We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back !”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #22 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
voorhees nj
2 reviews
“We will be back !”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Just returned from a week at Moon Palace, our second time at the property. If it is possible
it was better than our first visit. We booked thru Fantasy Travel in Berlin NJ and they had all the updated information on the property. The disco was closed the first few days we were there, and then a grand opening. They redid the disco and it is beautiful It was not very crowded and there were fewer places for breakfast than we saw the first td ime. The service at every restaurant was just terrific. We had to make reservations at the italian restaurant and the oriental restaurant by the golf course and they had a dress code, but It was worth it !! At every restaurant at sometime during dinner, the manager would arrive to make sure everything was okay.
Our hair dryer didn't work one day and we called and within minutes we had a new hair dryer. Then the phone rang, and they were checking to make sure everything was okay and we got the hair dryer .. Great customer service.
The beach is fine, but the water was full of seaweed and just not as pretty as the water on Cancun beaches. The pools were fantastic so that made up for the ocean. One day we went into Cancun to Beach Palace, that was nice but much smaller and lots of steps to get to pool, beach etc.
Overall, great experience and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbeangirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

21,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13,837
    4,273
    1,653
    763
    683
See reviews for
8,928
5,979
113
1,035
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is the best resort we have been at. It was our 5th time here, and it gets more spectacular each time. Made us feel like Royalty. The staff is excellent, and caters to your every request. The food is to die for, and the spa treatments make you feel 10 years younger. Recommend Moon Palace for anyone, of any age and family type.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - I like the Sunrise portion best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, Bucks
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Yes, the two words for me for a holiday are All Inclusive. I hate them with a passion and consider them too commercial. I was filled with trepidation on reading the negative reviews.
However, a big BUT here at this point; I am converted. Moon Palace is an amazing place. For a family with young children (ours are 2 and 5 years of age) this is the perfect place. Once they grow up we will do more bespoke holidays but at this point in August holidays with the prices being as they are. We stayed there in the last two weeks of August at the Nizuc part of it. They have three lobbies there which is like having 3 hotels in one huge area. In in the price are the following: Kayaking, Catamaran, Cycling – The bikes do need maintenance, Wall Climbing, Kids Club – Only for over 4 years of age and they do cancel some activities(so check!). A feature I liked is that they give you a walkie talkie device to call you or you can call them to check up. You have access to over 7 restaurants. Various number of pools especially the kids one at Sunrise was amazing. The beach was cleared up every morning of seaweed so that was not an issue. My boys really loved playing on the beach. They would just spend hours there. The sunrise part of the resort was having works done so I am glad we didn’t stay there though it seemed newer and nicer. Nizuc was both informal and personal it seemed. The property on the whole does need maintenance but not such that it gives it a bad experience or even let alone a mention but seeing other reviews thought I mention it. Otherwise might as well hire a room at a hospital ! The drinks are branded and the beer was just great. No qualms on that front for me. The food was great, yes your tummy will need adjustment especially if coming from Europe.
Can’t say much but do drop me a note if you have questions.

Room Tip: Family with young children and pushchair ask for ground floor some way from where all the action is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sidj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is the only place I have stayed when in Cancun area. I have been to the Moon Palace eight times and have stayed in all four sections--Nizuc, Sunrise, Grand, and Golf Course. I have not had a bad exerience any of the times I have been there. "All-Inclusive" here means All-Inclusive. You don't have to fork orver "$25" to eat at the nicer places, and you don't pay more to buy a better bottle of wine--you just ask and they bring it if they have it. The pools are ALWAYS clean, as are the grounds, the rooms, everything. Ten minute drive from the airport, which is included (remember, everything is included). I will stay here or at another Palace reort when in Cancun. The others are just as nice.

Room Tip: Stay in the Grand if you want the pool to yourself; stay in the Sunrise if you want to be by the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1___----Ryan----___1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband and I went to the Moon Palace for our honeymoon in July, and unfortunately the hotel left a lot to be desired. My husband got food poisoning on the third day and was ill for the rest of the holiday. As we had only eaten at the hotel when he fell ill, we knew it must have come from the hotel food. When I reported this to Alain at the PR desk he told me I 'must be wrong as the Moon Palace doesn't do food poisoning'; he also told me that my husband had simply eaten too much and offered me no help or advice whatsoever. I must admit there were some nice restaurants - the Italian and Oriental restaurants at the golf course were lovely, but the food offered in the buffet restaurants varied hugely - one day I had fish goujons which were rock hard. The alcoholic drinks were also disappointing - the beer was flat and looked more like apple juice, and the cocktails were watered down and poured from giant plastic containers. I will never go all inclusive again - you may think you're getting a good deal, but standards are much lower.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mulberrygirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
8.8 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,231 reviews
18.4 km away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
13.6 km away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,867 reviews
19.1 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,524 reviews
29.0 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Grand at Moon Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,755 - ₹ 48,872
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing