We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is not what you get”
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #24 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Beautiful hotel. All kinds of activities are available, but they lack service and quality. A lot of things look and are run down. Hotel needs a structural upgrade at the rooms. Same things from a decade ago when we were amazed by the hotel. Service is deplorable. Nice view and impressive hotel, but that's were it stops.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,003 - 6,007 of 9,629 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

I've stayed at this resort numerous times in the past couple years (used to be called the Gran Melia). Every stay is wonderful. The staff is super, rooms are always up-kept and in immaculate shape and is nice and quiet all the time. The food in the restaurants is wonderful also.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Am-Ray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We spent a wonderful week at the "new" Paradisus Cancun. We have stayed previously at the following current and former Paradisus resorts: Playa del Carmen (La Perla), Palma Real, Punta Cana (3x) , Playa Conchal (2x) and Riviera Cancun. We have also stayed at Dreams, Secrets and Iberostar resorts among others. Paradisus remains our favourite all inclusive resort chain.

We want luxury, gourmet food, great service and a fabulous beach and pool. The past few visits, including this one, we stayed in Royal Service so the comments apply to the RS rooms and pool/beach area in addition to the shared restaurants and facilities.

The resort, RS room and grounds:

This resort was upgraded to a Paradisus resort in November 2012 from a Gran Melia. We stayed there over New Years for 7 days. We did not see any construction and all restaurants were fully operational. Our room was nice, a good size and satisfied our needs. We were disappointed that although we had an ocean view room the hedge in front of our balcony blocked most of our view when sitting down. Unfortunately we were not able to change rooms. Also, we are big coffee lovers and really enjoy having coffee on the balcony but the coffee maker was old and unappealing. At Paradisus Playa del Carmen the RS rooms had Nespresso machines. We loved that. The room service menu was mostly pizza and snack foods and a continental breakfast. As a result, we did not order any room service. (Room Service is included in RS).

We spent most of our time in our Bali Bed either at the pool or on the beach. We loved the Bali Beds. They were free of charge for RS guests, had gorgeous views, were incredibly comfortable and had both drink and food service all day long. The beds require a reservation and you are guaranteed a bed for two days. Although the resort was full but we never had a problem reserving or getting a bed. Juan and Sergio worked hard to keep everyone happy. We managed to get a fabulous bed each and every day. Thanks guys! The best beds were along the beach. We had a bed there our last two days and they were the best two days all week, although we loved the beds around the pool as well. Each bed comes with a chaise and a chair so you can also get some sun! We did notice that some people would reserve a bed and not show up. When this happened the bed was released at noon so someone else could have it. This is an excellent and fair idea.

The resort is beautiful with multiple pools and a wide beach area. The RS area never felt crowded. It was very clean. They even scrub the pool decking with a rotary power washer at night! The beach is also clean and wide with palapa tables. Drink service was frequent. Some resorts offer a drink of the day. That would have been a great extra touch.

The resort appears huge and a bit confusing at first but was not at all. It took us less then 2 minutes to walk from our building (5) to the towering open main lobby (building 3) where most of the restaurants are clustered together among lush palms. flowers and hanging vines. .

The restaurants:

The poolside RS restaurant at lunch (La Palapa) was excellent with wonderful food, beautifully presented and a gorgeous view of the ocean. The only suggestion would be to add a few more vegetarian options - especially a veggie burger! The guacamole was great everyday. Good variety of premium beverages with no additional charges.

We ate breakfast most days at the RS lounge which was "continental" but still served warm options including eggs. Great fruit selection and we loved the Nespresso. This beautiful area is in the centre of the RS pyramid (building 5) with vines hanging from the ceiling and koi swimming under our feet. The lounge also serves snacks, sushi and cocktails in the evening. The main buffet menu (Naos) for breakfast was typical of any resort but does have a lovely outdoor seating area.

We did try lunch at the main buffet. Neither of us eat meat (but will eat fish and seafood). One day we had an amazing lunch with tons of fresh prawns, calamari and other seafood. It was fabulous but unfortunately when we went back other days the buffet was primarily meat so we returned to La Palapa.

Our best meal was an incredible 7 course, white glove meal at Tempo. Tempo has a fixed menu and a surcharge of $45 per person. It was so worth it. The restaurant quickly replaced the one meat course (veal) with fish at our request. Portions were small, delicious, unique and beautifully presented. This amazing meal was the best we have had at an all inclusive and right up there with some of the best meals we have had anywhere. We travel a lot and have eaten in a lot of Michelin top rated restaurants. There is an additional charge for premium wine. You can also choose wine pairings with your meal at a fixed cost. Our only suggestions was that they turn the lighting down a bit in the evening .The room was a little bright for an evening dinner. Although the dress code for the whole resort is resort casual, we recommend dressing up for this place. It is a special place..

We went to Mole on New Years. We were not aware there was a standard fixed price menu in the resort that night. The food was good but we wanted Mexican! So we were disappointed that our concierge or butler did not inform us.

Bana is the Asian restaurant located in the middle of the main lobby pyramid (building 3). It is a beautiful restaurant built into lush gardens. Most of the restaurants are in building 3, right in the middle. The lobby/main building is gorgeous inside. The sushi was good, not inventive but very fresh. Curries were good as well.

We also went to Fuego (Latin Fusion) and Vento (Tapas). Both were very nice and had good food. Again, we would love another veg option or two. Overall we enjoyed all the a la carte restaurants we went to except La Perla. It was a lovely location (open air, building one, you could see the ocean) but the service was incredibly slow and the food was only average. We did not linger.

Royal Service:

We loved the RS area and facilities. Both check in and check out were fast and efficient. Everyone is very friendly. However in RS you are assigned a butler when you arrive. You are supposed to get a cell phone to call him/her (we did not) and he is supposed to take care of your restaurant restaurants, Bali bed reservations, provide a pillow menu, assistance with check out, luggage, among other services. Our butler delivered our luggage but otherwise we did not hear from our butler all week and did not even know where to find him. At Playa del Carmen our butler was amazing and checked in on us daily to make sure we had everything we needed. Here we ended up doing most things ourselves. The concierge service was also disappointing as our restaurant reservations were often inaccurate or we had to go to the concierge multiple times to confirm whether we had a reservation at all. By the end of the trip we made our own reservations. So, in terms of RS service when it comes to the concierge and butler, this resort is not yet up to Paradisus standards. I am sure they will get there but they are not there yet.

Overall, this is a lovely resort with great potential. The RS service is not yet at the level of resorts like Paradisus La Perla in Playa del Carmen where we stayed a year ago. One thing that became a bit annoying was the presence of small children in the Royal Service area. We love children but RS is supposed to be 18 years and over, which is why we stay there. We mentioned this to staff but only once did we see anyone do anything about it . We also noticed non RS guests using the area reserved for RS guests. RS guests have distinctive wristbands but no one monitored the situation. RS guests do pay a premium for the extra service and it should be respected. Better signage, especially at the beach entrance would help solve this problem. We hope the concerns noted in our review will be addressed so we can recommend this resort with enthusiasm to our friends, many of whom have become fans of Paradisus based on our recommendations.

Room Tip: Royal Service Ocean View (not ground level). The lagoon is actually across a busy road from the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Every thing was just as one would expect
Wonderfull place top staff and amazing food.
Absolutly nothing to complain about.
Special thanks to the lifeguards and the waiter Symfoni that helped a lady I meet, up to her room and called a very efficient doctor to treat her in just 5-6 min.
Amazing place I'll be back

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thode851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed at the Paradisus last year when it was still under Gran Melia but really had a fantastic time. We chose not to do all inclusive and instead elected to eat breakfast in the room and eat the other meals out. The room was nicely appointed and had a large balcony to eat our breakfast on. It claimed an "ocean view" which it did, but you had to go to the edge of the balcony and peer to the left -- otherwise you were really just looking at other people's balconies the next pyramid over. It was a bit of a walk to get anywhere inside the complex for us (being in the vacation club pyramid) but that was okay with us -- a little more exercise. The gym was small but usable. The spa was very nice and clean. We both got a massage but wish we'd tried the fish on your feet treatment. Drinks flow freely around the pool but we found it a bit more difficult to get served on the beach unless you were up beneath the blowy tent things to the left of the property looking at the beach. The beach is stunning and clean. Since we like to get out and about and off hotel grounds, the location of this resort, so far down the Cancun strip was a little far away from things to make a trip out convenient. However, directly across the street is a recreation "store" that we used to do a mangrove tour. This was great fun -- a little two person boat that you drive in a line (but nicely spread out so it's not quite like a "baby" tour) with other folks through a mangrove and out to a reef to snorkle. Really fun. There is a bus stop at the end of a long drive out of the hotel grounds which we took in to Cancun City several times during our stay. We would certainly stay here again. It was SO huge it was a bit impersonal, but the niceness of the place convinced us that we'd come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,073 reviews
0.3 km away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
0.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
10,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
6.5 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
6.2 km away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: ₹ 17,195 - ₹ 48,134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless luxury with an avant-garde flair evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Melia Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Melia Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Melia Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatan Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Melia, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Melia Hotels APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing