We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #37 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my boyfriend from 23rd Feb - 10th March 2013. We absoloutely loved the hotel. The staff were great, always had a smile on their faces, from the cleaners to the maintenance guys to the chefs, everyone could not have been happier to help and see you. The entertainment guys were fantastic too, we went out to Dadyo's one night with the entertainment staff and they really looked after us more than you would expect until the early hours of the morning which i'm sure is past their working hours. Staff FANTASTIC!
The location of the hotel was perfect, right in the centre of Cancun, no need for taxis during the day everything in walking distance, starbucks right opposite, bonus!
The beach behind the hotel was lovely, we had a few strolls along their looking at the other hotels also and none looked as impressive as ours did. We was very happy with our selection, we would deffinately recommend this hotel if you are thinking of visiting Cancun.
The food was also fantastic, such a wide variety and choice. Drinks were great too, cocktails were not limited to just what was on the menu, if you ask the bar staff to make you something they will do it, no fuss. Japanese restaraunt was probably our favourite from the 3 booking restaraunts. Had a real special feeling to it, you forgot you was in the hotel and apart of an all inclusive resort, it felt like we had gone out to a posh restaraunt to eat.
The rooms were great also, traditional and well maintained. Comfortable beds, good choice of TV channels. Always lots of cold drinks replenished in the fridge.
I would rate our experience at the Riu Cancun with FIVE STARS! *****

Room Tip: Our room was 1232 and we loved our location, great view from the balcony. Esculator is pretty fast s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sinead m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,172 - 3,176 of 10,407 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Wife & I stayed Dec 8 - 23rd 2012, this was our second visit here we stayed 3 years ago as a one off holiday, celebrating our 25th Wedding anniversary I wanted to do the Far East but the Wife fell in love with the place so it was a no brainer. No complaints about the flight with Thomson who pestered the life out of me to up-grade with prices starting at £250+ ending with the last offer of £120 each which I still refused and glad I did, met a pleasant couple from Hull at the Hotel who took the upgrade only to be told during the flight that 4 of the tiny cans of lager was more than enough & were refused more, I can understand caution during flights concerning alcohol consumption but I wouldnt have been happy being told this on a long haul flight not all people taking package holidays are idiots. Check in was quick & we were in our room within 15 minutes of arrival, the rooms could do with a make over but are very clean & met our needs views from the balcony are stunning, the only gripe I have is the lack of a shaving mirror, I prefer to wet shave & leaning over the basin is back breaking so I climbed on to the vanity top & sat close to the mirror when needed, a kettle would also be usefull. The food is outstanding plenty of choice and of a good quality, I was a little dissapointed on our last visit as we expected the food to have more spice than it did, during this visit we took more time in the dining room & found plenty of spices & sauces to hit the spot, makes sence to serve it the way they do as not all guests are as adventureous as we are, if you cant find it ask, the staff are more than happy to help, we tried the Japanese & steak house we were not that impressed with either we thought the food was average but we met plenty of people who loved them so its a matter of taste in my opinion we were more than happy in the main dining room. We spent our evenings when in the hotel at the outside bar which tends to attract the younger guests, we are both close to 50 but prefer the party atmosphere, Elmer runs the bar & does it very well he engages in conversation with guests & is a very pleasant young man, we met a large group of young Mexicans at the bar, we had 4-5 shots of tequila with them which they found very amusing as we kept up with them, they treated us like long lost relatives for the rest of our stay, the show bar is not to our taste but we did spend a couple of nights there, the entertainment staff work very hard and we enjoyed both evenings. We went to the sports bar a few times which is 24 hour mainly for a night cap after going out & on one occasion at 7.30am to watch the English footy, I forgot to put on the mozzy repelant for the morning visit and got eaten alive the one and only time I have been bitten here. The reps at the hotel told all guests about problems with the local Police when returning to the hotel in the early hours, we went to Bongo's on our last visit and loved the place & were determined to go again, we met a number of Brits who would not set foot outside the hotel after dark following the warning, we were transported there by the reps & got a taxi back costing around £4 and had a brilliant night out, If you go to Cancun you must visit Bongo's not like anything in the UK, there are potential problems wherever you are in this world we take all reasonable precautions & wouldnt miss a night out there for anything it's a life time experience. There are plenty of pools to choose from & getting a sunbed no problem whatever the time, we spent most of our time by the infinity pool taking in the fun of the activity pool next to it & swimming in the infinity, when the pool lost the sun we moved to the beach & took advantage of the free snorkeling which was amazing, you only need to go out a few yards near the rocks with some bread & you will be surrounded by some amazing fish, the entertainment staff organised a football world cup on the beach which was hilarious England v Argentina final resulting in England winning & an Argentinian sent off we were in tears with laughter brilliant. We visited the Isle of Majures a beautiful place and a lot cheaper than the hotel zone for everything well worth a day out. Our one off holiday 3 years ago turned into a second visit & the wife wants to go back again next year the only hotel she has ever wanted to return to and we are well travelled, in conclusion a nice hotel with brilliant staff (the same staff on this visit as 3 years ago) very good food & clean, most of all not to formal for the hotel's rating, we met numerous Brit couples some had stayed in other hotels in the Country & everyone of them said they would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snotthepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Trip
My wife and I stayed at the RIU Cancun resort for 6 days during the end of February and early March, 2013.

Check-in and Resort
Check in was quick and easy with no lines. We were brought a cold drink while checking in. Room was not quite ready, but we did get there at 1pm and check in was at 3pm. Cesar at Front Desk was nice, although we could not get a complementary upgrade. We did get a room on the 6th floor (not towers); it was nice. As typical of other RIU’s, you will get room keys, towel cards and the safe lock: All charged a fee if lost. Tip: Offer front desk a $20 tip to get a room with better view and location.

Location
The resort is in excellent location: Close to upscale mall and many bars/clubs, including Senior Frogs and Coco Bong’s. There is also a flea market near MacDonald’s. It is worth the short walk, but prepare to be hassled. Prices are not marked on merchandise so it is OK to haggle: About 50% of ask is typically reasonable. Tip: No need for Taxi, lots to do within walking distance.

Room
At check-in, we were given room in 600+ (6th floor) right above main pool. Room had a soft king bed (not 2 twins). We had a beautiful junior suite (as booked) with large (150sf) private balcony overlooking pool and oceanfront. Bed was firm, but not too hard. We had a generic liquor dispenser (vodka, rum, tequila and scotch) in the room and the Mini bar was restocked every 2 days. Fridge had 8 beer, a variety of soda and lots of bottled water. Bath tub/shower was older, but OK: Nothing special. Tip: Leave a couple bucks for the chamber maid; you’ll have the extra touch of towel animals, rose pedals and chocolates.

Pools and Beach
Hot tubs were not hot, except one warmer closest to beach. There was a solarium above the 6th floor with a private hot tub (cold) and lounge chairs: Full sun most of the day. The beach was small and rocky; not much sandy area but just OK. I’ve been to much nicer beaches. No problems finding chairs by the pool or on the beach. Pools were cool and not heated; but clean. Tip: Get a place where you will stay in the sun as the pool/beach area does get in the shade mid afternoon: Start early.

Food and Bars
Upon check-in, you will learn you need 2 days notice for upscale restaurants. You can only make reservations one day at a time. A small $5 tip got me dinner reservations for two on the first night. The Japanese, Steakhouse and Brazilian restaurants were good; better than Buffets which were just OK. Tips were optional and not really expected. I suggest you bring some small bills to provide tips – you will get sooner service once they recognize you. Tip: They have mostly off brand liquors at the bar; but if you ask for Bacardi (or others) at bars, you will get it at no additional cost.

Entertainment
Lobby area had daily schedule of events. Entertainment staff did their best to keep you entertained; it was nice and enjoyable in most cases. Activity at pools and around the resort gave you something to do and/or watch if you wanted. Nightly show starts at 9:45pm and was different nightly – it’s free and something to do. Plan to arrive about 45 minutes early to get main area seating, look for a table. Show is over around 10:30ish; disco next door opens at 11pm. Good variety of music, but can be too loud. Tip: Get in disco early if you want to sit down, only a few stools. Sit by dance floor (away from fog machine) and enjoy the people watching.

Staff
For the most part, staff was friendly. I reported no issues.

Overall
The resort was typical of a 3.5 star property. It is similar to other RIU’s at which we’ve stayed. It is not a white glove resort, but reasonable if you are watching your budget. If I went back to Cancun, I’d consider staying here again, or at the RIU Place right next door for a more up-scale stay.

If you found this review helpful, please give me a ‘helpful review’ check. Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: Read this review for multiple tips in many areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank chart_boy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

We came back to the riu cancun in 2012 as we enjoyed it so much the first time, the food is amazing, the hotel rooms are gorgeous, the weather was amazing and so was the entertainment staff, will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Astrafrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The hotel is a fantastic place, from the minute you walk through the revolving doors into the air conditioned reception area i know you will be impressed. reception staff are very friendly, and extremely helpful. the rooms are big and we found the beds very comfortable, we had a lovely view from the balcony on the 13th floor, that side of the hotel is in the shade from early afternoon, but that can be a welcome relief from the burning sun. the food is really good with a fantastic choice at every mealtime, the lunchtime is out of this world, from pasta,pizza,burgers,to half a roasted chicken,plus all the veg you can eat. my only complaint was the mindless idiots that hang around the swim up bar, i have to say that most of them were young americans,plus a few russians. i dont think they know how to say please and thankyou, and queueing is out of the question. we met some really nice couples from the states, so this is not a rant against the usa.it was the same group that was running up and down the corridors in the early hours banging on doors. we would go back to the riu cancun in the future, because that was the only problem we had. the hotel is in a great location,with shops and restaurants,clubs etc really close by. a great place to start out from.

Room Tip: the higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RIGGARQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 km away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
2.7 km away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#45 of 177 in Cancun
7,792 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.4 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.7 km away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9 | Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 Family Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: ₹ 15,897 - ₹ 29,744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Cancun opens all year round and is located right on the beautiful beach of Cancún, in the Corazone area which is the modern hotel zone with American-style shopping center, various restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Cancún Airport (20 km) and Cancún city (10 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 569 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the fitness center. 4 outdoor pools. Day and evening entertainment, as well as our Pacha Discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Asian, Italian specialty restaurants, Steakhouse, and 5 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing