We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,467)
Filter reviews
11,467 results
Traveller rating
7,276
2,644
970
292
285
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,276
2,644
970
292
285
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal service market grill blue agave mole family concierge bali beds avenue bar naos restaurant yhi spa kids zone dinner reservations main pyramid personal butler ocean view sushi butler service tacos
Filter
Updating list...
7,221 - 7,226 of 11,467 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I've stayed at this resort numerous times in the past couple years (used to be called the Gran Melia). Every stay is wonderful. The staff is super, rooms are always up-kept and in immaculate shape and is nice and quiet all the time. The food in the restaurants is wonderful also.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Am-Ray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We spent a wonderful week at the "new" Paradisus Cancun. We have stayed previously at the following current and former Paradisus resorts: Playa del Carmen (La Perla), Palma Real, Punta Cana (3x) , Playa Conchal (2x) and Riviera Cancun. We have also stayed at Dreams, Secrets and Iberostar resorts among others. Paradisus remains our favourite all inclusive resort chain.

We want luxury, gourmet food, great service and a fabulous beach and pool. The past few visits, including this one, we stayed in Royal Service so the comments apply to the RS rooms and pool/beach area in addition to the shared restaurants and facilities.

The resort, RS room and grounds:

This resort was upgraded to a Paradisus resort in November 2012 from a Gran Melia. We stayed there over New Years for 7 days. We did not see any construction and all restaurants were fully operational. Our room was nice, a good size and satisfied our needs. We were disappointed that although we had an ocean view room the hedge in front of our balcony blocked most of our view when sitting down. Unfortunately we were not able to change rooms. Also, we are big coffee lovers and really enjoy having coffee on the balcony but the coffee maker was old and unappealing. At Paradisus Playa del Carmen the RS rooms had Nespresso machines. We loved that. The room service menu was mostly pizza and snack foods and a continental breakfast. As a result, we did not order any room service. (Room Service is included in RS).

We spent most of our time in our Bali Bed either at the pool or on the beach. We loved the Bali Beds. They were free of charge for RS guests, had gorgeous views, were incredibly comfortable and had both drink and food service all day long. The beds require a reservation and you are guaranteed a bed for two days. Although the resort was full but we never had a problem reserving or getting a bed. Juan and Sergio worked hard to keep everyone happy. We managed to get a fabulous bed each and every day. Thanks guys! The best beds were along the beach. We had a bed there our last two days and they were the best two days all week, although we loved the beds around the pool as well. Each bed comes with a chaise and a chair so you can also get some sun! We did notice that some people would reserve a bed and not show up. When this happened the bed was released at noon so someone else could have it. This is an excellent and fair idea.

The resort is beautiful with multiple pools and a wide beach area. The RS area never felt crowded. It was very clean. They even scrub the pool decking with a rotary power washer at night! The beach is also clean and wide with palapa tables. Drink service was frequent. Some resorts offer a drink of the day. That would have been a great extra touch.

The resort appears huge and a bit confusing at first but was not at all. It took us less then 2 minutes to walk from our building (5) to the towering open main lobby (building 3) where most of the restaurants are clustered together among lush palms. flowers and hanging vines. .

The restaurants:

The poolside RS restaurant at lunch (La Palapa) was excellent with wonderful food, beautifully presented and a gorgeous view of the ocean. The only suggestion would be to add a few more vegetarian options - especially a veggie burger! The guacamole was great everyday. Good variety of premium beverages with no additional charges.

We ate breakfast most days at the RS lounge which was "continental" but still served warm options including eggs. Great fruit selection and we loved the Nespresso. This beautiful area is in the centre of the RS pyramid (building 5) with vines hanging from the ceiling and koi swimming under our feet. The lounge also serves snacks, sushi and cocktails in the evening. The main buffet menu (Naos) for breakfast was typical of any resort but does have a lovely outdoor seating area.

We did try lunch at the main buffet. Neither of us eat meat (but will eat fish and seafood). One day we had an amazing lunch with tons of fresh prawns, calamari and other seafood. It was fabulous but unfortunately when we went back other days the buffet was primarily meat so we returned to La Palapa.

Our best meal was an incredible 7 course, white glove meal at Tempo. Tempo has a fixed menu and a surcharge of $45 per person. It was so worth it. The restaurant quickly replaced the one meat course (veal) with fish at our request. Portions were small, delicious, unique and beautifully presented. This amazing meal was the best we have had at an all inclusive and right up there with some of the best meals we have had anywhere. We travel a lot and have eaten in a lot of Michelin top rated restaurants. There is an additional charge for premium wine. You can also choose wine pairings with your meal at a fixed cost. Our only suggestions was that they turn the lighting down a bit in the evening .The room was a little bright for an evening dinner. Although the dress code for the whole resort is resort casual, we recommend dressing up for this place. It is a special place..

We went to Mole on New Years. We were not aware there was a standard fixed price menu in the resort that night. The food was good but we wanted Mexican! So we were disappointed that our concierge or butler did not inform us.

Bana is the Asian restaurant located in the middle of the main lobby pyramid (building 3). It is a beautiful restaurant built into lush gardens. Most of the restaurants are in building 3, right in the middle. The lobby/main building is gorgeous inside. The sushi was good, not inventive but very fresh. Curries were good as well.

We also went to Fuego (Latin Fusion) and Vento (Tapas). Both were very nice and had good food. Again, we would love another veg option or two. Overall we enjoyed all the a la carte restaurants we went to except La Perla. It was a lovely location (open air, building one, you could see the ocean) but the service was incredibly slow and the food was only average. We did not linger.

Royal Service:

We loved the RS area and facilities. Both check in and check out were fast and efficient. Everyone is very friendly. However in RS you are assigned a butler when you arrive. You are supposed to get a cell phone to call him/her (we did not) and he is supposed to take care of your restaurant restaurants, Bali bed reservations, provide a pillow menu, assistance with check out, luggage, among other services. Our butler delivered our luggage but otherwise we did not hear from our butler all week and did not even know where to find him. At Playa del Carmen our butler was amazing and checked in on us daily to make sure we had everything we needed. Here we ended up doing most things ourselves. The concierge service was also disappointing as our restaurant reservations were often inaccurate or we had to go to the concierge multiple times to confirm whether we had a reservation at all. By the end of the trip we made our own reservations. So, in terms of RS service when it comes to the concierge and butler, this resort is not yet up to Paradisus standards. I am sure they will get there but they are not there yet.

Overall, this is a lovely resort with great potential. The RS service is not yet at the level of resorts like Paradisus La Perla in Playa del Carmen where we stayed a year ago. One thing that became a bit annoying was the presence of small children in the Royal Service area. We love children but RS is supposed to be 18 years and over, which is why we stay there. We mentioned this to staff but only once did we see anyone do anything about it . We also noticed non RS guests using the area reserved for RS guests. RS guests have distinctive wristbands but no one monitored the situation. RS guests do pay a premium for the extra service and it should be respected. Better signage, especially at the beach entrance would help solve this problem. We hope the concerns noted in our review will be addressed so we can recommend this resort with enthusiasm to our friends, many of whom have become fans of Paradisus based on our recommendations.

Room tip: Royal Service Ocean View (not ground level). The lagoon is actually across a busy road from the hotel so if you have lagoon view you don't have a view and could be looking at a parking lot.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LisaR251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Every thing was just as one would expect
Wonderfull place top staff and amazing food.
Absolutly nothing to complain about.
Special thanks to the lifeguards and the waiter Symfoni that helped a lady I meet, up to her room and called a very efficient doctor to treat her in just 5-6 min.
Amazing place I'll be back

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thode851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed at the Paradisus last year when it was still under Gran Melia but really had a fantastic time. We chose not to do all inclusive and instead elected to eat breakfast in the room and eat the other meals out. The room was nicely appointed and had a large balcony to eat our breakfast on. It claimed an "ocean view" which it did, but you had to go to the edge of the balcony and peer to the left -- otherwise you were really just looking at other people's balconies the next pyramid over. It was a bit of a walk to get anywhere inside the complex for us (being in the vacation club pyramid) but that was okay with us -- a little more exercise. The gym was small but usable. The spa was very nice and clean. We both got a massage but wish we'd tried the fish on your feet treatment. Drinks flow freely around the pool but we found it a bit more difficult to get served on the beach unless you were up beneath the blowy tent things to the left of the property looking at the beach. The beach is stunning and clean. Since we like to get out and about and off hotel grounds, the location of this resort, so far down the Cancun strip was a little far away from things to make a trip out convenient. However, directly across the street is a recreation "store" that we used to do a mangrove tour. This was great fun -- a little two person boat that you drive in a line (but nicely spread out so it's not quite like a "baby" tour) with other folks through a mangrove and out to a reef to snorkle. Really fun. There is a bus stop at the end of a long drive out of the hotel grounds which we took in to Cancun City several times during our stay. We would certainly stay here again. It was SO huge it was a bit impersonal, but the niceness of the place convinced us that we'd come back.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed in an ocean view junior suite in pyramid 5 which is royal service. Our room was nice and cleaned daily. Our butler Daniel made sure everything was taken care of. Our dining reservations were handled by the royal service desk without a hitch. We stayed when it wasn't that busy so I think they were even more attentive! The staff went out of there way. The Bali beds are free in royal service area and $25 by the regular pool. Juan by the pool set us up everyday. one day they brought us a bottle of wine by the beach. I found every person that worked at the Paradisus to be above and beyond nice. We tip well....and in return got unbelievable service. If you are looking to party then the main pool is the place to be....if you are looking for quiet, romantic...no kids...than the private royal service pool is the way to go! Food is typical Mexican , nothing really was spectacular ...but I was always full and Karina Reyes who services the royal service area always made sure I had drinks before bed.....she has 2 kids age 2 and 4 and says...they are like a category 5 hurricane! She made my stay extra special!

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank toni l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews