We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice family trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very nice staff and service. A bit overpriced for Mexico. Very relaxing, great place for families.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcolby102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,826
    827
    257
    96
    78
See reviews for
1,366
1,407
85
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I reserved a suite for my family at this hotel in March 2012. I have stayed at JW properties in the past and their attention to detail is usually impeccable. Sadly, this hotel was the exception to that rule. Our check-in was easy and the lobby was stunning, to say the least, but the excitement of this property diminished quite rapidly after that.

Most JW Marriott properties are stunning and this one was no exception. But what set's the JW apart from other Marriott is the experience - the little details. We found that the little details were constantly overlooked in this hotel. To start, the pool had obviously not been cleaned for several days. There was a layer of black sludge, presumed to be sunscreen residue, lining the waterline in the general pool. Very gross! There was also a lack of attention with the bathrooms which had overflowing garbage cans and ran out of toilet paper early in the afternoon. There were many other little details that were a bit annoying but its not worth the time to elaborate on them. The one positive with the pool area was that there was a separate adults only pool at this resort, which was away from the main pool and free of the distracting noises of kids playing in the pool-a definite plus if you just prefer to sit quietly and read while enjoying the sun.

Because we had checked in early, our room was not ready until 3:00pm. This was not a problem as the hotel helps store bags if needed until a room is ready, and the bell staff will bring them upon request. The room was beautiful (we had an oceanfront suite-room 901) and the view was stunning, but we had a major issue with the hide-a-bed in the couch. When it was time to pull this out we noticed that the mattress was terribly stained and worn out. There were also no sheets to make the bed. We called housekeeping to address these problems and it took almost an hour to get them to show up, and when they did they just brought sheets, not a different mattress. It was too late to attempt to explain to the spanish-speaking housekeeper that I needed a new mattress as well, so my daughter chose to 'take one for the team' and sleep on the dirty mattress. I give her credit-I wouldn't have done it, but she was exhausted and the bed was certainly better than the floor.

Despite these minimal issues we did have a good stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful and went out of their way regularly to get provide good service. And the workout facility & spa were gorgeous-easily one of the nicest in Cancun. Overall I chose to give my review 3 stars because of these issues. The rooms at the JW are a small fortune/night and we definitely did not get our money's worth with this hotel. JW Marriott is synonymous with a unique/boutique experience and that is definitely missing at this hotel.

Room Tip: 1) For a great meal, go to Puerto Madero. It's a two block walk or two minute ($10) cab ride t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imaginedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We appreciate your feedback. We agree that little details make a big difference in a guest’s hotel experience. We are already following up the maintenance details that we need to look more closely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

So this wasn't my favorite Marriott Resort we've stayed in. I prefer JW Phuket, Los Suenos, JW Ihilani. This was a mega resort that just seemed crowded in with a lot of other hotels on the gorgeous beach of Cancun. The rooms were nice, the decor was fine, the restaurants were ok. There really isn't too much to complain about, I just didn't love it. I'm sure it was more of a "me problem" than a "Marriott problem." I'm the one that chose to book a hotel right in the middle of all the buziness that is Cancun. If I wanted secluded or more charm, I should have booked further down the coast.

What I will say about this hotel is that we stayed there during the hell that was Hurrican Wilma, a category 5 hurricane that sat over Cancun for 3 days. I will always be grateful that our family was staying in a Marriott property during this ordeal. The Marriott branded hotels were some of just a handful of hotels that had a plan for what to do with their guests during such an event. They had a hurricane shelter on retainer that they took us to (not dropping us off at a bullfighting arena like many other hotels). They had plenty of food for us, and no one complained about 4 days of grilled cheese sandwiches. And the staff that elected to stay with us guests, rather than go home, were amazing. They even turned down our beds in the midst of a storm that literally shook our cinderblock building.

Our experience with Marriott during this event made us Marriott people for life. Marriott even chartered a couple planes to fly down to Cancun to help guest evacuate.

There are other properties I'd prefer to the JW Marriott in Cancun, but as a dad in a foreign country, it is a great feeling to know Marriott is there to take care of me and my family.

I wrote more about this on our blog: www.worldfamilytravellers.blogspot.com

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahfamilytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was a terrible experience with JW Marriott, overpriced, bad management, and very bad service. My family and I expected a better experience in Cancun, the property is excellent, actually the location and the beach views, but c'mon wifi access for $17.00 USD per day??? What is that?? The beach bar is completely a mess, we had 2 rooms, one of them smells like a $40.00 bucks motel, and is really sad that all the staff behavior is not according to the type and reputation of JW Marriott hotels chain.
So be aware with this people.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better because the elevators are too slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bianchini2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We are really sorry our service was not up to your expectations. We have forwarded your comments to all the involved areas. It is our main interest that all our guests have a pleasant stay. We are already following up the comments you mentioned in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Good hotel and a gorgeous beach. Excellent staff. We had a luxury suite overlooking the ocean and the view was great. Staff and service were great. I highly recommend scuba lessons with Fernando. Nice guy. The pool is great, but you do have to go early to "reserve" good seats near pool side. Plenty of cabanas on the beach. Food is good too. We ate at Gustino's, Sedona Grill, Sasi and Mikado (both at the casa magna next door). Good value for money and good service (albiet a littel slow).

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 5th floor for good ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.6 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
6.0 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 km away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,642 reviews
0.7 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
6.2 km away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,832 - ₹ 35,251
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing