichen
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Chichen Itza
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We ate 3 meals while staying at Hacienda Chichen, and could not fault one aspect of the service or food. As with our entire experience, it was perfect.

Dinner was on the terrace with views of the atmospherically lit garden, which provided further accompaniment for the guitarists in the form of the crickets and cicadas. Piña coladas set the tone for immediate relaxation, and some fresh bread and salsa arrived while we deliberated over our food order. Chef Josue Cime and his Mayan fusion menus have garnered much praise from top food critics, both local and international. All food prepared at Hacienda Chichen is healthy, organic, top quality and delicious, with fresh produce being locally sourced, some even from their own gardens.

Having fallen in love with the Mexican delicacy huitlacoche (‘corn smut’) during our stay in the capital, I was eager to try Cime’s huitlacoche crepes. This black fungus that grows on corn (and ruins the crop) bears a strong similarity to truffles in flavour, and in our Mexican travels I couldn’t seem to get enough of it. The crepes were served as neatly tied ‘money bags’ atop a corn crema and surrounded by tiny mounds of the black huitlacoche and fresh corn, garnished with a burst of red in the form of a bougainvillea blossom. This is a dish the chef is renowned for, and it was perfect.

A fresh salad with our favourite greens followed, simply adorned and flavoured with lime, with plenty of avocado, which suited me nicely. A fresh, seasonal vegetable pasta with a creamy tomato sauce and a fresh grated parmesan finished our meal, leaving no room for the tempting array of sweetness on offer in the range of desserts. I was already looking forward to breakfast and lunch! For non-vegetarians, the choice of dishes was vast, each an exquisite composition of taste and texture, with the perfect fusion of tradition and creativity.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bontaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm so glad you liked our delicious Maya and Mexican food. We really appreciate hearing about your experience, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cordially,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2017

Located ten minutes walk from main entrance to the Chichen Itza historic place. More quite, located in the jungle. Beautiful surroundings with tropical plants. Let's imagine cold Corona in the shadow after hot tropical sightseeing. We preordered meal. It was typical mexican tacos, guacamole, black bean pasta, chicken enchilada and nachos. Good quality of food and very nice staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 209michaeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

We appreciate your visit and nice comments about the good quality of the food we serve in our restaurant, and about our friendly staff.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

We found this place to be a great alternative to eating in the restaurant on the grounds of Chichen Itza which was very crowded and felt more like fast food joint. Actually, one of the vendors recommended this place to us telling us that's where he chooses to eat when given an opportunity so we decided to do as the romans do when in Rome and go with local recommend. The restaurant is inside the beautiful hacienda and overlooks an absolutely gorgeous well maintained garden. It's only few minutes drive from Chichen Itza's parking lot. We got there late afternoon on a weekday and were the only table. Service was great with three different waiters attending to our table. Appetizers and main dishes were delicious. Desert, however, was average at best. Prices were on higher end so it's definitely not a budget friendly place.

1  Thank KimHaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you for visiting our property. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our excellent ambience and food service. We hope you can return soon!

Cordially,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We stayed at the Mayaland hotel but decided to have dinner at Hacienda as reviews on TA seemed to imply a much better quality restaurant. It was a good decision. The place is terrific. The settings on the old hotel veranda overlooking a wonderfully landscaped garden are both romantic and beautiful. Very good service and excellent food especially crepes stuffed with mushrooms in goat cheese sauce

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Thank you so much for visiting our property and for your nice comments about our food service. We hope you can stay with us next time you visit Chichen Itza. We are here to serve you.

Best wishes.
Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Wonderful place in the jungle. Relaxing and quiet. Good beds, good food, away from the mass of tourists

Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope to serve you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hacienda Chichen also viewed

 

Been to Hacienda Chichen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing