We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Ranked #70 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in April 2012 as part of a conference, so I didn't have any choice in lodging. I am a Hilton Diamond level frequent traveler and have seen every kind of accommodation from very good to very not good. I would give the Great Parnassus a solid "B" which is better than what I expected. The lobby is open-air, huge, and impressive, and indeed all of the common areas are quite nice. I was upgraded to a suite on the "short" side of the hotel (the hotel is shaped a bit like a long rectangle) which was enormous and included a full-size, bay-view balcony with outdoor jacuzzi. Housekeeping was fine and the room was in good shape. The on-site restaurants were surprisingly good, although most are only open for dinner which is a negative. Alcoholic drinks are all-inclusive along with the food, but they don't have any top-quality spirits, even for purchase, so if you want a decent adult beverage in the evening you'll have to go off-site. I didn't have much of a chance to use the pool or other resort areas of the property but from a cursory look they appeared to be more than satisfactory. Despite being host of a conference, the hotel is not particularly business-friendly; there is no business center for instance nor any ability to print boarding passes and whatnot. But there is a good wireless internet signal in the rooms and (some of) the common areas. Overall I was pleasantly surprised with the Great Parnassus and would have no reservation about recommending it as a family or couples leisure destination for a long weekend.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
5  Thank dpb132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,843 - 1,847 of 5,360 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

we arrived at the hotel about 5 pm after a very long trip we went stright to the reception we found them very friendley and we weare in our room in 10 min all the staff from the cleaning staff to the waitors and bell boy wear very friendley and helpfull the room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel the reustrants were all very nice and the food was very nice we will certainley come back again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Good accomodation, lots to do in the day, food could be better in hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amelia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Fun Hotel.... nice to have the adult only space. Friends had a great wedding. Friends and family enjoyed fun i the sun. xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Well we just got back from our 7 day stay (April 21 - 28) at the Great Parnassus and I must say it was better than expected after reading so many negative reviews. As several people have written, it all depends on your expectations of a 3.5 - 4 star hotel and what you are there for. For my family the intent of the vacation was pure relaxation and fun (left our electronics - including my Blackberry - at home). We had buckets of fun.

The PROS of the Great Parnassus:

The staff were fantastic for start to finish. We were met by Alejandra at the front desk upon our arrival and she was tremendous. She remembered us throughout our trip and was an absolute pleasure to deal with. Check in took about 10 minutes.

At the poolside we were always well looked after by Jessica and Daniela throughout the week. These two were very attentive and just fun to be around. The servers at the inside bars were always prompt and very pleasant to be around.

Miguel at the "Sportsbar" was exceptionally pleasant and accommodating during our stay. He also provided excellent room service each morning we wanted our food brought up.

We were served by Felipe at the Samouri restaurant and at the Big Ben restaurant with very good service. He looked after us very well and would get us anything we wanted.

Our room was cleaned each day by Victoria and she really looked after us.

Rooms:

We had room 427 and it was nice with a partial view of the sea. The air conditioner worked well and was quiet. There were no problems with the bathroom and never saw any bugs or anything else. There was no noise from outside entering the room.

Food:

We enjoyed all the food at the locations we tried (all except the French restaurant and the Manhattan). The French restaurant was closed for 2 nights but probably due to the slowdown in travellers. We were lined up to get into Portofino one night but were seated within 10 minutes and our food was not slow. The only dish I did not enjoy was the Sukiyaki meal at the Samouri as the beef in it was tough like a piece of shoe leather. Other than that, all food is what is expected (or better than) what I expect from an AI hotel.

Pool:

The water is cool but once you get in it is fine. There were lots of activities to participate in if you chose to and were only asked once if you wanted to play (no hassling). There were always enough lounge chairs and the staff were good.

Additional comments: It was nice to see (or not see I guess) that at the buffet there were no huge quantities of food left on plates by kids / grown ups that I noticed.

Our return flight was at 8:30 PM so we used the hospitality room which really helped out as it was nice and cool and a good place to have a nap if needed.

CONS:

I have no cons against the hotel but moreso against the clients of this place.

My first complaint (and I actually watched for this) was how cheap the people are that stay there. Very rarely did I see anyone tip the servers there. If you are on that tight of a budget where tips can not be handed out you should not complain whatsoever about anything. These people live on these tips.

Secondly there is loud banging of doors in the building due to its design. What does it take for a person to hold onto the door handle instead of letting it go? Again, this is not an issue against the hotel, but the patrons.

Thirdly - lack of tipping (or did I say that already). All inclusive does not include tips for good service. It is amazing what a few dollars / pesos do to help you enjoy the experience. Pick any restaurant or bar in Canada / USA and if the server knows you will not tip them the serves is most likely to not be that good. Same rule applies here.

Kids club was not busy so really we do not know if it was good or not. My 12 year old son did not enjoy the kids club at all but with the pool / beach activities he spent most of the day running around enjoying himself which was a good thing.

Bus information - The local bus route is efficient and quite easy to use. If you are heading north (towards downtown Cancun) you can take any R-1 or R-2 bus. The trick is coming back to the hotel. From the north you take a bus that indicates "WESTIN" as this hotel is further south than the Great Parnassus. The bus route does U turns along the way back to downtown so if you do not take this bus (or a bus going to a hotel further south than GP) you will not get far enough south. If you want to go to the "Wet and Wild" waterpark which was really fun, then take the R-1 or R-2 bus south that indicates "wet and wild". On the way home, take any bus north. Trip is $8.5 pesos per person to use the bus.

This was our first trip to Cancun and we would return to the Great Parnassus if we were looking for a cheaper holiday at a 3.5 - 4 star hotel. We have travelled to many in Europe / Caribbean and this one was not bad at all. We noticed numerous workers painting the walls and fixing up the appearance of the building. There were also teams working on other parts of the building as well to get its appearance better (though not bad now).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
10.6 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
729 reviews
18.7 km away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.3 km away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 177 in Cancun
3,527 reviews
1.6 km away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#34 of 177 in Cancun
4,693 reviews
8.4 km away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 177 in Cancun
2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Parnassus Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Parnassus Family Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 17 | Lote 52-04 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#49 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: ₹ 12,771 - ₹ 31,146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Parnassus Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Parnassus Family Resort is located at KM 17 on the Hotel Zone. It is an ideal hotel whether you are vacationing, celebrating or working. Ranging from fun to excitement for the whole family. With areas specialized for baby care, plus a complete children’s water park with a castle, pirate ship and water slides. Teenager club and a complete day and night time activities program. All the upbeat fun imaginable for families; snack bars, coffee and sweets at our creperie. Offering also exclusive areas for adults only. When choosing suites or club rooms for adults only, guests have access to our elite lounge restaurant for breakfast, and in-room special amenities. A variety of 7 different restaurants, 11 bars, 24 hour room service, 4 pools, mini golf plus a variety of different suites to choose from including family suites that fit up to five people. Entertainment at night, with interactive games and shows performed by our entertainers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Great Parnassus Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Parnassus Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing