We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 343
US$ 324
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 333
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 446
US$ 426
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 392
US$ 328
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 482
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 337
US$ 247
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 225
US$ 196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$ 255
US$ 213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 288
US$ 260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 250
US$ 219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (26,223)
Filter reviews
26,223 results
Traveller rating
17,621
4,984
1,904
895
819
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17,621
4,984
1,904
895
819
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunrise sectionnizuc sectiongolf clubnizuc and sunriseflow riderla gondolalos caporaleslos tacosresort creditla trattoriaswing barpublic relationsbrazilian restaurantpay taxvacation plannershuge resortdolphin swim
Filter
Updating list...
3,123 - 3,128 of 26,223 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We arrived on Thursday, Oct 12, 2017 to The Grand at Moon Palace where I we were met by the bell hops. We gave them our luggage, 2 bags that can be rolled around and do not need to be carried. When we got the hotel, we took our bags off the shuttle ourselves. The bellhop said that after we checked in, they would take our bags to our room. Our bags were not damaged when we gave our bags to the bellhops. However, after getting all checked in and getting to our rooms, our bags arrived approximately 20-30 minutes later. When the bellhop came in, he carried the bags in, placed them down by the dresser. After which, he gave a very detailed tour of the room and services on the TV. After he left, we noticed that one of our bags was torn badly. Torn to the point that we could not travel home with that same bag. However, we did not report it right away because I was under the weather. So instead of going to guest services immediately, while I was sick and irritated, I waited until the morning with a fresh head. When we got to guest relations, we spoke with Arleen. Arleen said that she needed pictures of the luggage. We went back the room, took pictures and emailed them to Arleen as she requested. After which, Friday night Arleen still did not get back to us on the status of the luggage. So, when we passed by guest services, we spoke to her and she requested that they take the luggage to repair it. Fine! We gave them the luggage as they requested. Now it is Sunday and we still have not heard anything about the luggage. Sunday evening has come and we now need to pack for our flight Monday morning. We go to guest services, where we are now dealing with Marianna. Marianna was very rude and dismissive. Marianna would say she was going to get the manager and disappear for long periods of time, 45 minutes and 20 minutes on two different occasions. After Marianna said that the bellhops are not being held responsible for damaging the luggage, the manager is willing to reimburse us for the luggage. However, once I told her the price of the luggage, she said they are only reimbursing us for 35% of the worth. I was completely disappointed with the way this matter is being dealt with. I insist on talking to the manager about my issue. Another 20-30 minutes goes by before Miguel comes out to talk to us about the luggage. I thoroughly explained to Miguel the issue at hand and also, the rude attitude we were receiving from his staff. Miguel asked that we give him until the 9:00am Monday morning to purchase a new suitcase for out travels. I agreed to him doing so, still being cooperative with management. Miguel explained that he will not be the manager on duty in the morning, but Jose will be and he will leave a detailed report about the matter. Monday morning comes and we still don’t have any luggage to travel with. Mariana is saying that they can only give us 35% of the worth of the luggage and suitcase from the lost and found. I am completely upset and disturbed by this. I had to show that I was adamant about speaking the manager only. Jose finally comes out to speak with up about the issue, and he has another damaged suitcase in tow. Jose explains that there is nothing he can do about getting us a new suitcase to replace the one his employees destroyed. But he can give us this damaged and used one from the lost and found. We had NO CHOICE but to take that suitcase, because it was 30 minutes before we had to check out and get to our transportation to the airport. Jose credited our stay for the cost of the suitcase, which I do appreciate. However, guest services had our luggage for 4 out of the 5 days we were staying at the hotel and the best they could do is get us a used damage suitcase from the lost and found 30 minutes before we had to leave. Making it hard to properly pack our bags, or even enjoy our final few hours at the resort. We were completely disgusted at the way we were treated by guest relations and management.
Every other department was beautiful, friendly, professional and welcoming. The resort property is gorgeous and breath taking. The Grand at Moon Palace Cancun needs to revamp their guest relations department.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Toiboi511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TheGrandAtMP, Gerente at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Toiboi511,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your comments and for your trust and confidence. Your straight forward observations are greatly appreciated, as feedback is of extreme importance to Palace Resorts.

We regret very much that you suffered an inconvenience with your luggage and the service from our end. To Palace Resorts our guests’ satisfaction is our utmost priority and we strive to be the very best in all aspects. Please accept our sincerest apologies with your experience. It is worth mentioning that, according to our records, since the moment we receive your report at our PR desk we took action, verifying the situation and arrived to a satisfactory conclusion to this matter. Thank you for your patience in this. Furthermore, you kindly signed a document which states that the inconvenience was solved. Once again, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this situation may have caused.

You may rest assured that your comments have been shared with the departments involved and corrective actions have been taken in order to avoid similar situations to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Cordially,

César Fallardi,
Operations Director
The Grand at Moon Palace Cancún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

As usual the standard of food & accommodation is second to none,
Excellently backed up by the fantastic staff who go out of there way far & beyond the call of duty to make our stay as perfect as possible.
I must give macedonio sulib a special pat on the back , he makes that bit extra effort to make things happen, backed up by his team , Jose & fernando ect , not forgetting Guadalupe who was trained by macedonio & now has het own section .
Not forgetting Angelica & paulio euan .
Altogether another great time at the moon palace ( nizuk )

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MoonPalaceCancun, General Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear David g,

It is a pleasure for us to receive your so positive comments. I am also happy to know about the recognition you give to our staff members, we will make sure to share your comments with them along with proper recognition form our side.

Thank you for choosing Moon Palace Cancun, we look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon.

Cordially,

Jose Luis Gonzalez,
Social Media Concierge Manager
Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Checked in 11th oct 2017
We are staying in the sunrise hotel. I was disappointed that the golf was closed but the hotel has given you full access to the grand hotel. The water park at the grand is excellent and will be amazing when it is finished. The food at the restaurants is fantastic. We have loved every restaurant we have eaten in and eaten at every sunrise one. We came here for our honeymoon 15 years ago and it has got even better. I was wanting to complain about something as I was angry that the golf was closed but think reviews should be honest and the hotel has made that impossible as everything is excellent. A room upgrade or free round of golf is the only thing the hotel could have done to make it a little better. The staff are all first class. The playroom staff are brilliant and the kids love them. We don't leave until Saturday and still have swimming with the dolphins on Thursday so will update my review when I get home. If you are coming to the moon palace sunrise you will love it. Would love to come back when golf is open. Wonderful family holiday so far.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Amnaebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MoonPalaceCancun, General Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Amnaebhoy,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. I am happy to know you had such positive experience during your stay. Your satisfaction is at all times the most important for us. Regarding the golf course, yes, unfortunately it had to go through beautification process, we are working on its enhancements to keep it up to our guest's expectations at all times. We sincerely regret the inconveniences.

Thank you for choosing Moon Palace Cancun, we hope to see you around once again soon.

All the best,

Christian Rangel
General Manager
Moon Palace Sunrise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Just leaving after a 2 weeks holiday here and my daughter is upset at leaving the kids club Alejandra and the girls at Nizuc at the moon palace are amazing at making the kids feel home from
Home. This is the best kids club we have even been too, we hope to definitely come back x

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank sharhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MoonPalaceCancun, General Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear sharhenderson,

Thank you so much for your comments. We know how important it is to keep the kids busy and entertained during your stay, I am pleased to know our kids club surpassed all of your expectations.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back soon, we will be waiting for you.

Best regards,

Jorge Castro
General Manager
Moon Palace Nizuc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Before we visited the Moon Palace Resort we had our own doubts as we had never been to Mexico and a few emails from our tour operator to say a few things closed due to maintenance being done at resort. However, once we got to Moon Palace Resort these concerns where removed. We stayed in Nizuc section of resort which was idle as we in middle for Sunrise and The Grand amenities. There is plenty to do for families such as the beach watersports, flowrider, cycling, mini golf, water parks, teen games room and playroom for younger kids. Plenty of swimming pools. Food was amazing could not fault any of it from the buffet restaurants to the A la Carte Dining. They all great...our particular favourites where Momo and Los Caporales.. The patisserie stops have amazing goodies.. macaroons my favourite.. We did a couple of tours and we enoyed our day to Chichen Itza. All the staff are friendly and cannot help you enough. On our rest days around Nizuc pool area we would like to thank particular Adalberto. He was amazing in looking after us and always knew just when to bring you that little refreshment to avoid you dehydrating. "Thank You"... We have no hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone. We he ar in the future if you book Moon Palace you may not have access to The Grand but still between Sunrise and Nizuc all your needs will be met and you can also visit the other hotels in Cancun under same hotel group... We will be back and thanks again to all the team at Moon Palace...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MoonPalaceCancun, General Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, thank you so much for your confidence to choose Moon Palace Cancun, among so many options we understand it can be a hard decision to do, I am glad to know you found what you were looking for.

What you describe sounds like a perfect vacation experience for a family, plenty of activities, amazing food, incredible service and culture all around. Unfortunately it seems like we did not do it perfectly due to the score you gives us. We will keep with our daily improvement to surpass all of your expectations during your next visit and achieve a 5 stars score.

We look forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Christian Rangel
General Manager
Moon Palace Sunrise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews