We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #29 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

3rd time back to cancun this hotel was the best so far. Walk to everything no bus or taxi needed.
cleaning all the time this hotel was spotless. Never woried about anything. I think if you try Riu Cancun you will find it wonderfull too.
p.s the drinks are not watered down

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjc8607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,036
    2,745
    938
    439
    336
See reviews for
1,787
3,899
132
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We just returned home from our second trip to Riu Cancun and had a great time again. Everything was the way we remembered it from 4yrs ago. The hotel was spotless and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was plentiful with many choices, I'm sorry but if you can't find something you like to eat then you're too fussy, The variety was very good. The pools were always clean and we were always able to find lounge chairs. The entertainment staff did a great job both day and night. Lots to do within walking distance too. We love Mexico and we love the Riu Cancun . Just got home last night and we can't wait to go back again. Try staying here, I think you'll love it too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank clipper089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel was absolutely beautiful...the entire staff was friendly, helpful and courteous. No matter where we were in the hotel,or on the grounds, the staff was hard at work cleaning and maintaining the high standard of quality they strive to keep..took the local bus (r2) down town to the local flea market (28) for $1.00 ea way...then walked from there to Walmart...the flea market has a lot of good values...but they start high and you must bargain down..the pottery at the flea market is wonderful.
Don't listen to all the bad press about Cancun and how unsafe it is....this is their livelihood,!!it was very safe would not hesitate to go back....ps drink the water..it's all bottled

Room Tip: All have a great view of the ocean...they can also accommodate adjoining rooms in the jr suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, KY 42141
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Riu Cancun is an amazing resort, and the service and attention to detail impeccable. We have been to this resort for several years, and they have NEVER failed to impress and make our vacation memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panamapam2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My partner and I travel alot and we stay in alot of hotels. We have never done a vacation like this before meaning staying at an " All Inclusive" hotel, and boy were we surprised. The level of service was above and beyond, by all of the Hotel staff. The Buffet was alway's good ( look for Jose' when you are there, he's the best!). The speciality resturants are equally good. Our room was fantastic and over looked one of the infinity pool. We wanted for nothing! We took the bus on a couple of different occassions which is very safe, and a cheap way of getting around. The Resort was full during our stay, but it never felt like it. The entertainment staff does and excellent job. There is definately something for everyone. Would I stay here again, most certainly.. We were so impressed by RIU CANCUN that we signed up for the membership program.. and I'm a picky person!!!

Room Tip: upgrade to the junior suites they are totally worth it......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
8.4 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#42 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#45 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,139 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
0.4 km away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
2.9 km away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Property: Hotel Riu Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#39 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,032 - ₹ 30,923
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing