We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent food and service - Expense”

La Habichuela Downtown
Reserve with OpenTable
La Habichuela Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 970 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Avenida Coba & Uxmal
Description: Located in the center of the city, La Habichuela, has become a legend of Cancun with more than 38 years of operation. Some say that if you don't know La Habichuela, you don't know Cancun. The unique and a genuine ambience of the Mayan culture, attentive service, complete menu of Mexican cuisine,Caribbean seafood , steaks, international dishes, have built the restaurant's strong reputation. La Habichuela was awarded the Five Diamonds Award from the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences & is a proud recipient of the National Best Restaurant Award and the recognition of DIRONA since 2001. La Habichuela is considered a must in Cancun
Campinas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excelent food and service - Expense”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had Christmas dinner at La Habichuela restaurant.
The place is beautiful, the service veru good, food delicious...
Price is high, but compared to other places we looked for to have Christmas dinner, the price is the same as other good restaurants.
Depending on the hour you need a reservation.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank kekows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    219
    94
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it and come every year”
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

The Cocobachula is their signature dish 440 pesos but worth every bite. Also had the lobster steak shiskabob excellant

Helpful?
Thank mksmithdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“decent food”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

It took 3~4 mins walk from the bus stop (as we came from the hotel zone) and was easy to find. We had The Famous Cocobichuela as main dish, which was decent and the atmosphere (we were seated in the garden) was cozy. (it wasnt crowded while we were there)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daegutang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklinton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Garden seating is something special, good food too”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We went for our anniversary and made reservations to be sure we got garden seating but probably did not need them. Went on a Sunday night and traffic was a nightmare, this place is right downtown and along a small alley that is near a few parks and gathering spots the locals like to use on Sunday nights for dancing, etc. It looked to be mostly families having fun.

Some have said this place is very expensive, but for the atmosphere and special occasions, I disagree. We had the authentic Caesar salad prepared table side for two, wine and beer, my wife had stuffed grouper and I had the Duck, and we finished with the tiramisu all for about $90 US including a 20% tip. Granted I would not want to spend that every night, but there are more economical choice on the menu. If you are a beef eater, that seems to be expensive everywhere but the seafood is no more than I pay for a nice place in the US. The cab fare each way from the Royal Cancun Club International was about $13 US including tip.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmartinncemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambiance”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a hotel just behind the restaurant. We walked over in the evening.

We were greeted at the door by the staff. When we were seated the waiter and assistant introduced themselves. The good service continued throughout the evening.

The restaurant is very pleasant inside. We sat outside. There are some inside tables and some under cover.

The food was good. We were hoping it would have been a little better.

Even though the food was not as good as we would have liked, I would recommend it.

We had the special La Cocobuela

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joelwx39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Habichuela Downtown also viewed

 

Been to La Habichuela Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing