We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27,245)
Filter reviews
27,245 results
Traveller rating
18,527
5,051
1,933
901
833
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18,527
5,051
1,933
901
833
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunrise sectionnizuc sectionnizuc and sunrisegolf clubla gondolaflow riderlos caporaleslos tacosresort creditla trattoriaswing barpublic relationsbrazilian restaurantpay taxvacation plannershuge resortdolphin swim
Filter
Updating list...
4,000 - 4,005 of 27,245 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Very clean, we really liked the room, jacuzzi in the room, pretty cool! Moon Palace is a fun and family friendly atmosphere but there's adult only places (Noir club and Sky Loft) if u want to enjoy adult conversations.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lilcrisjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MoonPalaceCancun, Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear lilcrisjones,

Thank you so much for your comments! We are proud to offer entertainment for all the family, including the little ones. When we say we cater to every kind of traveler, we really mean it, Moon Palace Cancun has options for everyone, and the best part, we keep adding new things everyday.

We look forward to your next visit, thank you for choosing us.

All the best,

Jose Luis Gonzalez,
Social Media Concierge Manager
Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Venue is amazing, very luxurious and well dine. Food was good. Would definitely recommend. We went with a group of friends and had a terrific time, not left the resort once as the amenities are so great.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MoonPalaceCancun, Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Kay V,

Thank you so much for your kindness. It is a pleasure for us to receive your comments and learn about your so positive experience, this are the kind of comments why we work for, thank you for choosing us.

We hope to be honored with your visit once again soon.

All the best,

Jose Luis Gonzalez,
Social Media Concierge Manager
Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We just stayed at The Grand Moon Palace October 2017, and when I was researching hotels to stay for family I was having a hard time getting all the info I wanted/needed in one place. So here it is:

The Grand Moon Palace really is spectacular. The grand is part of the entire Moon Palace resort which also includes Nizuc and Sunrise. I personally would only stay at the Grand, but if the cost (which is a little more) puts you over the budget the other resorts looked great too. All of which are an easy 5 minute beach walk apart, or you can take the numerous golf cart shuttles between properties, or the lobby to lobby bus which picks you up right outfront and in about 10 minutes you are between hotels. We did venture to all the other resorts to check them out, eat, use different pools, go to shows, etc.

The rooms at the Grand are large and clean and modern. The grounds are very pretty. The pools are all beautiful.

The service at the grand is top-notch. We did tip a few bucks at swim up bars, and $10 at dinners, but I don't think it is necessary, but highly appreciated. They will give you great service with no tip.

Our kids loved the water park and the kids playroom. The water park is not 100% complete. What is complete is the kids play area, the lazy river, and the 4 racing slides. They were just about to finish with 4 additional slides, which are bigger slides that young young kids will not do, and 2 slides looked like they still had a ways to go. At this point in time, probably not worth paying the resort credit if you are coming from Sunrise or Nizuc, but a great plus because it is included if you are staying at the Grand. Our kids wanted to spend a lot of time in the playroom, they were obsessed, you can check your kids in for childcare or just go in and play with them. They had climbing courses, bumper cars, an arcade, laser course, a great toddler kids area, snacks and drinks. A major plus if you have smaller kids, mine are 8 and 3.

All the restaurants we went to were great! We eat our a LOT at home, and have decently high expectations for food and the food truley was great. We had room service or breakfast buffet in the morning. Which to add the 24 hour room service is awesome, it comes quick and on time! The buffets had a lot to choose from! There are non-buffet style breakfast places as well. For lunch we did grills around the pools, those menus usually had, ceviche, tacos, burgers, salads, etc. If you are on the Grand side, Los tacos has a pretty pool and a great taco menu. All the dinners were great. We ate at the Italian place in the Grand one night, pizzas and pastas. We went to Sunrise for the Hibachi steakhouse which was great. The kicker on this you have to go there at 3:45pm and wait in line for a reservation that nights, we ended up heading over to check out their pool and the flowrider and making the reservation, it wasn't a huge deal, and worth it. We did the Brazilian steakhouse in the Nizuc resort and that was great. My favorite was JC steakhouse, when you arrive drop your luggage and make a reservation, this is the only restaurant that you need a reservation that you call to make. The steaks, appetizers and sides, were all like a really good American steakhouse, I was impressed. We also tried Jade, the modern asian restaurant in the grand. This was also amazing!!! They also had a great little coffee, sweets, ice cream, crepes spot that we got dessert at a couple of nights.

Resort Credit: depending on how many nights you stay you get resort credit, we stayed 6 nights so we got $1500 worth of resort credit. You pay 16% on this but it is well worth using it. We did the dolphin excursion for our entire family, this would have cost around $400-1000 if you paid to do the excursion yourself. The 16% fee was $95 for our entire family to do the trip. With the resort credit package you get an hour in the water with a dolphin, lots of interaction and a boogie board foot push. If you pay for it without resort credit you get a 2 dolphin push, so you have to decide if is it worth an extra $167 per person to do that particular interaction. We also used the resort credit for ( 2) 80 minute massages, and we paid about $60 for that. The spa at the Grand is phenomenal, I wish I could have spent an entire day there completely unwinding, but the kids wouldn't have liked that much. They recommend you go 80 minutes before your appointment to do their hydrotherapy, I would recommend it, it was a cool experience, of sauna, steam, and ice before your massage. Depending on the time of year you can only use a certain amount at the spa. During down season we were able to use it all at the spa, but during high times I think you can only use around $500. We also did a bowling night, cost 50 resort credit and $8 out of pocket for an hour of bowling for up to 6 people, make sure to make a reservation. You can also use the resort credit for golf, shopping on property, and a few other excursions.

Here is the only negative of Moon Palace, the beach is not like the beaches in the hotel zone of Cancun where you get the crystal clear aquamarine water. Depending on the tide the beach will either have a fair amount of seaweed where you don't want to get in the water, to very little where you will get some of the aquamarine color. One day we went to the beach and didn't get in, the other day we were snorkeling. So it really depends on the day. Either way the sand is soft, white and powdery and our kids enjoyed it. The hotel does offer a shuttle to the beach palace, their sister resort, as long as there are not too many Elite members going and if there is room they will take you for free to the other resort, for the beach. Beach palace is not nearly the resort that Moon Palace is, but the beach is incredible. We did a day at beach palace and you can eat and drink for free their as well. It was a nice getaway to a prettier beach. If the beach is all you want to do then I would not suggest the Moon Palace, but if you want better food, pools, service and amenities I would do Moon Palace and day trip one or 2 days to the beach palace for the day.

We really did have a wonderful stay at Moon Palace and definitely will be coming back. Also, our weather was fabulous in October, I was checking the weather from Colorado and it said heavy rain 80% chance everyday. I was freaking out! We had perfect weather, 86 and we had rain ONE time for 15 minutes. So I have learned to not trust weather channel for Cancun weather.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
22  Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TheGrandAtMP, Gerente at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Kelly F,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time in sharing with us an overview of your most recent visit to The Grand at Moon Palace Cancun.

We are simply delighted to be worth of such a kind and descriptive review, praising the amenities, services and possibilities at the Resort. It is truly gratifying to read that we made your vacations a memorable and special experience! There is nothing more pleasant to know that we exceed your expectations with the attention provided to you.

We are certain that TripAdvisor's community will value your comments for planning their upcoming vacation.

Best Regards,

César Fallardi,
Operations Director
The Grand at Moon Palace Cancún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Back today from the Moon palace, this is our second trip there, we booked to stay at the Junior golf suite's, but because of renovation work at the golf club the golf suites we were relocated to the new grand, and was not disappointed. we stayed in block 86-room 212, wonderful big rooms, fantastically clean rooms, always maintained and always looked after. Brilliant lobby bar, with great bar staff and waitresses, and a great meeting point with friends before dinner. the dinning at the new grand was top notch, French, Lebanese, Asian, Mexican, a big steakhouse and a huge self service buffet, also there are wonderful coffee shops at all hotels, the one at the grand is 24 hours
The Guest relations Team here were so helpful, because I had booked the Junior golf suites, I was entitled to a golf buggy to run around this massive site, one word to Miriam and it was sorted, she helped with an issues throughout the holiday. because of the package I got, it included unlimited golf, I just paid for my cart on the course at $38 a time, and the team booked whenever you wanted to play, transport picked you up at the Grand Lobby an dropped you off at one of two golf clubs of your choice and came back for you when you were finished, The Riviera Cancun that was all inclusive and 15 mins away or the grand coral that was 40 mins away that wasn't. also if you like golf and get the chance pick Mayacoba golf Course $149 twilight after 13.00 but sensational.
there is a brilliant Spa there too with a well stocked Gym opposite a great sauna and steam room.
There are adult pools and family pools there is also a Water park, that wasn't fully open but will be. I do think in the near future, if you don't stay at the grand you will have to pay to use the grand on a day pass or a night pass, from what I heard will be quiet expensive, I heard around the $200 per visit, not to sure if that was correct. like the other hotels there is so much to do, there is even a bowling ally such a wonderful hotel, I will be going back next year, because my passion is to play golf, and here is a great package.
Big thanks to everybody involved.

Room Tip: all rooms are big and spacious, just depends on your budget
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank happyholiday57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TheGrandAtMP, Gerente at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear happyholiday57,

Thank you so much for your honest review. It is amazing to read that you had such a wonderful experience at The Grand at Moon Palace and that considering the initial expectations, your stay was enjoyable and outstanding. One of our main ideals is to exceed our guests’ expectations and we believe that with impeccable service, amazing staff and innovative ways to improve, we can reach that goal.

We would love to have you back to the Resort. Please be sure that all the enhancements are for your satisfaction and certainly upon your return you will be enjoying this and more!

Look forward to you next visit.

Kind regards,

César Fallardi,
Operations Director
The Grand at Moon Palace Cancún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We spent 7 nights at the Grand staying in 85/210. Room was first class in a great location for all amenities. Staff at the Grand were amazing and so helpful. Liz Calderon our hostess at the Grand Buffet restaurant was excellent and extremely helpful. Every morning Liz would ask how we were and our plans for the day, offering advice about the resort and things to do. Well done and thanks Liz.
Our visit to La Cantina the Mexican restaurant was great. Again the staff were very helpful in explains the menu and offering advice. We all really enjoyed the food and the effort again from our waitress Karen Hernandez, first class. Karen also introduced the head chef Aluaro who, explained in more detail about Mexican cuisine. Again a great experience.

My wife and two teenage girls loved the place and we will be back again next year. Thanks to the Moon Palace staff for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Block 85 is a good location for beach main lobby and medio restaurant
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank mollybelle2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TheGrandAtMP, Gerente at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear mollybelle2017,

On behalf of the team at The Grand, I would like you to know that we are truly grateful for your appreciation towards the service provided to you by us, which made you feel as relaxed and comfortable as if you were home as well as knowing that our food and beverage in our different restaurants exceeded your expectations.

We will be honored to be welcoming you back.

Please be sure that your satisfaction is our main goal.

Best Regards,

César Fallardi,
Operations Director
The Grand at Moon Palace Cancún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews