We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moon Palace Grand is outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #22 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Moon Palace Grand is outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

We just returned from our trip to the Moon Palace Grand in Cancun and loved every minute of it. For those of you who are in a panic due to the lack of information and photos stop stressing! It is wonderful and beautiful!

We stayed in a presidential swt. in building 86 and it met every expectation we had. 2,500 sq. feet and very lovely. Living room, din. room, 2 and 1/2 baths, 2 bedrooms, 2 double jacuzis, large patio with beds, chairs and tables.

Service is outstanding and everyone goes out of their way to take great care of you.

The pools are all open and beautiful, all 5. Two have swim up bars in them.

over all it is much quieter then the rest of the resort. That was a plus in our eyes. If you want more action just head down the beach to Nizuc or Sunrise.

Anyone who can not have a wonderful vacation staying here should stay home because you will not be happy anywhere!

Have a great trip, we did.
I will post photos soon.

Look for more of my photos soon in my profile.
Mzmams

  • Liked — The presidential swt. and the all inclusive aspect as well as the beautiful pools
  • Disliked — Presidentail swts. without ocean view,
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mzmams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

20,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13,233
    4,123
    1,600
    749
    664
See reviews for
8,490
5,750
106
992
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

This was our fifth visit to the Moon Palace, but our first in August. Previously we had been in December and May and we found the weather in August a little hotter with averages at about 90 degrees daily. The fact that we keep returning to this hotel will tell you how much we like it there. On our last visit 18 months ago we saw that they had started building the Moon Grand next to the Nizuc site. When we booked and were offered the Moon we were a little aprehensive about it being half finished and there being building work going on all around us. We found the Grand Moon fantastic. Yes there is still some buiding work to be completed but it's only there if you look for it and certainly doesn't take anything away from your holiday. The rooms are much larger that the same spec on the Nizuc and Sunrise sites and still contain the double Jaccuzi. The bathrooms have double vanity and basins and a large walk in shower. The air conditioning keeps the rooms at a constant 65 degrees. The communial areas around the pools, of which there are currently three are very quiet with very few people around. There are two free form pools with a further one which is about 25 meters in length with swimming lanes fro those energetic enough to exercise. There were always plenty of free sunbeds which, all had six inch cusions on them. Either the people at Nizuc and Surise don't like the quietness of the Moon or they had not heard about it. It's about a 10 minute walk from the Grand Moon to the Nizuc lobby but there is a regular shuttle, we never had to wait any more than five minutes and inveriably there was always a shuttle waiting when we wanted one. A very good service. The new Carebean restaurant at the Moon serves buffet breakfats and lunch and a' la carte dinner, it does not demand a collar and long trousers as do some of the other a' la carte restaurants. We found the meals hear very good with ample choice. Above this restaurtant is an open air bar which serves sushi, great for a few drinkd before dinner. We did spend some time at Nizuc and Sunrise and found it to be a great as ever, just with more people around. We took our 12 year old son and his friend with us and felt completely at easy in letting them just wander around the huge site. It is very safe for children and there are lots for them to do from cycling, kyaking, rock climbing, crazy golf and of course swimming.
We made a number of returns to our favourite restaurants, the Italian and Oriental at the Golf Course and the Oriental at Sunrise. The food as always was very good and sometimes exceptional. A new addition to the Nizuc lobby was the coffee bar where the old Jungle bar used to be. In this lounge you can get all styles of coffee, cakes and fresh sandwicches any time of day.
The only thing that dissapointed me was that I was asked not to fish in the seas as fishing inside the barrier reef was illegal. We have taken our rods for the past 5 years and this is the first time we have been asked to stop. We just put our rods away and continued with our holiday.
A new addition to the Palace Passport was the zip wire which is only about a 10 minutes bus ride from the resort. It consists of twelve towers connected by a wire. Great fun for ALL the family.
We also took the Tulum/Xpu Ha trip. We had done this trip before but wanted to see Xp Ha after the hurricane. Tulum was as magical as ever and full of history. Xpu Ha, although up and running and very nice is not a patch on what it was, you can still see the demolished former rooms.
The Palace staff were as friendly as ever and would do anything to please you.
As a member I was asked a number of times to do the hotel tour again but as I didn't want to go I politly declined the offer which they acccepted.
All in all we like the Moon Palace and especially the Grand Moon. We will be returning for our sixth visit next year.

  • Liked — Large and clean
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank thedukesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

First, I would like to say, that when choosing a location for our honeymoon, we ultimately made our decision based on reviews. So I hope that the information I give, is helpful for everyone.
I am so glad that we chose the moon palace as our honeymoon destination. It was absolutely beautiful, and the best bang for your buck. We were able to get around Cancun, and were thanking our lucky stars that we chose something away from the strip. None of those resorts even compared to the moon palace. Even the other palace resorts in Cancun weren't as nice.
The room was elegant. The view was spectacular. The beach did have seaweed, but so did everyother beach we went to. From what I saw, the moon palace worked overtime to make sure the beach was cleaned up for the guests.
The staff, was extraordinarily friendly. Everything was "a pleasure" to serve us. They always had a smile on their faces. Very good customer service. They kept our room clean, and we had little animals built out of towels everyday. The only complaint that I would have is the travel agents that booked the tours that you had to pay for. They are located at the end of the desk row. They completely booked our dolphin encounter for a different day than they told us, and we had to fight tooth and nail to get the encounter at the water park when we showed up. No one is willing to give refunds, and it took us being very persistent, and practically crying to get what we paid for. It all worked out in the end. The tours that are included in the hotel, are amazing. We did the Tulum tour, and it was great. Our tour guide was so knowledgable with the Mayan culture, and we learned so much.
Be prepared to tip everywhere you go. As this culture doesn't make salary, and there is a very high pressure to tip EVERYONE.
Shopping in Cancun, wasn't all that. It is all stuff you can get in the states. The moon palace had better shopping than Cancun in my opinion. You should book your tours upon your arrival. I did not know that so many tours were included, so we spent money through expedia on tours. I hear Chizunitza was great, although I did not go. We only had 6 days, and I wish we had more, to do everything we wanted. We kayaked on the ocean, which is included with your stay. It was a blast. The disco was cute. We had more fun there, than the party hopper tour. It was crazy, but I couldn't hang till four in the morning, so we took a cab home. You can bargain with the taxi drivers :o) The party hopper was ok, but not worth the money we spent. We had fun, hanging out with the other couples though. The dolphin encounter was my favorite (we paid for that). My husband felt like miami vice when we did the atv/speedboat excursion (which we also paid for). Just wait to book until your there, because we had no relax time, because we overbooked ourselves. It was fun, but I wish we would have had a few down days too.
We stayed on the Nazuc side. The pools are much cleaner and quieter on this side. The drinks are better too, because there is not as many people. The sunrise side is very busy, and a lot of kids. We have kids of our own, but we left them behind, for a reason,lol. The shows are great! Definately check them out, they were really good. The food wasn't anything to rant about, but the presentation was always nice. The nicer restaurants really took pride in themselves, and it was a great experience. I don't think we would ever stay anywhere that isn't all inclusive. It was so nice to eat and drink anything anytime we wanted. The best food that I had the whole trip was a little taco stand outside of senor frogs. We met some pretty awesome couples. Everyone is so friendly and happy! We made some great memories, and some great new friends.
Please arrange airport transportation with Best day before arriving. The people at the airport are sharks. It cost us 50 USD to get to the moon palace. The way back through best day cost us nine USD a person. Just always double check your vouchers with any of your tours, to make sure the dates and times are correct.
Everything about the moon palace is so impressive. They have people working around the clock, to make sure that it is spotless, and your satisfied. We ordered room service, and they would call and make sure we got what we ordered. If we ordered more shampoo, they made sure we got it. They called repeatedly to make sure we received our honeymoon basket. We are just so greatful for the experience we had.
I can't wait to go back, it was so hard to leave.

  • Liked — The spa was pretty nice, we did a couples massage, and it was great!!!!!
  • Disliked — The travel agents
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lostinloveEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

We ( 2 adults, 15yrold, 13 yr old) stayed at the Moon Palace July 26th-Aug2, 2008. This was our fourth trip to this resort and we love it as much as much as we did when we first stayed here.

We stayed on the Sunrise side in the Estrella building (room 2110) and the location was perfect. This room had a view of the courtyard, gardens and beautiful ocean view from the patio. We were very happy that the estrella building was so close to the main lobby ( 5 minute walk) and the pools (5 minutes).
The room had 2 double beds and the mattess was very similar to the posturpedic mattress I have at home. I think Palace resorts provides the most comfortable beds that we have slept on in Mexico. The pillows were great-I wish I could find pillows that comfortable to put on the beds at home!
We also loved the Biosilk products that were provided in the room. No need to bring your own shampoo and conditioner , the Biosilk brand is great!

We have found the food at the Moon to be very good. Our favourites are the Oriental ( MoNoHaNa) at the Sunrise side and the Italian at the golf club. I really like the fact that you have unlimited access to the a la carte restaurants and do not have to make reservations. The freedom to eat what you want when you want it is very appealing.

Service-this is what keeps up returning to this resort-flawless! The people that work here are genuinely happy to share this beautiful resort with guest and most requests are met with a smile and 'it's a pleasure.' From the waitstaff. bartenders, pool and beach waiters, twice daily maid service in the room ( morning and turndown service) the Moon Palace just knows how to spoil their guests. I can not praise the staff enough.

We will be returning to the Moon next year-we just can't stay away!


The service at the Moon is flawless. The workers are genuinely proud of this resort and all requests are met with a smile and 'it's a pleasure.' From the waiters in the rest

  • Liked — Amazing service, unlimited a la cartes with no reservations, top shelf liquor, beach/pool waitress service
  • Disliked — Coming home
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank OfficePrisoner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

i will start with the positives, the hotel was lovely, the food was good with lots of choice, the scuba diving instrutor was brillant as did my certifcation while i was there, (thanks abraham!) i must say i thought the room we had was rather small, and there was not alot of space to put you clothes (about 6 coat hangers) the room wasnt that clean, but the worse part was that there was things STOLEN from my room and two other people in our group had things taken from there rooms also, which i couldnt believe have never had this kind of thing happen before, i can honestly say i would not go back to this hotel my advice is put everything you can in the safe and ask who your maid will be, as we never once saw who ours was? i did report this to the hotel, and they said they would email me about this situation i havent had a reply yet.

  • Liked — the beds were very comfortable
  • Disliked — the beach was covered in seaweed
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandysuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
8.8 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
29.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
18.3 km away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
19.1 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,074 reviews
29.2 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,233 - ₹ 53,141
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing