We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #17 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We just got back from Cancun and we absolutely loved every minute of our stay! The entire staff was extremely friendly and eager to please each guest. The grounds were beautiful, our room was very clean and the beach was AWESOME. It looks and feels like a palace. We are already making plans for next year. The only negative would be that we did not make it in time to book a couple of the restaurants. Can't wait to go back to Riu Palace Las Americanas!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean view, no need for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,990
    1,534
    474
    207
    147
See reviews for
1,202
2,975
94
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

You will love your stay with RPLA. The warm inviting feeling of this resort is everywhere. We found the staff very happy to serve and make sure we were well taken care of.
From check in to check out the front desk was helpful.
We did not eat at all the restaurants, but the food and service at Krytals and Brazilin were outstanding.
The buffet had an enormous selection. The service was good. We did find it lacking a little in variety at around 11:30 am, as they were in the process of changing from breakfast to lunch. Wait 15 minutes and the lunch spread and selection were incredible. But get your breakfast before 11am. We had fruit and yogurt on our balcony early. Room service was promt and efficient.
Some of the negitives have truth to them. It certainly did not effect our vacation. ie: Funny smell, hard beds, smaller beach, unheated pools. Really not a big issue for us.
We cant wait to return to RIU resorts.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tjohlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Based on the numerous reviews I viewed on Trip Advisor, I was a little hesitant about the one week trip my boyfriend and I had planned back in September for the third week in February. However, any hesitancy/worry was for naught, as this was one of the most amazing vacations I have ever been on (and I have been fortunate to travel to some pretty amazing places both in and out of the United States).

We arrived mid-day on a Saturday and immediately, upon interacting with Israel at the front desk, I realized that all of the raves about customer service/friendliness were true to form. The lobby was just gorgeous and the view directly upon entering was breathtaking. We went to our room, and despite thinking we needed a room on the 5th or 6th floor (which is what TA reviews had led me to believe), our 2nd floor balcony was right over the most exquisite water and white sand beach.

Again, based on TA reviews, I knew enough to anticipate a bit of a musty odor in the rooms... After all, there is a great deal of humidity. However, we had planned ahead and brought "odor absorb" mini-tubs and they helped tremendously.

Since it was an odd hour by the time we unpacked and settled in, we ordered room service. It arrived about 20 minutes later and was delicious.

The people at the resort, both the staff and others we met, were exceptionally nice, friendly, welcoming and just generally happy. The food was delicious, the weather impeccable and the overall experience was one that has created memories I will often return to during the bleak winter/spring months in New England.

Clearly this is a subjective opinion, as opinions are by nature...However, I would absolutely return and will rave about this resort to anyone who asks. Everyone can always find something to complain about...But if you are looking for gorgeous grounds, exceptional service, stunning beach and oceanviews and over all a relaxing and sun/fun-filled trip, you will find it at Riu Palace Las Americas.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have private decks and ocean views...What more could you want?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovetotravelaround10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just returned last night from a great week at this hotel. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready but the staff was very good about giving us our wrist bands and putting away our baggage until our room was available. When getting to our room we noticed we had very little water or beer in our refrigerator. We pointed this out to the bell man and we had a delivery brought up in minutes.
The food in this property is excellent. Our favorite ala carte was the steak house. The ribeye that we had ordered was thinner than what I would get at home but the flavor was great. Buffets were very good as well. I usually find the buffets to get a little repetitive by the end of the trip but there was always a good variety.
Bars were also very good. I enjoyed the La Terraza after a day of sitting by the pools. This provided a quiet atmosphere and a spectacular view to end the day.
The entertainment staff always worked hard to keep everyone entertained and they went out of their way to get to know you. A special Thank you to Jack for coming by and giving us a hug goodbye as we were waiting for our transportation back to the airport.

See you next year RPLA

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancuin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Riu offered us an upgrade to what they said was a new hotel in Cancun as a promotion. Do not buy into this. The hotel is old, in need of updating, the junior suite we got as part of the promotion faces two walls, next to a noisy street. The couch was torn, worn and uncomfortable. We left a beautiful hotel with a sea view to come here as we had never been to Cancun although we have travelled the Carribean quite often. The beach is the size of a postage stamp.

Staff at the desk was unaccomodating to the point of arrogance.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here get a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#31 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,691 reviews
1.5 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
6.6 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,755 reviews
5.9 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#16 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,182 - ₹ 34,822
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???S resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???S private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing