We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Relaxing Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #15 of 183 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at CasaMagna for 4 nights in Dec 2011. The staff was very friendly, service was good. Only thing that annoyed me was the noise made by the wedding guests at the hotel. Breakfast buffet, like any other marriot resort is top class. The pool is ok, I like the JW Marriot one better. I wish they allowed Casamagna guest there. We ordered drinks and food on the beach. The service was good and quick.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mehshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,091
    982
    243
    96
    48
See reviews for
1,099
1,155
146
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toddler4372
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

My wife and I have been to Cancun four times, and the last two times we've come to the Marriott Casa Magna. The service is so much better here than the other places we've stayed (like the Gran Melia), and the rooms/grounds/pool are always in immaculate condition. Here are the pros and cons from our trip:

Pros

-Great staff, very friendly, prompt
-We got a free upgrade to an ocean view room from a garden view (this was a nice surprise)
-Food was good quality, tasty
-Beach was cleaner than many other hotels we walked by
-No idiots getting drunk and being obnoxious
-A/C was nice and chilly in the rooms (we kept ours cranked the whole time)
-Beach and pool chairs are comfortable and good quality

Cons

-Drinks at the pool tasted a bit weak and watered down, and my wife and I rarely drink. If you get a Pina Colada, you might have to ask for a bit more coconut mix, or ask for a strong one.
-Spaghetti with meat sauce from room service is a strange orange color, and tastes a bit strange, too.
-Bar may give you incorrect change if you use US Dollars.
-Movie selection is somewhat dated (the "out in theatres" section had movies over a year old)

All in all, the gripes are very minor and didn't affect our stay. We'll definitely be coming back to the Casa Magna.

Some important tips when visiting Cancun:

1. Make sure you exchange a good part of your cash for pesos when you get here if you plan on buying ANYTHING (gas, souvenirs, food) outside of the resort. The exchange rate is about 14.1-1 right now, but many places will only give you a 10-1 exchange rate if you pay with US Dollars. They'll make up all sorts of stories why "their exchange rate" at their establishment is 10 to 1. Don't be fooled.
2. If you rent a car, watch the speed limits very closely through the Hotel Zone. It will change from 70 km/h to 40 km/h out of nowhere several times down through the strip for no reason. Shuttle buses and taxis drive like maniacs, but never get pulled over, as they're bringing money into the city. However, we saw tourist after tourist getting pulled over. A cop pulled us over, claiming I was going over the limit, and I knew that I was not. He wanted me to give him my license and pick it up later at the police station after paying a 3000 peso fine. After arguing with him, he offered to reduce it by half ("You pay half.") I refused to give him my license, and I refused to pay a fine, asking him for proof that I was speeding. He ended up letting us go after talking with his partner. Watch out for these guys. Way to scare off tourists, Policia.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank toddler4372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We just came from our vacation at marriot casamagna , and what I can said is my wife and I spend the best of our vacations , this is our third time at cancun but for far is the best that we ever had .
Since we arrive the people at front desk take care of our room in less than 3 minutes that is service , than the food in the morning at la capilla delicious and in our last night we had dinner at la capilla argentinian the meal was the best is not cheap but is worth every penny we spend .
We are planning to going back on a near future ,
Thanks to Luis, Eloy ,Alberto ,Carmina ,and everybody see you soon .

Room Tip: Rooms with garden views are cheaper and dont receive the light so early .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort. Overall our experience was wonderful. I am a Marriott Rewards member and we were treated so well by the hotel staff from the time we checked in until check out. We arrived at 11:30am and were taken directly to our room. Our room was on the side of the hotel facing the JW Marriott, so we had an excellent view of the Caribbean Sea to the right and lagoon to the left. We were surprised with champagne on our first evening in celebration of our first wedding anniversary. On our third night we returned to our room after dinner and our room was filled with red rose petals, again compliments of the hotel. We were so surprised! We spent most of our vacation either on the beach or at the pool. The beach has enough chairs and umbrellas, and it was very easy to find shade. We ordered drinks and lunch twice from La Isla and both were good (a bit pricy, but it's vacation!) The pool was nice at CasaMagna, but the pool at the JW Marriott next door seemed more private and offered more space for guests. We wish the CasaMagna had an infinity pool similar to the one at the JW Marriott. Our room was always clean and we didn't have any issues. Every morning we ate breakfast at La Capilla Argentina and it was wonderful! The price was included in our room rate, which we'd highly recommend. There were so many choices and the fresh-squeezed orange juice was delicious. We didn't eat at any other hotel restaurants, as we ventured out to other local places. We took the public bus everywhere for $8.50 pesos per person. Overall, this is a great resort and we'd definitely return again. Thanks to the CasaMagna for a great first anniversary vacation!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BreaE105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our group included 4 ladies and boy did we have fun! The hotel was grand. Our room did have one cockroach but it was expected as the rooms lead directly outside to the hotel grounds. The hotel itself was pretty clean and well maintained and the staff was wonderful and very professional. The pool was amazing! I could live in it if I were able to. The swim-up bar was convenient. The pool also held some classes which seemed fun. The location of the hotel wasn't the best. It's kind of on its own. For us ladies, we really had to be careful not to walk off the hotel grounds too late at night. We were still able to take a bus to the flea market for some good authentic food. The other restaurants around the hotel did not offer Mexican food, which we thought was odd. The breakfast buffet was amazing as we participated in it each morning. The last night we participated at the lobster buffet at the JW Marriott next door and ate like queens. Overall the trip was relaxing even with all the hurricane issues we encountered.

Room Tip: We had a great view of the pool when we stepped out onto the balcony. I would recommend requesting f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howdyhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
6.2 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
4.8 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 183 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
5.4 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
0.3 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 183 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort

Property: CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#14 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,282 - ₹ 55,864
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing