We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic afternoon in Cancun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BlueRay

BlueRay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Blue Ray marina opened its doors in 1994, with 20 boats, when Jungle Tours were just starting! We were fortunate to be given permits at the Angel Reef and NOT Nizuc which by then was saturated. Even though we have a slightly longer ride, it’s well worth it!By then the boats were 2 seaters, one passenger behind the other. The engines at the time were Johnson 15 HP 2 stroke engines. Eventually, we opted to change all the boats to the side-by-side models which are much safer, stable and comfortable, now with 30 HP 4 stroke Honda ecological engines. We offer the traditional and famous Jungle Tour with a distinctive touch.Our staff will take care to make your trip a wonderful experience and especially given with professionalism and security that characterizes us.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon in Cancun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just wandered in to the Blue Ray Marina off the street. No hard sell, no reps pushing us to go. Just asked about trips and prices, and we were out on the water less than an hour later, and in a boat just for us. Its easy, listen to the guide, then just follow his boat. Its fun, easy and very safe.
Price was ok. $140 for a great afternoon. Less than £100. Half an hour on a jet ski would be more, and nowhere near as enjoyable.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank joeglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ray M, Recepcionista & Asistente de Direccion at BlueRay, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Joe Glaas Go

we are very glad that you liked the tour so much, thanks you a lot for your feed back, thanks you for let us be part of your incredible experience.
We hope see you soon again.

Have a great day.
Regards.

Blue Ray Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    60
    15
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Americana, Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
“Awesome experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

It's a awesome, exciting and one of a kind adventure. But beware with the tips, they're ungrateful, U$ 20 or more.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ray M, Alejandro Soneyra, E-Marketing Manager at BlueRay, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Natalia:
On behalf of Blue Ray Marina, let me apology with you for the impression about the tips matter you describe in your review. We believe in a Full Circle of Service, which means to give you the best service from your check-in until your check-out and beyond. Any situation that breaks the circle spoils the whole experience. In fact, to prevent and any other of this unacceptable circumstance, our Manager is going to follow up the attitude of all guides, especially when we receive our guests back to the pier. Thanks again for your comment, and we hope to see you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
194 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the excursion, where was the jungle?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The boats were fun to drive in the lagoon and through the mangroves out to the Caribbean. We parked our boats and did some snorkeling. Saw lots of fish, which freaked the kids out at first. We rode the boats back to the marina as the sun was setting. The cruise was fun, but the name ‘Jungle Cruise’ is kind of misleading. Actually, it’s very misleading. Yes, we cruised through the mangroves, but the word ‘jungle’ is an exaggeration. That being said, I’d recommend the tour. Just don’t expect to explore the jungle.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ray M, Alejandro Soneyra, E-Marketing Manager at BlueRay, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Thanks for your comment! Forty years ago, Cancún was only mangroves, a couple of hotels and a long virgin coast of beaches. The first person who realizes a new kind of exciting and environmental friendly tour through the mangroves put a commercial name like "Jungle Tour" to promote it. That's it! It's just the commercial name everybody uses. The mangroves, beaches and the reefs are still well preserved because of the authority’s efforts to keep the natural environment of the region, and that’s one of many reasons to explain how famous Cancún is like a touristic destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome experience! Might want to be more careful with the coral though..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

The ride is great: The speedboats go faster than I thought, lasts longer than I thought, the snorkeling experience is more interesting than I thought. However I'm a bit worried since althought they ask you not to, in practice people can actually swim above the coral reef and might damage it. I found myself bumping into it while distracted looking at a lobster, and a friend of mine even scratched her knee with it the same way. If you go, please stay well clear from it. But besides that, definitely worth it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sergio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ray M, Recepcionista & Asistente de Direccion at BlueRay, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Segio E:

we are very glad that you liked the tour so much, thanks you a lot for your feed back, thanks you for let us be part of your incredible experience.
We hope see you soon again.

Have a great day.
Regards.

Blue Ray Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

On Christmas Day 2011 , we had the most amazing jungle tour and snorkeling above the coral reef, what made it extra special was the fact that my husband is a non swimmer and very nervous in deep water, our guide Aurturo had great patience and understanding but did not make him feel inadequate, he joined us in the water and gave expert tuition he attracted the fish to us and advised us where and when to look. We loved the speed boat ride through the lagoon and the view of the hotels from here was great.
We purchased the photos taken as a momento of our trip because they captured our enjoyment of the experience and were so professional.
What a Day Thanks to all at Blue Ray Marina. we will be back soon I hope. Highly recommended

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank zena p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ray M, Recepcionista & Asistente de Direccion at BlueRay, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Zena P:

we are very glad that you liked the tour so much, thanks you a lot for your feed back, thanks you for let us be part of your incredible experience of you and your husband, swimming without of fear in the sea.
We hope see you soon again.

Have a great day.
Regards.

Sofía Kuri
Recepcionista & Asistente de Dirección
Blue Ray Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BlueRay also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to BlueRay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing