We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property and Great Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

First, the staff: Bellman, front desk, concierge, pool, beach, and maid service were so friendly. We felt right at home. Staying on the third floor is definitely worth asking for. We were upgraded to a 3rd floor room facing straight out to the beach & ocean...the patio on this room must have been 12 feet square!! The hotel is across the street from Aquaworld for water activities and there's also a 7-11 and OxxO if you want to stock up on snacks. Room was in good shape...yes, the beds a doubles, so it's a little crowded for 4 people.
We had drinks in the lobby bar...very gracious service and some music to enjoy, ate at the Japanese Restaurant...it was just ok, Champions Sports Bar was good for drinks and watching the games...food was nothing special, service was excellent
.
All in all, I'd go back to The Casa Magna with no hesitation...we loved our stay.

Room Tip: Third Floor!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrismigs65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,995)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Cancun Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,379 - 2,383 of 3,995 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had stayed here for a meeting 12 years ago, and when I had the chance to get away with the family for a week vacation to Cancun, I jumped on it and came right back. This is a fantastic place, and everything a family can want - location, ocean, pool/hot tub, great facility. I got the 2-breakfast included option online (recommended) and rented a car for the week. I was a bit worried about driving in Mexico, but got the insurance and went for it. Now, I wouldn't do it any other way. We traveled >500 miles in the Yucatan visiting Mayan ruins and natural attractions - the freedom of having one's own car is great. Just don't do anything you wouldn't normally do at home (e.g. speeding or driving into shady neighborhoods at night) and you are fine with the car. Recommended: the Botanical Garden off of the main highway near Porto Morales. Required: a trip to Isla Mujeras and renting a golf cart. We got the $40/day upgrade at CasaMagna for a room right at the end of the building over the ocean - definitely recommended. This is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Get the rooms directly facing the ocean on either the north or the south wings of the building.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a lovely Marriott property right on the ocean. You can sit on the beach under a Palapa and have food delivered to your chaise. The pool has a large hot tub and swim up bar. You can eat in the hotel restaurants or catch a local bus for 8.5 pesos per person or walk to shopping malls (1.5 mile).
This property is connected to the JW Marriott and you can stay at either hotel and use the facilities of both. We absolutely love the Casa Magna Marriott.

Room Tip: we avoid the Garden view rooms since they are on lower floors and people walk around by the windows.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REDEVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This was our fifth stay at this Marriott. We absolutely love this place. It has a charm and atmosphere that is captivating and comfortable. It keeps us coming back. The staff is friendly and helpful and speak english well. (we speak NO spanish.) We booked the flights through expedia and the hotel directly through the Marriott site. (8 nights two rooms.) The fourth night free promotion and great rate made it affordable. There was also a $50 per room per night resort credit when we booked. That really helped as the food and gift shop are a bit pricey. We did try the 7 Eleven across the street as some other posters have suggested. Good prices on water and lotion. The snacks we bought were inexpensive but stale. We also went next door to McD's to try the internet which we could not connect to with our ipad for some reason.
We arranged our transport from the airport through the hotel and it worked well. ($70 for four private suburban.) We took a taxi back for $50.
Pro's for this property. Charm, pool, service, location, beach, nice variety of restaurant choices.
Con's for this property. Internet service is $15/day per device. (silly, it should be free) Coffee and tea in gift shop is $5 per day. Ouch. Many have suggested coffee in the room. I would suggest coffee and tea FREE in the lobby. No restriction on the hot tub for kids. Lots of kids with no supervision. Should be an age limit of at least 16. No shade at pool on windy days. Three windy days they didn't allow umbrellas up. Not good for fair skinned people like me. Should have some permanent shade near pool. Television is analog. Nice 32 inch Samsung tv but no digital. Not a big deal because we weren't there for tv but seems like something they could do better.
Overall it is a great safe place to get away with family. Not a party place at all. Some would call it boring. I call it relaxing. We brought our 17 year olds for the third year in a row and put them in an adjoining room. They loved the Mikado's restaurant. (went there 3 times) The LaCapilla steak house has a good atmosphere and good food choices. We ate at the pool or beach restaurant every day. Food was adequate and drinks good. Service was good too. The beach was clean and safe. Lots of people walking and jogging all times of the day. Lifeguard on duty at beach but not pool. There is a great mall (La Isla) a short $9 cab ride away. We went there twice in the evening to switch things up. Some decent places to eat and good opportunity to walk around. Typical tourist trap stores selling t shirts and junk but fun just the same. Easy to get to and back by cab. Safe.
We made several reservations through the concierge desk. Sarahy was outstanding. The front desk and bell staff are also very helpful and friendly. The gift shop is full service for food, snacks and stuff you would expect. Service there is excellent as well.
The sister property next door is a JW Marriott. Beautiful hotel and property but not the right atmosphere for us. You can walk over there without going outside which we almost every night to stretch our legs after dinner. They have several restaurants available although we did not try them. The gift shop there is a bit larger and more complete and you can charge to your room at the CasaMagna. Entertainment nightly in their lounge/lobby area.
The only reason I didn't give the excellent rating for this property is the need for an update. Not a complete redo just attention to fixing stuff and putting a shine back on this gem. Broken tile, some rust stains, a few missing tiles in the pool etc. They were replacing some railing while we were there so it appears they recognize this stuff and are working on it. Don't let it keep you from going here though as it is still an exceptional place. We will return there next year for stay number six.

Room Tip: Sixth floor south facing have a great view of the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank owen8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We booked this hotel via priceline and couldnt be happier with the service, quality, and location of this place. The room we lived in was nicely decorated, had a flat screen TV and great ocean view.

The hotel had three restaurants, (different Cuisine), walking distance to Aqua world, where we went scuba diving and snorkeling, about 10 minute drive to the clubs and had a bus stop outside the hotel.

It had a private beach, which was well lit throughout the night, so we could safely go into the sea even at 12:00 am.

Definitely recommend living here.

Room Tip: Almost all room have a sea views, but make sure you ask for one. Also try getting room on the opposi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
6.2 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.3 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 176 in Cancun
9,414 reviews
5.4 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 176 in Cancun
5,910 reviews
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 176 in Cancun
9,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: ₹ 9,643 - ₹ 35,292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing